We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run Hotel in Austria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenland Sporthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenland Sporthotel to your Saves list
Alpenland Sporthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans-Kappacher-Strasse 7-9, Sankt Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well Run Hotel in Austria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ideal hotel in situated in the heart of St Johann in Pongau. Very close to several Ski runs. Beautiful sceanery all year round.
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Nothing is too much trouble.
Short walk from railway station. Though is up a steep hill. Take a taxi if you have luggage or unfit.
Good range of resturants in within 2-3mins walk of hotel.
Spar Supermarket in shopping aracde opposite the hotel for all your cheap holiday gifts of forgotten items. Remember only tourist shops open on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. Rooms at the front of the hotel over look the shopping area in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
70
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spent last summer holiday in this hotel. The hotel itself is kinda old and very simple, but the staff and the town made all the difference.

The location of St. Johan being close to salzburg means you have access to many other countries like: Germany, Italy, Slovenia, and switzerland. We've been to all of them on road trips.

The hotel was simple but it has a cozy feel. We all felt like home. all the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurants' food was also good. We tried the Italian and the Austrian restaurants and they were both great.

I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

we booked 3 rooms at this beautiful property this summer and just loved it. The snowclad mountains are visible from the balcony attached to each room. The location is excellent - just next to a large supermarket which makes it very convenient. The village has many restaurants and marvellous Austrian coffee. The train line is very near with easy access to Salzburg and other cities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stay in Hotel for whole week. We are member of II. The hotel arrange a room with balcony to us. The view is beautiful. There are two super market nearby hotel. We chose the Hotel Breakfast at starting two days. But the price is two high and toast with mildew is unacceptable. We changed to coffee galerie in shopping mal. It takes $7.5/p. We like it.

The Storklmirt Hotel and Restaurant is good. You can order some traditional food on it. If you go back Hotel later than 8:00. You can go to floor 1 in shopping mall for pizzal and Rastaurant& Bar nearby Hotel to eat.

Thanks for good arrangement of room. It is the best one.

Liechtensteinklamm water fall is pretty good place to visit. It just takes 4 min. by car. The restaurant Familie Obersteiner is great. We enjoy their fresh trout and "Apfelstrudel"(apple pie).

Hallstatt is also beautiful. You can stay beside lake and take boat with run trip. Zall am see is similar see but small size. We suggest you take more time to go to Krimmler Wasserfalle with a big water fall.

We suggest you buy Salzburg card if you visit Salzburg town. We found the open time of information center in P+R is too late(10:00). It is better that you buy it in train station information center and drive your car for Cable car, Schloss Hellbrunn and then park nearby Schloss Mirabell for walking tour.

The nationalpark Berchtesgaden also is recommended if you have time. Very beautiful!

Anyway, the location of Hotel is good. The enviroment is good. Room is clean. The service of hotel is simple. Internet service is not good($8/3 hours). Food of hotel is not good. Car rental is recommended. If you can not speak German, you will feel people is unfriendly.

我们留在酒店整整一个星期。我们是II成员。酒店给我们安排一个带阳台的房间。是美丽的。酒店附近有两个超级市场的。开始两天我们选择在酒店早餐。但价格是高与霉变是不可接受的。我们改变在咖啡画廊。这需要$7.5/ P。我们喜欢它。

Storklmirt饭店和餐厅是好的。你可以订购一些传统的食品。如果你回到酒店后比8:00。你可以去商场1楼吃pizzal,酒店附近Rastaurant和酒吧吃,。

得益于良好的房间安排。这是最好的之一。

列支敦士登瀑布是相当不错的地方参观。它只需4分钟。车。Familie Obersteiner是不错的。我们欣赏他们的新鲜鳟鱼和“Apfelstrudel”(苹果派)。

哈尔施塔特也是美丽的。你可以留湖畔,并采取运行之旅的船。 zall我看到的是类似的lake,但体积小。我们建议你花更多的时间去与一个大瀑布Krimmler Wasserfalle。

我们建议你买萨尔斯堡卡,如果你访问萨尔茨堡镇。我们发现,信息中心开放时间在P+ R是为时已晚(10:00)。这是更好的,你买在火车站信息中心,并推动你的车,访问游览缆车,访问Hellbrunn公园Schloss米拉贝尔公园。

nationalpark贝希特斯加登也建议如果你有时间。非常漂亮!

总之,酒店的位置还是不错的。环境是良好的。房间是干净的。酒店的服务很简单。互联网服务不是好($ 8/3小时)。酒店的食物是不好的。租车建议。如果你不能讲德语,你会觉得人是不友好的。

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stay at the Alpenland Sporthotel every four years or so because we are ARI members. We have enjoyed our stays with compfy rooms with great views. Food and bar is OK. We prefer Alpenland Sporthotel in Maria Alm because the town has a lot more to offer (in the summer). We have never visited in the winter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our stay began in a large studio on the ground floor beneath a balcony above, so shaded. It was spacious if a bit spartan. The first morning, a Sunday, the church bells pealed from the neighborhood steeple and we felt transported to the Sound of Music's environs. We asked to be moved to a room with a balcony, which although smaller, was by far the best option for late afternoon relaxing with a glass of Grune Werstleiner. There are two good restaurants on the first floor, one Italian the other traditional Bavarian. The hotel is well situated with nearby tourist sites...Lechenstein Klamm (a gorge with long walkways) and Hohenwerfen Fortress (a castle on a promintory between steep Alp walls), among others.

If you're lucky, you will find charning front desk clerks. This was our only complaint. It is an economical hotel, with some amenities befitting a 3 star hotel. We went thanks to promotional telemarketing but it was definitely worth it and an economical way to cross the pond. From there we traveled to Venice and Florence in a rental car for 3 nights. Affordable because of the deal.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay in St. Johann, especially because of the great personnel who assisted us. Thank you especially to Bittina, Daniela, and Merima for all their language help and being so friendly.

Thank you also to Anna and “Susie”, we truly enjoyed their service and friendliness in the dining rooms for breakfasts and dinners. Great breakfasts in cluding the omelets. Dinners are excellent too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Address: Hans-Kappacher-Strasse 7-9, Sankt Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Sankt Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sankt Johann im Pongau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sankt Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenland Sporthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.