We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oberforsthof Alm

Oberforsthof Alm
Alpendorf 12 | Salzburgerland, Sankt Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
+43 6412 6396
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $55
Cuisines: Austrian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In a rustic atmosphere offers fine regional and Mediterranean cuisine is celebrated at its best - and just this apparent contradiction makes the Oberforsthof Alm in the Alpine village so popular.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This restaurant has excellent food, best stake in Austria so far. Service is not typical Austrian "Kollege kommt gleich " . Ambient is pleasant mix of modern and traditional. Comfortable chairs. Great view. Menu is diverse, and everything we saw was looking delicious. I did not notice anyone even from different table to complain or make a bad face ;). If you are in this region you must try food in this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bethlehem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food was wonderful - outstanding fondue and wienerschnitzel. Variety of eating areas, outside, bar or dining room. atmosphere fun. beautiful view so get there before dark.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location Good Austrian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all I must say that I'm not a gourmet restaurant person we looked for nice place to eat local food, we were five 2 adults and 3 kids, we ate Austrian schnitzel and schnitzel desert , everybody find what he likes ( including the vegetarian one)
The place is very beautiful with great view and very nice and kind service.
The price however is not low but we found it worth it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After trying to decide on where to eat, we stumbled on this place on the last day of our trip, and we regret not having found this place before. Everything was great. The menu is huge and has so many varieties. Everything was tasty and exceptional. The waiter was vigilant to our needs and he remembered what we liked and didn't like. His English was excellent. The view from our table was stunning. We had the garlic cream soup & the ALM appetizer as starters and both with amazing. We also had the garlic bread which was good. For our mains, we had the vegetables stuffed tortilla, which was good, & the ribeye on volcanic stone was stunning- a must try! For dessert we had the ALM variation which had a bit of everything and was so good. The toilets were so clean and had sanitary liquid for the toilet. The restaurant was beautiful in location and also had a playground. It was pouring outside but the sitting outside could be amazing on a sunny day. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. There is a lounge and bar are with smoking that's separated from the nonsmoking. Prices are a little above average but worth it! I totally recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela L, Inhaber at Oberforsthof Alm, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your great input!
We are really glad you visited us and enjoyed to dine in our restaurant.
Hope to welcoming you soon again!
Best regards from Alpendorf
Family Mayr
Oberforsthof Alm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai , India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Amazing restaurant with a sweeping view. Has quirky furniture seating in open air also. The waiter was so friendly and helpful , he recommended so many things and got addresses and tel no for us. Had a raclette and free schnapps.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oberforsthof Alm also viewed

Sankt Johann im Pongau, Salzburg Region
Sankt Johann im Pongau, Salzburg Region
 
Sankt Johann im Pongau, Salzburg Region
Sankt Johann im Pongau, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Oberforsthof Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oberforsthof Alm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.