We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kendler Restaurant

Hotel Kendler Restaurant
Kirchenplatz 3, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
+43/6227/2223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in St Gilgen
Restaurant details
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

The Kendler looks nice from outside but as soon as we entered we realised our mistake. The ambience is awful, more like a canteen than a restaurant.

Food was so so, and service was more like a fast food cafe than a restauarant.

A much better place, just up the street, is Gastof zur post, which I can't find on trip advisor

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Guest friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We ate at this hotel two evenings running becuase of the excellent food and the very friendly staff and local customers who accept visitors graciously

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“felicia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

very good food,good beer,perhaps music in restaurant will be great

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch in St. Gilgen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've visited the Kendler on several occasions for lunch and dinner over the past several years. The food is consistently good and the service prompt. I recently ordered schnitzel with spaetzle even though I'm not that fond of spaetzle. I ended up eating some of my husband's wonderful roasted potatoes with onion. When the server noticed me eating my husband's potatoes, she said that I could have substituted them for my spaetzle without any problem.

Anyway, we will continue to visit the Kendler whenever we are in the lovely St. Gilgen.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightwater
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not very welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

6 of us went to the resturant at the Hotel Kendler for dinner at 7.30 pm. We hadn't booked and although it was fairly busy, it certainly wasn't full. We were greeted by an unwelcoming maitre'd, and should have walked out at that stage.
This continued throughout the first 2 courses. Not a smile or anything ! When she didn't collect our order for wine, we paid the bill and left. We then continued at a nearby resturant for our final courses.
It's a pity because the food was good, and the waitresses ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Kendler Restaurant also viewed

St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
 
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Hotel Kendler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kendler Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.