We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check all before you stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Johann

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Johann
Save
You added Hotel Johann to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 261, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check all before you stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

With my wife stayed in Hotel Johann for New Year 2013-2014 and we are disappointed in rate value/confort. Probably, we got last room in hotel, on back side (no 611) and there is no plug in 220 nearby table (we have in 4* hotel after cable nerbay my bad). Also WI-Fi didn't work good just a litle in small toalet. We said three times to repair or arrange that I can buy SIM card (Austrian T mobile maybe) for my budget, but they in all days didn't even discouss on this mater...
So, we stayed in small room, less then 19 m2 for big money. But maybe is that our mistake, we are last guest on list..
Our table for breakfast and dinner are on (hot) galery, and we can see just a staff. So second one, we can't observe outside, like from our room can't (we see a hill form our window). We don't have luck! We are like on prision. Room, eating table and sauna all is in bunker.

But we must say that kichen (dishes) was excellent and that make our feelings better. Also sauna world is excellent, just pool area isn't becouse you don't have a rest area.

When is not enought snow, you can't skiing to the hotel, and also you can't skiing from the hotel to skiiarena. So you need a Bus, what is on the moning full, and you wait more than 30 minuts if you are not early bird. So between 9 am and 11 am it is trafic on bus, but pozitiv is, that bus stop is no the entrance of hotel!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on street side, even if is noisy, becouse on winter night time, after 12 p.m. is relati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent family run hotel!

Close to the slopes either walking or thru front bus stop. Wonderful service with excellent gourmet food. Best place to stay with family in the apartments with kitchen or in the connected 4 stars Theresia hotel rooms.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
packerbacker04
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have a decidedly mixed opinion of this hotel. We booked it through Hotel Theresia, the sister property next door, and did not realise that there is a difference between the two. If you stay here, you can use the Theresia's spa, swimming pool, etc. One should be aware that some of the pictures on this site, such as of the pool area, are for the Theresia and not for the Johann. Again, you can use them, which we did regularly. We liked especially the outside pool and the spa area in the basement. But there are differences between the two hotels. The Johann's rooms are in serious need of an update. The bathrooms are very basic (no bathtub, loud toilet) and the sleeping area is what was hip in Austria some years ago.

In terms of food, the hotel staff claim it is the same as the Theresia. In general, I was very impressed--some of the best vegetarian food I have had in a hotel setting. We really liked the wait staff in the Johann--friendly, caring. In fact, I would say that, having spent six winters at a half pension someplace in Austria, the food was the best I have had over six week-long stays. So big picture is lots of praise.

But one should be aware that the Theresia is still a better choice for food. One night at the Johann with a buffet some of the food items listed on the menu were missing; we were told there was not enough room to put them out. Another night for fondue there was no salmon as advertised and the shrimp quickly ran out; our waiter commented that the Theresia got most of the salmon that evening. The wine list is a lot shorter. So we took pictures of the Theresia winelist on our phone and asked the waiter to get some wines missing at the Johann. The Theresia has a guy each morning making crepes and omelettes before your eyes; if you ask, you can get some of the same things at the Johann, but the setting is simply different. The dining room at the Johann, in fact, is narrow and not particularly charming.

To be honest, these are minor issues--given that so much did work well and given how friendly the staff were, if we had paid less to stay at the Johann, I would say nothing, but the price was still pretty high. And that is the reason why I list this property as "average" in the review--we have stayed in similar rooms for less money in Austria.

To sum up, if we return--and because the owners and the staff are so delightful we very well may book again--I would want to stay in the Theresia. I would give the Theresia alone 4.5 to 5 on a scale of 5 (depending upon cost--it really is a lovely hotel with great management).

One more comment--It is useful to have ski rental right on the premises for a fairly small hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just returned from a weeks skiiing with my sister's family. We had an apartment at the Johann which was spacious and well equipped. The beds were extremely comfortable with a choice of 4 matresses. We ate at the sister hotel, St. Theresia which is linked to the Johann by an aerial walkway and the food was outstanding. The spa is also superb and a wonderful treat at the end of the day. We skied to and from the hotel and there is also a bus stop right outside the door. We have been here a number of times before and our latest stay did not disappoint. The staff are incredibly helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We have already booked for December 2014 and I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was there too for the most wonderful experience ever..... never a dull moment and excellent service. The family run establishment deserves a big applause....
I am sure skiers will adore it but summer in Hinterglem was fabulous....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The purpose of our family reunion was to celebrate the 60th wedding anniversary of our parents.
There were 20 of us, ages ranging from 7 to 89. We all had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Johann. From the friendly welcome and exceptional personal service and attention to the delicious "bio" menus and relaxing spa (loved the aroma steam rooms!), we enjoyed every minute of our week.
The rooms were modern and very clean. If we needed anything at all, the staff was there to cater to our needs and always smiling and friendly! They could not do enough for us.
I would highly recommend this family run hotel to anyone wanting a getaway in the Austrian mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We love the Hotel Johann! Our family has stayed at the hotel during the Christmas holidays of 2010 and 2012, and have stayed in the connected Theresia Gartenhotel during the summer of 2011. The Hotel Johann is beautiful throughout with a rustic but modern style, and our rooms have been very nice each time. The spa facilities shared with the Theresia Gartenhotel are excellent as are the rest of the wellness facilities. The outdoor pools are also very nice with beautiful views of the local mountains. But what makes these two hotels such a special place is the warm family atmosphere created by Family Brettermeier and their staff. The food provided by the half board is consistently innovative and always delicious. Both the food and the staff continually exceed our expectations. We give the entire experience at the Hotel Johann our highest recommendation – Family Brettermeier have won numerous awards for Johann and Theresia hotels and they are absolutely well deserved. We are confident you will love Hotel Johann and your hosts, Family Brettermeier. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 261, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johann 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Johann There is a connecting passage with the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior and thus offers its guests access to the entire infrastructure with all year round in- and outdoorpools, Green Spa, kids club and much more...The guests of the Hotel Johann have free-of-charge access to all of the hotel’s wellness facilities (pools, sauna) as well as to its garden, and may also participate in all organised leisure activities, for instance the daily animation, fitness, sports and relaxation programmes. Use of the childcare facilities provided by qualified childminders is also included.You have the option of spending your holiday on a more private note, in your own holiday apartment and on a self-catering basis, independent of the hotel’s schedule. You may either cook your own meals or simply sit down at the readily laid table in one of the three non-smoking restaurants in the Johann. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Johann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.