We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eva Hotel Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eva Hotel Village to your Saves list
Eva Hotel Village
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberdorf 218, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria (Formerly Hotel Ingonda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for a week in June. This was my third stay at the Eva Village and everything was excellent once again.
The staff are friendly and very efficient, and speak perfect English.
The staff helped me with my on line flight check in and printing my boarding card, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent with a wide choice for breakfast. Vegetarian meals were provided without fuss and were very good.
The room was spacious and clean. I had been given a suite overlooking the main street and it was excellent.
Saalbach is a perfect area for walking and June is my preferred time for visiting as it isn't too hot or too busy.
As a single traveller I feel safe staying there which is important to me and why I return to this hotel.
I prefer to book directly with the hotel rather than use tour operators.
It was an excellent holiday and I have already contacted the hotel to book again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    31
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
49
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Lincs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have stayed at Eva Village three times and each time has been excellent. We have already had a quiet room - at the back where the view is not so good, but very quiet or the side, facing downhill and haven't had a problem with noise from surrounding bars, unless the balcony doors are open.

The food is high quality and the choice at breakfast and dinner is vast. The only negative is having to pay for coffee after meals and the wine list is quite expensive.

The pool area is very relaxing after a day's skiing.

One of the reasons we continue to go back to Eva Village, addition to the great service, is it's fantastic location - just steps away from two main lifts - for me, there's nothing worse that carrying skis very far, so this is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed 10 days (skiing honey moon since we met during skiing trips) and maybe found out some things regular guest wouldn't. The hotel itself is very nice, our room (cristaline) extremely fancy and pretty, the staff is very friendly and the food is delicious.
Seen the duration of our stay: the mid week buffet was twice the same and the extras on the swimming pool (massage jet) were broken throughout the whole period. We weren't very satisfied with the cleaning either: a dead fly remained on the parquet in the entrance for about 5 days and we were quite surprised the bedding wasn't changed once...
During the first days there was a Dutch speaking waiter in the evenings whom was very friendly: great to be able to chat and ask question about the menu in our mother tongue.
Moreover we decided to go shopping for sparkling water: more than 6€ for a bottle via the room/minibar, 5€ during diner whilst about one fifth in the local supermarket - trop is teveel, as we say in Dutch.
ps. The SkiCircus pistes and area are just wonderful for skiing and snowboarding !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the side of the Panther hotel: in between the two hotels there is a bar which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Eva Village is not your average Austrian Gasthof. The hotel is luxurious without being posh. Service of the staff is excellent, a big compliment to Thomas the bartender who knows his job and speaks perfect english. The food is not what you would expect in an Austrian Hotel, if you are looking for Schnitzels, it may not be your thing but if you appreciate special dishes, Eva Village is the place to book. The afternoon snacks after skiing are great, after the elaborate breakfast it is easy to wait until the 'High Tea"style snacks, saves you a lot of money because food and drinks in Austria are very expensive.
Extra bonus is the free sauna, 3 spacious cabins and a pool, there should be more beds but that is the only fault I can think of.
Rooms come in different sizes and prices, ours was a 3 bed (double bed and comfy 2 bed couch) with a balcony, separate bathroom and toilet and lots of wardrobe space.

Room Tip: try not to have a room at the left side in peak season, since the adjacent bar might be noisy, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

On arrival to the hotel the first impressions were very favourable as the position was excellent and the reception staff were very friendly. The room could only be considered as standard, with just squeezing one settee into the corner and one very small chair hardly transforming the room into a suite as was described and charged extra for. The mini bar had also been removed leaving just a warm bottle of water.
The decor of the hotel was generally very average, although the spa was to a high standard.

With regards to the restaurant we did not like the fact that you had to order your meal in advance for that evening whilst eating a very disappointing breakfast and from a menu which I am sure they considered fine dining but in effect was just very small portions of limited choice. (I did not expect when ordering roast beef for my main course to be presented with one very small and thin slice of beef with a few meagre vegetables, this was the theme throughout the week.) One thing I found quite off putting also was when signing for the extras at dinner, having to write down the amount of tip to be given each night,You got the impression that depending on the amount given, the the waiter upon inspection would either show his approval or disapproval, It was difficult to guess what the aspirations of the staff were and what would be the going rate as the meals were on a half board basis and so were included in the hotel cost.

I get the impression that the owners think that by charging excessive prices for everything in an average hotel and producing some fine literature they will fool the guests into thinking the hotel is really more grand than it is. You get the feeling that this is classed as crystal holidays finest because of location and a self generated reputation.

One nice touch though was the provision of Gunter, a daily ski guide ( who also gave private skiing lessons) He was very helpful and made the week very interesting.


If you are staying at the eva village then just be aware of the final sting. A warm bottle of fizzy water was left outside our room each day which as we had not ordered we considered complimentary. We were very surprised to get a bill for 35 euros on our departure for this.

One final thing, try to avoid the rooms at the back right of the hotel as you will find yourself being awoken at 6.00 every morning by the church bells and then every 15 mins for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay. Excellent hotel, booked superior twin rooms which were very spacious. Restaurant food very good standard and my son really enjoyed the choices at afternoon tea, a real treat after a days skiing. Only a couple minutes walk to two main lifts. Spa area well maintained and a good way to ease tired muscles! Very friendly staff.
Had read about possibility of noise from nearby bars but only heard loud voices on one occasion late at night and only lasted a couple of minutes so nothing to cause any concern.Whilst in Saalbach did not see any other hotel which we think would have been a better choice. No hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: we had third floor rooms and had good view across to slopes from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For more discerning ski moguls. We stay here because the standard is very high.

The hotel has a perfect location and the Bar - Eva Alm - (owned by the same family) is the best bar in town by far (and only 3m's from the hotel entrance).

The breakfast selection is wide, the afternoon snacks/cakes are a welcome treat and dinner is a good fine dining quality.

Best of all the hotel has its own ski and board guide - Gunther - who takes guests out on free ski tours - giving tips on technique along the way - (you can also book private lessons with him). Being a local he knows the best slopes at the best times... don't know another hotel that provides such expertise for free. Its a great way of meeting the other guests and making friends (we returned from the UK this year to meet up with our Swedish friend who we met on Gunther's tour last season).

Its not the cheapest resort or hotel - but you get what you pay for and the Austrian welcome is a very friendly one.

If you go to Saalbach make time one night for dinner at the Speilburghaus and sledge down the country lane home - hilarious!

Only down side is the hotel is too warm at times and the club next door is noisy so if you want the window open take earplugs.

Fly to Saalbach and transfer by taxi - takes 1.5 to 2 hours on a Saturday and costs around €130 each way (up to 6 in a mini bus taxi with luggage). Recommend Taxi Pfeiffer - door to door service.

Room Tip: Rooms vary according to budget... the superior rooms really are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eva Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Hotel Village

Address: Oberdorf 218, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria (Formerly Hotel Ingonda)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#15 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eva Hotel Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eva Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Saalbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eva Hotel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.