We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, people and experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Sonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Altachweg 334, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place, people and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is brilliant! The staff couldn't have been more efficient or friendly, the food was magnificent and the facilities first class. From the beautifully clean rooms, to the fab ski lockers, to the relaxing (and reasonably priced) bar, to the free on-demand ski bus, to the fantastic food in the restaurant, to the free kids club, to the amazing spa and swimming pool......it was simply first class! Thanks so much for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just got back from a great holiday with my dad & brother and we were so impressed by this hotel!

The staff are fantastic at this hotel. From the receptionists to the bar to the dinner hall and the cleaners. You will always be greeted by a smile and a warm hello. At dinner Susi and Herbert served us every evening and there service was perfect. Herbert would always remember what drinks we would have which was a lovely touch!

The food was brilliant and evening though I am not used to 6 course dinners, this was a real treat and the food was always delicious. Breakfast was vast and there was a lot to choose from and you were left a nice welcome leaflet in the morning informing you of the weather for the day a head and dinner for the coming evening.

Ski boot room was genius, after breakfast when I came down to get my boots on they were already heated in the locker. Then you would walk up the stairs to be greeted by a driver ready to take you in the free Sonne mini bus to the Shattberg. It was like clockwork

The spa is another review in itself! WOW. I love the chillout zone, where you have water beds to relax on with Ipads. You have a log fire in the middle of the room and makes you feel so at ease. It was very busy after ski time (to be expected) so I always left a little earlier so I could enjoy the spa when it was more quiet.
They also have free drinks in the spa that you help yourself too, fantastic.

Anyway the hotel has everything you would need in a ski holiday.. and more. I noticed that they had some plans on the wall showing they are planning to build a pool and hot tub outside! So in that case I will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I, together with our 10 year old son stayed at the Hotel Sonne from 9th-16th March 2013.

We read the reviews on trip advisor before we booked and were happy to go ahead as virtually all of the reviews were full of praise. We were a little sceptical as surely all of the reviews couldn't be this good!

I can safely say that the only people that got the reviews wrong were those that didn't give this hotel 5/5!

We have stayed at many hotels in Austria and throughout Europe, including many 4 and 5 star, and we have never stayed at a hotel where the staff have been more friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and couldn't do enough for you, and all with a warm smile. The owners regularly engaged in friendly conversation with guests during the evenings, making everyone feel so welcome.

The hotel was impeccable, with everywhere being well maintained and spotlessly clean. The bar and lounge areas were warm and comfortable with completely separate smoking area, the restaurant spacious and well laid out and the spa was relaxing with numerous facilities and treatments on offer. We enjoyed lovely massages, including with honey and hot stones! There's a pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, relaxation room all available for the whole family, as well as a 'naked' area for adults only! There are even free to use iPads available!

As well as the spa, there was plenty on offer for the kids with playroom for youngsters and wii and pool room for the slightly older ones.

The ski room had individual lockers with boot warmers.

Although, not central, the hotel is only a lovely 10 minute walk into the village centre with its ample facilities, bars and restaurants. The ski buses stop directly outside the hotel and run every few minutes into Saalbach and Hinterglemm giving easy access to the enormous, modern and well linked ski area. Plenty on offer for all abilities both on and off piste. HOWEVER, there is no walking or ski buses necessary! The hotel runs shuttle buses to and from any lift you like both in the morning and afternoon. Even if you fancy only half a day skiing, or a trip to the floodlit pistes just arrange with reception or give them a call and they will pick you up!

Our room was a spacious and modern, yet traditional double with superb ensuite facilities, large balcony and every other comfort you would expect from a quality hotel.

The food was magnificent. The choice at breakfast was unbelievable from salmon to cornflakes and honey fresh on the comb to bacon and eggs cooked to order, omelettes, poached, fried.... And absolutely every breakfast combination I can think of! There were plenty of après ski snacks and cakes, well more another buffet really with the selection! The 5 or 6 course evening meals were varied and delicious with choices of main course including vegetarian and options for kids.

All in all, it is virtually impossible to find fault with this hotel. You couldn't wish to find a better hotel for your ski holiday. We have only been back a day but are already trying to rebook for next year.

Book the hotel Sonne you will really find it hard to find anywhere better!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect and was just a standard double. They have all been recently refurbished. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerh48
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I actually like Hotel Sonne and I'm disappointed that the review I have of my trip in March 2013 is not as good as the one I wrote previously.

The hotel was busy when we went and there were no spare rooms. We had a late addition to our group and he was accommodated in our twin room on a sofa bed. I have no problem with that, as the original booking was for two people and a third came later when they were fully booked. What was a bit annoying though is that the room was still set up for two people, with just two towels, glasses etc, despite the fact that our friend was paying the same price as we were. I had hoped that we might be given a larger room since there were 3 of us sharing but we weren't - but as mentioned above the hotel was busy.

The room itself was of a good standard and would be ideal for two people.

The food this year was a mixture of ordinary and sensational. Some meals were really very good indeed and then the following evening we left disappointed that the food was quite poor. I got the impression generally that as the hotel has spent millions on refurbishment over the last few years, they were cutting costs in some places. I was also quite shocked at the cost of wines in the hotel. Previously I have found them to be on a par with restaurant prices but this year I felt we had to pay very high prices for quite ordinary wines.

I should say that the stay was still very enjoyable and the staff in the hotel were excellent. I just felt that we were being asked to pay more for less this time round.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 4th floor - they are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were happy to stay in this hotel 2 weeks ago. We had a great spacious room which was well designed and very clean. (pics attached). The staff was warm and welcoming.
A very rich breakfast is served, and a large free parking place is available. A small cozy bar is available, as well as free small indoor swimming pull, Jacuzzi and Sauna.
There is also convenient ski rental arrangement between the hotel and some of the companies in Saalbach, so you can be taken directly to the shop to rent the equipment (at totally reasonable price) and then they bring you back for free. at the last day you can even leave your staff at the hotel and they come and pick it. very convenient!

As for location, the hotel is not in the center of Saalbach, but on the way between Saalbach and Hinterglem. this is OK - don't worry about the short distance. There is a free and very efficient shuttle service provided by the hotel during ski hours. (it is important since the public ski bus looks crowded on peak hours). The shuttle takes you from the hotel's doorsteps directly to the main "Schattberg Express" station, or directly to the ski place near the "Turm", and takes you back at the end of the day. The drivers are very friendly and they drive back and forth every 10 minutes.

For families, there is even a babysitting arrangement for kids, with a small playroom !

All in all, the vacation was great and the hotel is warmly recommended to all ages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent Ski Hotel in Saalbach.
The room was clean and modern and big enough.
2 separate beds for me in my brother.
Food was delicious at breakfast and dinner.
As the hotel is not in the center of town there is a FREE Shuttle service available from and to the hotel around the clock during the day. The driver brings you to the ski area in the morning and brings you back in the afternoon. Very convenient.
If you want to go to the town in the evening it is at 15 minutes walking distances, or taxis are available too.
Spa is great and clean with Sauna, Hamam, pool and others.
Only great things to say on this hotel and I'm picky.

Room Tip: Kohlmais room are modern newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here with Christmas with both our parents. It was a fantastic stay. It is as staying with family. The owners try to make you feel as part of their family and arranged special events for Christmas: welcome father Christmas, ski trips etc. The hotel is situated a bit outside the “city center”of Saalbach. It is about a 20 min walk into town. However this is hardly necessary as one of the big benefits of this hotel is that they have their own shuttle service. These two Volkswagen vans are there to bring you to the lifts in Saalbach in the morning and pick you up in the afternoon (between 16-17.00 hrs), if you want a pick up earlier just call one of the drivers. Further if you want to go into Hinterglemm, the ski bus stop is just on the main road so also very convenient. It is also possible to ski to the hotel on the blue run (24a, with the last part not being prepared, so not for the beginner).
The hotel itself is a bit away from the main road in between Saalbach and Hinterglemm. Which is nice because you won’t hear any traffic. There are two kind of rooms, modern and “traditional”. We stayed in the traditional rooms. They are fine, big beds, lost of space, traditional Austrian woods and I believe most of them have a balcony. The view is not spectacular, however this is mostly because the valley of Saalbach is quite narrow. However if you stay a bit higher you can have a view into Hinterglemm. We got a glimpse of the modern rooms, they look fine, modern interior but I wouldn’t pay more money for them.
We stayed on Half board basis. Food is great. In the afternoon they have a jausen when you came back from skiing. This is nice, most of the better Austrian hotels we stayed in have this. It was Ok but we had better ones, most of the food would be mixed left over from the day before, but still good quality. Then dinner, the quality of the food was just perfect, we enjoyed it very much. Wines are a bit pricey, but the house wines they serve a fine. The only but important negative thing about dinner was that on Christmas evening it took a awful long time to get our food, this really has to improve. I think it was mainly due to the kitchen, because the waiters were waiting to serve the food.
Next evening it was better, but still service can be a bit slow. So I hope they try to improve this.
Also the bar area is a bit small, there is a bigger area, however people are allowed to smoke there so you we did not want to sit there.
Further: there is a very nice wellness area in the hotel. This is a separate house on the main road which you can access from the hotel. First you enter in the swimming pool, which can be a bit busy when the hotel is full. Then if you continue you will find a small fitness room and then you will enter the wellness (sauna area). This is very nice, different kinds of sauna, a place to relax with lots of space (free use of two I pads!) . Possibility to cool down outside on the balcony. Very nice after a day of skiing.
Saalbach-Hinterglemm is very nice for every kind of skier. Lots of possibilities to ski in different areas.
So if you are looking for a luxurious family run hotel, and don’t mind staying a bit outside Saalbach. This is really the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel Saalbach
Address: Altachweg 334, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.