We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Salzburgerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohlmais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kohlmais to your Saves list
Kohlmais
Schiliftstrasse 469, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ingleton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“First visit to Salzburgerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Found this hotel really splendid to stay at. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food and rooms were great. Didn't find the town over exciting, nothing old or interesting about it. It just seems to be a ready made ski resort, that said it is a nice clean village to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had a Junior Suite with a garden terrace and enjoyed a tastefully furnished suite with flat screen TV (Sadly only the execrable CNN English Channel), DVD and superb double shower cabinet and Whirlpool bath. We had immediate access to the swimming pool and it is large enough to enjoy a relaxing swim and is quiet outside the 4 o'clock return from walking time when a few others usually pitch up. Food is really varied and imaginative. Ample breakfast and essentially a five course dinner in a newly decorated modern Austrian style restaurant. Tea or coffee and cakes/biscuits at 4pm to 5pm was very welcome.

Staff are charming and fluent in English. The cleaning ladies are efficient and thorough. The Hotel is family run by the Gappmaiers and their style is relaxed and friendly with nothing too much trouble to make your stay a good experience. Watch out for "Henry" the robot lawnmower in the garden! Situated in a quiet street opposite the Kohlmais Lift and a five minute walk to the Village Centre, shops etc the Kohlmais is ideally located to use the Joker Card given free for the duration of your stay and a fabulous access to many local facilities including all the lifts in Summer etc.

Not a Hotel to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Have stayed in many hotels in Austria and this is up there with the best, very friendly and quiet ,set in a great position overlooking the mountains and opposite the Kohlmais lift.We had a junior suite which is the biggest room we have ever had.The food was very good and service first class.The hotel provides the joker card which you have unlimited use of the cable cars and buses within the valley all free,there are lots of walking opertunities but did find many of them steep,the packed lunch was very good ,you made it yourself but from a good selection of food,the pool is average size for most hotels we have been in but was very nice after a long walk,the sauna is only on if you book it .We have already rebooked for next year along with many other guests returning,we booked with Inghams to this hotel and found the price of the holiday very reasonable .Saalbach is a wonderful place no good if you want shops but there is something for everybody ,it is most child friendly resirt I have been to and mountain bike heaven,thankyou the Kohlmais team for giving me a fantastic holiday and with the weather in the 30s 10 out of 10

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Kohlmais where we had a fabulous holiday. The hotel was quiet and peaceful, the scenery from our balcony fantastic. The owners and staff were exceptional and looked after us the whole time we were there. The little touches, rucksack, umbrella, walking poles, robes and slippers, together with the 'Jokers Card' made our stay even more enjoyable. The food was excellent even though the weather could have been a little better! We are definitely going back again as soon as we can.
First timers from Essex

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, combining the quality of a 4 star hotel with the detail of the small, family run place it is.
The room was typical for Austria: light, airy and comfortable with a balcony looking across the valley, but equipped with not just the usual slippers, dressing gowns, etc. It included a hot water bottle, umbrella and backpack. The bath and shower room was bright and clean. Everything was better than we expected.
However, it was in food that it particularly excelled. Technically we were on a half-board deal but there was more food available than some full-board holiday's we've had. There was a large spread of all the usual choices for a continental breakfast plus some hot food. They even make their own jam. From this buffet you could make up what you wanted for a packed lunch. Every afternoon there was a choice of hot drinks and biscuits - which encouraged a lot of socialisng in the lobby/lounge. To top it all there was a five course dinner, usually with 2 choices of soup and 3 of main course, all excellently cooked.
There are also facilities like pool and so on but we didn't use those.
The hotel seems very quiet, we rarely heard other guests, though I understand rooms on the front can be a little noisy during the day. It is 5 minutes walk from the village square, 3 from the church and directly opposite one of the main cablecars.
I must also mention the Joker Card, the best summer card we have come across and included in our package by the hotel. It includes full access to all the local cablecars, the bus along the valley, the 'Noddy' train to the head of the valley, free entry to the swimming pool, museum and a whole lot of other things we didn't have time to do. Between the hotel and the card, we needn't have spent any money once we got there.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as these have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were reccomended this hotel by friends and they were not wrong. Our junior suite was huge and perfect. Every little detail had been thought of, inluding a rucksack, umbrella, walking poles , bathrobes and even an heart shaped water bottle if you have a cold night (although hotel was always warm ! ) The pool and public areas were extrememely clean and pleasant, and great if you have a wet day. All the food was wonderful, 5 course meals, soup buffets and huge breakfasts with make your own packed lunches. It was good we could walk it off on the mountains. All the staff from Frau Gappmeir, Angl, the receptionist could not have been more helpful.
There is also afternoon tea too. The hotel was quiet but that appealed to the guests, if you need nightlife it is only 100 metres away in the town.

Also the hotel provide you with a joker card, this gives free use of lifts, buses, leisure centre in the Valley, we think it saved us £250 in a fortnight.

We will certainly visit again, thank you the Kohlmais Team.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We (3 couples) had a wonderful stay in Hotel Kohlmais from 12 - 19 Feb.
We would gladly recommend this lovely, friendly, family run hotel.
The Hotel is well situated, lovely rooms with beautiful views over the village.
The solarium is beautiful and always kept very clean, loads of clean towels available, nice touch was the dried fruit and tea available in the solarium.
The hotel offers excellent food (breakfast and dinners), good variety, lots of fresh salads and delicious pudings!
We really hope to stay in Kohlmais again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohlmais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohlmais

Address: Schiliftstrasse 469, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kohlmais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohlmais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.