We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO COMPLAINTS WHAT SO EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohlmais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kohlmais to your Saves list
Kohlmais
Schiliftstrasse 469, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NO COMPLAINTS WHAT SO EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We (3 couples) had a wonderful stay in Hotel Kohlmais from 12 - 19 Feb.
We would gladly recommend this lovely, friendly, family run hotel.
The Hotel is well situated, lovely rooms with beautiful views over the village.
The solarium is beautiful and always kept very clean, loads of clean towels available, nice touch was the dried fruit and tea available in the solarium.
The hotel offers excellent food (breakfast and dinners), good variety, lots of fresh salads and delicious pudings!
We really hope to stay in Kohlmais again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Škofja Loka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just came from one week skiing in Saalbach. the hotel kohlmais is great. The staff is very friendly. The food was delicious - the taste, the choice of food as well as the serving.
There is no problem with the parking and everything is closed by.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I and friends have just returned from a week's ski-ing holiday in the Kohlmais in Saalbach. The hotel provided everything we expected and more. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The rooms were excellent with all the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel but still provided the personal touches that made you feel special. We were half board - the range of options for breakfast was extensive and the quality of the 5 course evening meal was outstanding. Even the "house red" was good quality and great value at 16 euros for a litre. I spent most of the days ski-ing the wonderful slopes of Saalbach, Hinterglemm and Leogang, but my wife also took the opportunity of sampling the leisure facilities in the Kohlmais, in particular the swimming pool and sauna which were all part of the package. The location of the hotel is right opposite the Kohlmais gondolas and chairlift as well as a huge beginners area now serviced by a new six person chair where queuing is minimal. Less than 100m from the hotel was the Bauer Alm (we called it the Umbrella Bars!) and a couple of other small bars which seemed to be the centre for much of the apres ski from about 4-8pm. A great atmosphere was generated by a variety of music but we never felt that things would "get out of hand" through over consumption of the local gluhwein!
Other main ski lifts such as the Shattberg Express and the Bernkogel chairlift were a little further away but still only a 6 minute walk from the Kohlmais.
Saalbach Hinterglemm is a great ski circuit, enhanced further by the great snow conditions and blue skies we experienced for the week and the Kohlmais is an excellent all- round hotel which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Just back from Saalbach - where we ski twice a year! We have a family apartment but often when full use hotels. This is family owned - very quiet and lots of children. food was nice - only complaint was the New Year's eve dinner took 4 hours to serve and only 1 glass of free sparkling wine - suggestion would be having a few bottles and some nibbles to share with the guests so people could talk to each other for the time waiting for the starter topping up the glasses would be more like a party. The rooms are clean and very quiet - a shock as they are right next to the apres ski and chair lift! We had a lovely room at the front with a balcony to watch the fireworks. Nice small pool and quiet area for sauna etc. Very understated hotel for people with children and want to just ski and not really party at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Kohlmais is a superb Hotel, family run by the Gappmaiers including waiting staff and the chef, for a young man a very adept cook. Food is well presented and varied. Ignore the earlier review claiming small portions! Our junior suite was immaculate and modern but within Austrian traditional style. We got in very well with all the staff and enjoyed the Gappmeiers' style of being attentive without being intrusive or invasive.

The swimming pool leading out into the small garden is very nice. Night life isn't the scene at the Kohlmais as the bar doesn't remain open long after dinner and the lounge is a bit stark with little to do other than watch TV.

A few hundred yards from the Centre and only steps from the Kohlmais Cable Car the quiet Kohlmais is well situated to use the Joker Card which is a superb enticement with a 14 day value of 122 Euros!

If you want a clean, comfortable and quiet Hotel with good food and splendidly run you won't do better in Saalbach. We have stayed in other Hotels and visited friends in others and the Kohlmais stands out as great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed here at the beginning of August 2010. It is really a wonderfull hotel and we intend to return next year. Good location. Friendly service, Nice rooms. Good food. What more could anyone desire. However, one of the gems is the Joker Card. Free use of Cable Cars & Buses and plenty more. Worth at least £60 but they give it to you for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed at the Kohlmais in August, cannot fault it at all. Great location about a minute from the centre of Saalbach.
We did pay extra for a Junior Suite and it was excellent, even had robes, towels and slippers for you when using the pool. Other reports had said the pool was very small, it was not large but extremely nice and what do you expect from a hotel that only has 29 rooms.
The food was excellent a five course meal every evening and the buffet breakfast provided and excellent choice of ham, cheese and breads, cereals, fruit and bacon, eggs and sausage.
We found the staff extremely polite, pleasant and always helpful.
In fact we are probably going back next year as we enjoyed it so much.
Just one thing, there is not much night life in Saalbach in the summer it seems to centre around the Hotels and Bobby's Pub (which has a bowling alley).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohlmais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohlmais

Address: Schiliftstrasse 469, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kohlmais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohlmais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.