We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bauer Gmbh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bauer Gmbh to your Saves list
Hotel Bauer Gmbh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obersdorf 232, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a good time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

have just got back from austria, staying at the Bauer, we booked via thomas cook and were told we had a ground floor room in the annex, as my husband and i are both disabled, then i found out the annex was not next door as i thought but a good 10 mins walk for both of us. We
complained to the hotel and the rep but were just told the hotel was fully booked.
I had to climb 2 flights of stairs to get to the apartment we were given, also the swimming pool is in another building up 1 flight of stairs and then a spiral staircase, so something else we
could not use.
My husband is austrian and he was very upset with the whole holiday, the waiters seem to favour serving certain people and we had to ask for drinks, desserts repeately from certain waiters.
We saved up for 2 years for this holiday as we are on a pension but i dont think we will go back to Austria.

Room Tip: Do not book if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fantastic hotel in an excellent location. The service from the staff was excellent and very friendly with them knowing us by name. We stayed al inclusive and this was provided without the need for any wristbands -they just knew who you !

The food was good and they catered from my daughter's nut allergy without any fuss - even to the point that they automatically provided individual deserts for her without any fuss.

The free bike hire and Joker Card were a real boon saving us lots of money with free use of the lifts , minigolf and the local swimming pools.

Would go back again without a hesitation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to Saalbach for a summer holiday.
We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews direct with the hotel, who were very helpful and accomodating. The communication from the hotel was excellent and friendly.
We booked an apartment in the 3 star guesthouse, which is separate from the hotel as we were travelling with 2 small children and wanted some extra space. On arrival I was a little taken aback to find that the guesthouse is actually a short walk through the town away, however it takes about 3 minutes to walk.
The apartment was lovely, clean and spacious, we had 2 bedrooms, a kitchen area and a large balcony. It is in a quiet area of the town and in the evening sitting on the balcony was lovely. The only negatives to the guesthouse is there there is no wifi and quite a small TV, which would not normally be a problem, but we were keen to see the Olympics!
The hotel is beautiful, the staff were welcoming and made a fuss of our children.
If you have children they are expected to have the children's menu, which has no choices, and are not allowed access to the salad bar. We spoke to the hotel, and they accommodated our request for our children to choose from the adults menu, as sometimes the children's menu was traditional children's fare (chicken nuggets) and our children prefer 'proper' food. We paid a small supplement and our children had access to the whole menu. The food was very good and plentiful.
At lunchtime you can eat in the restaurant, where there are 2 hot options and a soup, always great quality, or request a packed lunch, which is good but doesn't vary so can get a little tedious, especially is staying for 2 weeks.
On reading the tripadvisor reviews I was nervous to come across the famously grumpy waiter, who is easily recognisable, however we attacked him with relentless cheerfulness!
The hotel pool, in the landaus is lovely, and we often had it to ourselves, and opens onto a beautiful secluded garden.
The weekly barbecue, held at the hotels Schi Alm, just up the road, was outstanding. Possibly the best BBQ food I've ever had!
While on holiday it was my sons 6th birthday, all the staff shook his hand and wished him happy birthday, and the hotel gave him a present! I paid for a birthday cake, which was handmade and iced with his name, a lovely touch.
A lovely restful fortnight.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The Bauer Hotel was our first experience of half-board hotels, and of Austria, having previously skied in France and gone self-catering. Surprisingly, the hotel was just as economical, due to cheaper prices in Austria than France, even allowing for a couple of restaurant meals during a week in France.
The catering was excellent, with a different and interesting choice of meals and deserts every night, and a fabulous breakfast buffet, that encompassed all the breads, cold meats, cheeses, fried foods, cereals, juices, fruit, croissants etc you could possibly want. Even a vegetarian in our party was accommodated pretty well. Service was generally good, though suffered if one or two key staff were absent. It was also a bit too fussy and formal, though this was probably typical of the grade of hotel.
The room was spacious, though past its best, the decoration showing its age, and what looked like a jacuzzi bath no longer functioning. A shame that no coffee/tea/kettle was available in the room, though guess this might be the norm. In its favour, the Annexe was very quiet, with no noise disturbance at all, and I enjoyed having the small swimming pool to myself both times. Bathrobes and plentiful towels being supplied especially for the pool was a nice touch. Rooms were cleaned and beds made, with towels replaced daily, which was surprising and not really required so often.
The hotel was central and the annexe was next door to a little chairlift and small piste that was often our start and end point each day. Other gondolas were also easily walked to from the hotel. Shops, bars and restaurants were all around, so the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are quiet, and very nearby to the main hotel, where the restaurant and check-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I just came back from our ski holiday today. I can't wait to write the review for the Hotel Bauer. We got the BEST service ever. The hotel room is clean, reasonable size. The shower is powerful. They have nice Jacuzzi, Sauna which you would need after the whole day skiing. Their staffs are really friendly. They even remember the previous order you made. Their four courses dinner are amazing. Dinner menu are different everyday at least in my 7 days staying. I would definitely recommend them to my friend. Had a great time with them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel in Saalbach, one of the best. Nice rooms, Nice location and good kitchen. All straff very professional, except one in the restaurant, who although professional, is extremely moody. He knows his job very well, says the right words, does the right things, but still make you feel like he hates you - creating a bizarre atmosphere which his colleges all the time have to make up for.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keynsham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the Bauer on the 21 jan . I have skied for 15 yrs and have stayed in some real nice hotels , but the welcome at the Bauer the staff the owners were just brilliant , the food was first class so was the wonderfull Robert , we run a boutique hotel in Cardiff and give a high standard of service . And this hotel was just perfect , so much so that we are returning next yr , well done Bauer thank you for making our week perfect lots of love the Evans familly x

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bauer Gmbh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bauer Gmbh

Address: Obersdorf 232, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#15 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#18 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bauer Gmbh 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bauer Gmbh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Saalbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bauer Gmbh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.