We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berger's Sporthotel

Save Saved
You added Berger's Sporthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berger's Sporthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfplatz 33 | 5753-Saalbach, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton
1 review
“Brilliant fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Just got back from a weeks skiing in Saalbach staying at the sportsBergers Hotel. Having holidayed in Dubai and New York at some on the top hotels in the world, this hotel is up there with the best, it may not be a trendy-plush hotel but it has unique charm that overly manufactured hotels will never be able to re-create. I was suprised at how good the food was, the service was extremely friendly, the hotel was clean...and its location to the ski lifts is perfect. Its a traditional family run business that made us welcome from the second we stepped into reception. Salbaach has some of the best Apres Ski on the planet coupled with this great hotel...simply the best!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    132
    30
    9
    17
See reviews for
91
126
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Pretty much what the previous reviewer said, we were also a group of 6 ( 3 couples ) and found the hotel, food and staff to be excellent. Thomas our waiter for the 7 days (morning and evening ) was brilliant always a smile on his face,polite & friendly as were the other staff we came into contact with.Pool,sauna & steam room great at the end of a days skiing.
Rooms maybe smaller than other ski hotels we've stayed in but we knew this as it was stated on Thomson/Crystal website when booking was made, rooms still had plenty storage space and room for 2 people to move around comfortably. We were at the back of the hotel and when the window was open you got a bit of noise sometimes but it didn't bother us ( I always travel with earplugs you never know when you'll require them ). We would recommend this hotel for its location, great food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Party of six on a ski holiday to Saalbach, we all realy enjoyed the friendly Bergers Sporthotel. Rooms, food and staff were all great and the hotel is very central to all of the facilities.
The skiing and apres ski were fantastic!!

Gary from England

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

If your party likes a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the hotel for you. Karin ensures everyone happy.
The staff are at all times very responsive and give their best, and very willing service. Food wholesome.
Saw no children, which suited us. sport area adequate, massage v. good.
hotel situated centrally for all ski lifts.
Decor is tired and the rooms are very small, but beds comfortable, and not too noisy for sleeping.
Our party would definitely consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed here with some friends on a ski trip in early March.
On arrival, it would be fair to say that we were a little taken aback when we saw the low ceilings and dingy decor of the the foyer, not to mention the odd decor of the bar.
However, while the Berger Sporthotel, as said in previous reviews, is lacking somewhat in decor and space, it more than makes up for it in excellent service.

Our room was adequate, nothing special, but not bad either. We had been placed at the back of the hotel away from the street noise - but closer, it seemed, to the flipping church bells which rang at 6am, 7am, and 8am every morning. Now, i realise that that this is nothing to do with the hotel, but it does make for an interrupted night's sleep.

The bathroom in our room [310] was hilarious. If you are over 5' 8 and are given this room, I suggest you ask for another. The bathroom was tucked in under where a staircase ran to the next floor, and as such, the ceiling was low and slanted - meaning that you could only stand upright [so long as you're not too tall] at one end of the bath. Several times, on coming in the bathroom door, I almost hit my head on the low section. But all in all we found it funny, rather than problematic.

The spa area isn't as good as we've had in other Austrian hotels, but again, not the worst ever. Odd little things like the area given over to changing, had a window that looked into the restaurant. The water in the pool was cold, in my opinion at least. But otherwise it was fine.

On the plus side, the food was really good - we were only disappointed with dinner on one evening. On another evening there was a buffet which wasn't run as efficiently as it might have been - and I really don't like having to queue for my dinner!

The service was excellent - from Tomas at the dining table, to Sylvia in the bar, and everyone else who helped us along the way. Never was there a sour face, or anything that was too much trouble. All of the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
We had an early departure, and because they knew we'd miss breakfast, the hotel had made us up "breakfast packs" to take with us. They were so generous they did for breakfast AND lunch, Really fantastic servicve!

One other thing: a member of our party had a birthday while we were there, and the staff got wind of it. The following evening there was a Happy Birthday banner over our table at dinner, gifts for the birthday boy, and a special dessert complete with dazzling sparkler. And all of this with no prompting from us. How many hotels would do that?

All in all, yes the decor is a bit shabby - but you couldn't do better for service, food and location. And all the rooms had gotten new flatscreen TVs while we were there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Like me, you may have seen really contradictory reviews on here for the Berger Sport Hotel, either fantastic or awful, which was confusing yet helpful in our preparation for our skiing holiday there. We got back yesterday and have had one of the best holidays ever (and we are quite fussy!) so I hope this helps you. We are 38, 40, 35 & 27 in age & didn't take the kids but it would have been great for them too.
1. Fantastic Things: the hotel's location, the village of Saalbach is stunning (as were the mountain views from our room,) the food, the hospitality, the staff / service, the warm & lively atmosphere and the value for money.
2. Not so good Things: the standard rooms, the room decor and the noise of the disco IF you are close to it, ie on the first floor / front of the building, otherwise you can't hear it.
My BIG TIP if going to the Berger is yes, go, you will have a great time and be better looked-after than in any Radisson or Hilton, but! if you are particular on bedrooms (like us) contact the hotel directly before you go (but after booking via your tour operator) to reserve a quiet / larger room if required. The standard rooms are mainly on the small side and some look out onto next door's brick wall. Avoid room 201 as this is very noisy being on the first floor above the main entry (ie; people leaving at 6am like we did banging suitcases, doors etc) and the noise of the disco is bad for most rooms starting with a '2' on the FRONT of the hotel. We didn't visit the disco as the apres ski in the village is one of the best we've ever experienced and one of the best parts of the holiday, followed by a gorgeous 4 course dinner at our own permanent table at the Berger Sport.

We chose to pay Euro150 to upgrade to a junior suite (rooms 213 & 214) at the back of the hotel, which were quiet, comfortable, spacious and with amazing views of the mountains, and big balcony, which we thought was well worth it.
Lots of reviews mention the decor; love it or hate it, so we were expecting the 1970's look & not the neutral look many Brits expect. Many Austrian hotels are 'dated' compared to what we may be used to as a UK 4* and the 1st impression at the Berger is a little overwhelming, but I have to say, after a day, we loved it as it is all new (not 70's) and does add to the atmosphere & individuality of the hotel, and the Berger family have put a lot of thought into planning their 'look' and do care what customers think.
Finally, the village, skiing, people, apres-ski and architecture of Saalbach is outstanding. There's no 'riff-raff' but it's down to earth, small but very lively & good humoured and the skiing is 200kms of pure bliss, with modern heated chairlifts etc. Ski-school was excellent value and catered for all levels with English instructors & we will return to Saalbach, and quite probably the BergerSport, again next year I hope.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Our stay was at a time when the hotel and resort were both at or near capacity. We were somewhat apprehensive about what we would find, having read the damning comments by a previous reviewer who described it as "the Worst Hotel Ever!".

What we found was a typically Austrian, family-run hotel offering good quality, comfortable accommodation, friendly service and tasty wholesome meals. We and a number of fellow guests with whom we exchanged views on the relative merits and demerits of the hotel agreed that we could not have been looked after any better during our stay. The hotel is located on a mainly-pedestrianised main street near the town's centre. The nearest ski lift is less than 200 mtrs distant.

Our allocated room in the annex (just across the main street) was well-appointed, amply-sized had comfortable beds and a recently-modernised en-suite bathroom. The room was thoroughly cleaned and tidied daily.

The welcome on arrival was warm and throughout our stay the staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. Many had a good command of 'English'.

Food was plentiful, of excellent quality, delicious and beautifully presented. Menu planning reflected the tastes of the hotels mainly German and English-speaking guests with an occasional well-known, traditional Asustrian dish included as a dinner 'main' or 'sweet' course choice for those preferring to sample local fare.

An extensive breakfast buffet offered fresh rolls and croissants, selections of cereals and yoghurts, dried and fresh fruits, ham, salamis and cheese slices in addition to cooked sausages, bacon, eggs (boiled and scrambled) and baked beans. Orange juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate were provided.

Dinner consisted of 4 courses. The 'starter' buffet of salad items, cold cuts of meat and/or fish was followed by soup. There was always a choice of 3 'main' courses and, to conclude, a selection of 'sweets' including ice cream, was available.

Whereas the public areas of the hotel are fitted out in characteristically alpine style, a recently- installed Wellness Centre features a modernistic swimming pool with adjacent sun lounge and sauna/solarium. A nightly disco operates in the hotel's basement.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berger's Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berger's Sporthotel

Address: Dorfplatz 33 | 5753-Saalbach, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#8 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berger's Sporthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Berger's Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berger`s Sporthotel Hotel Saalbach
Bergers Sporthotel Saalbach
Bergers Sporthotel Hotel Saalbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berger's Sporthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.