We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip ... ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpinresort Sport & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alpinresort Sport & Spa to your Saves list
Alpinresort Sport & Spa
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Skischulstrasse 277, Saalbach-Hinterglemm A-5753, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Trip ... ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My fiancee and I had promised ourselves we'd go skiing for years, but by March we usually snap & go somewhere hot. This year, we booked so far in advance we couldn't wriggle free & therefore actually got to stick to the original plan. So glad we did! This was probably the best holiday we've ever had. Out all day, excellent skiing (first time!) & returning 'home' to the Alpin-Resort Reiterhof in the afternoons for a well deserved spa session, really made the trip & saved our legs & wind-burnt skin with all the honey-sauna treatments (epic!) Sitting in the roof-top jacuzzi one evening catching snow flakes with our tongues (in a blizzard!) was definitely a highlight of the trip.

We booked on a fully inclusive basis for a week & were blown away by the quality of the service & food. I was expecting piles of cheap, but plentiful pasta, but every single morsel was lovingly crafted from the freshest ingredients & truly I don't think it would have been humanly possible to say no to any of the courses. Despite burning 5000+ calories on the slopes each day, unrepentently, we must have taken in at least 50 000!

The staff are excellent, fun, nothing was an issue & without being cloying, really made us feel at home. It was also handy having the 'short cut' of the bunny school slopes to get back home from the mountains (almost to your front door - handy!) - close to everything, but also lovely & quiet off the main drag - tho' the nearby church bells went ballistic when the new Pope was announced! ;o)

We stayed in March 2013, travelling as a couple & were first-time skiiers - ask for 'Sam' at the Snow Academy - he's excellent & will forever be the 'voice in my head' ski-wise ;o)

I want to go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410 & was a lovely, corner room - the bathroom is miniscule, but since we spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    26
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
52
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I generally can't be bothered to write reviews, but this place really is excellent.

We stayed full board for a week and were blown away by the quality we enjoyed for £1000 pp (which included flights from the UK: Thanks Nielson).

The food and service were amazing. The wines included with dinner were top-notch and the free drinks and snacks at the bar were also great.

The hotel has recently had a new pool and sauna area added, and the rooms have also been thoroughly modernised.

The location of the hotel is also perfect: despite being close to everything (including some raucous apres-ski bars) it's set back from the main streets, so it's very quiet at night, and it's even possible to (almost) ski back from the piste.

I cannot fault this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just returned from a brilliant week away at the Alpinresort - excellent hotel, food, location. The spa facilities were ideal after a day out on the slopes. Very high quality pool area. We had a junior suite and the room was a great size, with a balcony, separate loo, bathroom and very spacious. Great big bath and separate shower with choice of shower heads. All inclusive meant all food and drink was included (except premium drinks) - the quality of the food was excellent. Vast breakfast choices. The staff were really friendly - particularly Charlie in the restaurant. Only improvement would be the gym - its in a small oom with more weights than running machines or bikes (plus no separate air con or water machines) - but this isnt a big issue. As for location, great access to the slopes. We hired our ski gear from the place located itching the hotel and received a discount as we were residents. Fab pistes - great range of blues and reds. Nice little town too. Would definitely return both to Saalbach and to this hotel.

Room Tip: The junior suites in the separate building were very good (connected to main building via undergroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is sold under the name Alpin Resort Sport & Spa. We stayed at end of January/early February.

Large well maintained rooms - kept very clean
Food - all inclusive - very good quality & available all day. Buffet plus main course for dinner chosen at breakfast.
There are a series of linked dining and seating areas which gives the hotel a more intimate feel.
Hotel spa comprehensive and recently extended.
Surrounded by other hotels but generally pretty quiet.
Convenient location for skiing - 5-10 minutes walk from the 3 main Saalbach lifts. Can ski back to the kids area at the side of the hotel annex.
Ski hire from Snow Academy next to hotel - very competitive rates if booked online in advance.

We had two junior suites. These were situated in an annex across a no-through road from the main hotel. There is an underground passage. This is convenient for getting to the ski boot room and the spa. Not so good to get to the ground floor of the main hotel for the reception, bar and restaurant. But be aware that despite almost constant attention the walk between the 2 building remained stubbornly slippery.

The junior suites were large with a double bed (Austrian twin) and sofa bed. Would make good family rooms. The room TV had loads of channels but nothing much in English though lots of channels showing English programs dubbed in other languages. The bathroom was also large with a bath and shower over (but shower glass covered about a third of the length of the bath). Bathrobes supplied. The rooms were clean and well maintained as was the rest of the hotel.

Tables in the restaurant for breakfast/dinner were allocated for the whole stay. Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet with some hot food. Lunch was more limited but extended through the afternoon. Dinner was a mixture of served and buffet. Food was high quality and interesting. (But also plainer favourites for children to have. ) A large selection of reasonable bottled wines available at no extra charge. Indeed a wide variety of drink, alcoholic and non, on all-inclusive available at lunch and at the bar pretty much all day.

The spa consists of an indoor relaxation area around the pool that also extends outside. The pool is large enough to have a serious swim if you have the energy. There is also an outside jacuzzi and a sauna. There is also a whole series of rooms (sauna, steam rooms ) that are in the 'nude' area. Most people, but not all, wore towels.

The hotel was full at the weekend not so during the week. Guests of several nationalities - good number of Brits, people who had traveled by car and evidently Russians (with an influx of Bulgarian ski instructors to cater for them).

The hotel is reasonably placed for all Saalbach ski lifts being not the closest to any of them but also close enough to walk in 10 minutes. The central area is traffic free which means just a few taxis/delivery vehicles. Skiing to Hinterglemm is straightforward as is skiing circuits. Many of the pistes are marked Blue but they didn't seem markedly easier than the Reds. That's to say the Blues are generally tougher than Blues elsewhere. So lots for intermediates; not so good for beginners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After a week here with all my pals the hotel and staff could not be faulted. All inclusive meant just that - you could have anything you desired. Food was served throughout the day in plentiful quantities. The staff were unbelievable in every way. The spa centre was one of the best I have experienced. Apart from the rain it was the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First of all location. The hotel is about 20 metres from the towns mail ski school, so you can drop your kids there and forget them safely. also the ski-school lunches in the hotel, so makes meeting them very easy. The maim lifts are about a 5 min walk uphill, not perfect but hardly a strain.
Hotel itself is excellent. food is really about as good as you can get in an Austrian 4 star resort. . its all inclusive and easily the best food I have ever had in an all inclusive anywhere in the world. Salad bar v good quality but not a huge range of choices

Spa is brand new in 2012/13 and it shows. very good facilities, indoor/outdoor pool. good steam rooms, adult area etc.

rooms I would rate good. No problem sleeping, no noise, good beds. we had many extra request over the week, and it was no problem. also NY eve gala was a lot of fun and no tack. Kids had an absolute ball. BTW clientele very multi-nationale ( slovak, russian, irish, danes, dutch germans, tajakis etc) which added to the fun
Top end prices for Saalbach. worth every penny... We will go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel from 3-10 Feb. Had some reservations about the all inclusive - but all doubts dissappeared very quickly. Great hotel, great staff, excellent food. The single beds, pushed together gets a little uncomfortable. Good size room. It is a family hotel, so the kids running around in the dining room can get a bit out of hand. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex accross from the main hotel. Very nice, as it has great views, and its much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpinresort Sport & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinresort Sport & Spa

Address: Skischulstrasse 277, Saalbach-Hinterglemm A-5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinresort Sport & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Escapio, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpinresort Sport & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin-Resort Reiterhof Hotel Saalbach
Alpin Hotel Saalbach
Alpin Hotel Reiterhof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpinresort Sport & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.