We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almrausch

Hotel Almrausch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Almrausch to your Saves list
Hotel Almrausch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 220, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Cluj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is modern and very well located in Hinterglemm, near info point and all the bars/restaurants. The food was excellent (both breakfast and dinner) and the staff very nice. We stayed in June for 4 nights and we had a really good time. The joker card that we have received for our stay was very useful for using the lifts and the swimming pool from Saalbach.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galloway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel is modern, clean and very well run. The meals were excellentf with more variation than we normally get in small Austrian hotels and served by friendly and efficient staff. Our room was large with a balcony over-looking the ski slope behind the hotel and was very well-appointed.
The Hotel is ideally positioned in that the Zwolfer side of the slopes can be accessed directly via the draglift (36) at the side of the Hotel. In additon the Reiterkogel gondola on the other side of the Valley is only a 5 minute walk away (Tip - If carrying skis use the Reiterkogel Car Park lift for access to the gondola station) and the Ski and Post bus stop is again only 5 minutes walk away.
The only down-side is the lack of a seated lounge area to relax in after the evening meal. One can sit in the very small and usually crowded bar area where smoking seems to be permitted. Contractually, we were disappointed that the free afternoon snack was again delicious but attracted a charge for tea or coffee as we found out only when paying our bill. This issue needs to be addressed by the management.
Overall view is that the Hotel is very good value and would be our first choice for a return visit.

Room Tip: The lift is very efficient so it does not matter what floor you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the end of Feb 2013, which was great weather for the slopes. The hotel was very comfortable with modern and clean rooms. There wasn't much noise at night, so we could get plenty of sleep and be ready for the next day of snow!

The food was delicious every night, however it would have been better if it had been more authentically Austrian food. But you can't knock good food! The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially with food allergies. The dinner staff changed about midway through the week, so we did have to let the fresh staff know again. The drinks were very reasonably priced, especially for a hotel bar. Breakfast was just what you would expect - great tasting bread, meat and cheese! Cereals, yoghurts, pastries, eggs and bacon were also available as well as a coffee machine, a selection of tea and fruit juices.

The ski-room is great, especially the heated boot racks. The room is secure and only accessible from inside or outside the hotel with a room key. This put our minds at ease that our equipment was safe. Be aware that there is only enough space for 6 snowboards to hang on the wall, so if you come back later in the day you may need to find an empty corner to lean your board against. Most of the other boarders seemed unable to use the rack properly, so most of the time I had to re-arrange the boards to fit a full 6 in.

The wellness area is good, but after being harshly reprimanded by another guest for wearing shoes and clothing I didn't venture back. Maybe a sign on the door to say no shoes would be a good idea.

The location of the hotel is pretty good. There's a beginner slope with a T-Bar right outside, which is good for a warm up each morning. You can ski to some of the other main lifts on the same side of the valley from there, but it's a pretty flat traverse from the top of the T-Bar. I preferred to just walk about 5 minutes to the Reiterkogelbahn on the other side of the valley. There is also a free skibus which stops very close to the hotel, but we only had to get it back to the hotel once.

The Skicircus is a fantastic resort with varied terrain and something for every level of skier/boarder. I found that the grading was a little on the harder side (some blues should be reds and some reds should be blacks), which made it difficult to know which runs would be within my skill range. There is a lot of terrain to cover and in a week it was impossible for me to go everywhere. There were also some routes I'd like to have done again, but there wasn't enough time without sacrificing other runs that I hadn't covered.

I'd love to come back to Hinterglamm and I would stay at the Almrausch again, but there are too many other resorts to visit. Maybe one day...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having spent 2 weeks in this hotel in January 2012, it was our number one choice to revisit when we returned - again for 2 weeks - in January 2013. And we fully intend to return for another 2 weeks in January 2014!

The hotel is family run, and all the Staff - from the owner (Karl) right down to the waiters - were very welcoming and simply couldn't do enough for you. The location is perfect as it is right next door to the Bergfreid T-Bar lift (ski-in and out) and literally a 2 min walk from the very centre of the town and the 2 major Gondolas. The rooms are immaculate and perfectly set-up for skiers/snowboarders and decorated to a very high standard with new Sony Bravia TVs and free unlimited wi-fi. A safe is also provided in your room - free of charge. Most of the rooms have balconies - which was great for keeping my cold-pak frozen (poorly knee)!!

There is a secure Ski/Snowboard room with heated bars and rails for all your kit and you can only access this room with a bedroom keycard. Next to the Ski room there is relaxing spa room comprising of a steam room, 2 x saunas (set at different temperatures), an infra-red cabin, a 'chill-out' (quiet) area with relaxing beds and showers. There is also free teas and fresh juice and water laid on throughout the day. There is also a small room with a water 'massage bed' and massage chair and lastly there's a cross-trainer provided for those with something still left in their legs at the end of the day!

Then we have the food - wow! The food is really something else! From experience - I would rate the food at this hotel in the 4 - 5 star range.....and you can each as much as you like! You are generally given the same table every day and the waiters make a point of getting to know your names and favourite drinks and really go out of their way to make sure you get exactly what you want - how you want it! In sum - outstanding food and excellent service!!

One of my favourite hotels and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: UK hotels usually provide tea/coffee facilities in your room and often a fridge. The Almrausch provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just stayed in Hotel Almrausch for a week (through Crystal) and thought it was brilliant. We were a group of seven and had three bedrooms. They were clean and fresh with comfortable beds and a settee which doubled as a third bed if required. There was a balcony which overlooked either the main street or other buildings and adjacent piste, depending on which side of the building the bedroom was on. It really was very nice.

The food and service was the real highlight of the hotel. We had the same table each night and the staff could not have been more attentive. They remembered who had paid for the previous round of drinks so we could share the bill between the rooms, they facilitated dietary requirements and made us feel welcome. The food itself was lovely: a tasty and varied salad bar followed by soup, a choice of main courses, desert and cheese. On a couple of nights there was a buffet which was also excellent. Breakfast was good too.

There was a lovely spa area with steam room, two saunas at different temperatures, an infrared cabin, showers, tea bar and chill-out area. There was a room with a massage bed and chair, exercise and cross-trainer.

The only thing missing was a lounge area, but the dining room made up for it. There was no competition for tables and we could sit after meals as long as we wanted without being rushed. At other times there was a small bar area which was comfortable and sociable.

The nearest lift is immediately adjacent to the hotel. (Number 36 on the piste map.) It's a t-bar on a blue run which is not suitable for complete novices but ok for those who can snow-plough. From the top it's possible to ski to the bottom of the U-bahn (38) where a lot of lessons begin, or link to the bottom of the Zwolferkogelbahn. The Reiterkogelbahn - the gondola to the other side of the valley is a five minute walk up the street.

Tip:
Hire skis from Snow & Fun, not Gumpold; the service is much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have just come back from a week staying at this hotel right in the centre of Hinterglemm. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food was very good, buffets some nights and a choice of mains for the other meals. Breakfast is typical for Austria but very plentiful with all manner of breads, meats and cheese etc. There is also a hot option of eggs (however you like) and bacon. An afternoon snack of cakes was available, but we were always down too late from skiing and apres drinks to partake. On the lower floor is the ski and boot room which, is worth knowing is secure, via using your electronic room key. When you get outside of the boot room the closest thing is the Bergfried T bar lift. It is literally 4 paces away. There you can buy lift passes, but you can also buy them from the Hotel reception. When you do buy your lift pass, you can ski after 3pm the day before for free!. Perfect for us as we arrived on Saturday at 2pm. At the top of the Bergfried T bar you can ski across to the main area in a couple of minutes. The lifts (ReiterKogelbahn) on the other side of the valley are still only 5 mins walk from the hotel. Night skiing till 9.30pm is on every night except Sunday!
The rooms are large and whilst some have balconies ours didn't. Ours was on the main street side with views of the ski area. There is no traffic noise as the windows are super efficient. The room style is modern with smart furnishings. There is no bath but a fantastic double size walk in shower. The room safe is built into one of the cupboards and is free as you would expect for a hotel of this quality.
Also on the lower floor is a Wellness suite with Sauna, Steam and IR rooms. Complimentary slippers and dressing gowns were available as were fruit juices and a selection of teas. The icing on the cake would have been a swimming pool but then the price would have shot up.
This hotel is in a perfect position, has superb food, friendly staff, excellent value for money, lovely rooms but most of all, with it being brand new it is also IMMACULATE. The staff work hard to keep it clean and tidy. They got a good tip at the end of the week !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Everything about this hotel is fab.

It's right next to a T bar lift taking you up to join the main area, and you get to ski back to your door and close enough to town to walk in.

The rooms are nicely decorated and modern, with flat screen TV.

The food is excellent, equivalent to a top notch restauarant in the UK and they cater well for veggies too.

It's run by a familywho are very helpful and welcoming. We were there over Christmas and it was the perfect place to be. There weren't too many people (they all arrived just after) and the family made it really special, with a Christmas menu, and made you feel part of the family.

The ski room is fine and much more spacious than most, with proper heated racks.

There's a lovely relaxing sauna/wellness area, perfect for easing those aching muscles.

Overall, it represents excellent value for money and we're heading straight back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the smaller ones have a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Almrausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almrausch

Address: Dorfstrasse 220, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almrausch 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Almrausch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almrausch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.