We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 01-08 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Penhab

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Penhab
Schwarzacherweg 145, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“April 01-08 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a super week with Matt and Annie (so funny that people mention them rather than the Pension itself in the reviews) - they do really make you feel like you are guests in their home. Our room was spacious warm and the shower hot! The honesty bar genius. Sadly we didnt have the best snow conditions which made negotiating the runs (a lot of them were closed) and resort a bit of a challenge but we knew were were risking this skiing so late in the season. I would highly reccommend this chalet to anyone thinking of making a booking. The two most genuine people you will ever meet - so perfectly suited to taking care of you in what is, for most, their most favourite week of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Penhab, part of a three generation family group. Mat and Annie could not have made our stay better, the Pension is cosy and friendly, Mat's cooking is excellent. The three children in our group, aged between 4 and 7, felt at home and the situation is perfect for easy access to ski school and all the lifts. We can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

just back from my visit to hinterglemm and we were there on a student organised trip called BUSC anyway, Mat welcomed with shots and a warm and friendly outllok for the week, the breakfast was extensive and there was the option of sensational smelling meals! Mat is a chef you see. More than anything going to stay with mat and Annie felt like staying with friends we were free to chill out as we liked the honesty bar was a nice relaxed way to get to know mat and Annie and include them in the fun and more than anything nothing was too much trouble. Due to an early race day we asked for some earlier cereal than normal but they out of sheer kindness did a full breakfast which was so much appreciated!
Mat and Annie are the loveliest and most ideal couple you could ever think of to own a B7B they work hard and definitely enjoy their life just as much, they truly are living the dream and they love nothing more than sharing a week of it with you!!
CANNOT RECOMMEND ANYWHERE MORE!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely ground floor however have been newly renovated and are rather pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I stayed at Penhab during the third week of Februar.
Very nice was the bill I had to pay for the ski rental. Not only did the hireguys came to Penhab, the price was a lot cheaper then the hiring companies at Hinterglemm.
Penhab is perfectly situated, very close to the slopes. You can make the choise to ski on the leftside or ont the rightside (very sunny if it shines) of the Skicircus Hinterglemm.
After a day on the mountain, nothing is better then a well cooked home meal. That is what Matt and Annie have for you,
All fresh and with great variety. Beware of the desserts; they're too good. Look out when Matt makes his Apple strudl. Once you take a bite, you're hooked for life!!!

Without a doubt in my mind, I'll be back next year.

Annie and Matt, thank you again for your hospitality and kindness.

See you guys next year!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytchett Matravers
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Have just returned (reluctantly) from a weeks skiing in Hinterglemm staying at Penhab. This is my third time at Pension Penhab. This time I went with a party consisting of my mother and father, sister and her family and me with two of my children. All had a great time. Matt and Annie, as usual, were so friendly and helpful, the Pension was very well kept and Matt's reworked menu went down very well with everyone. He even did an early tea for the younger children and a favorite pudding from last year as requested by my son; could not have done more to make our stay a great one. We have booked again for next year. The Pension and its fabulous location is perfect for us, it is relaxed enough for us not to have to worry too much about the children disrupting other guests, the renovations completed so far are looking good (the non-renovated rooms are also fine, just not with the finish of the re-done ones); I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Thanks again Matt and Annie for a wonderful week; looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

A group of us went to the Penhab Jan 2012 for the first time. This small chalet is run by Matt and Annie. They were friendly and helpful. They arranged for our rental of skis and boots at a very reasonable price.The chalet and rooms were clean and the food delicious. There was a reasonably priced bar where we were able to sit and mull over the day. We were not charged any extra for single rooms. The location of the chalet could not have been better. Almost on the doorstep were nursery slopes, lifts, moonlight skiing, apres ski bar, shops and town. We could not have wanted for more and will certainly want to be going back there. Thanks Matt and Annie for a fantastic week.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just returned from another fantastic week at Pension Penhab!! This was my 4th trip there and as always I am itching to go back! Matt & Annie are fantastic and the service provided by them and the staff is excellent. The rooms are cosy and clean, the bar well stocked :) and Matt's cooking sublime!! close to the party atmosphere but still a nice quiet area and only a few steps from the slopes. Great value and a great time always had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Penhab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Penhab

Address: Schwarzacherweg 145, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Penhab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Penhab to your Saves list