We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Immaculately Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Central
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Unterdorf 215, Saalbach-Hinterglemm A-5753, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value & Immaculately Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just arrived back from a week at hotel central. This hotel is very basic but great value for money. Staff were very nice and rooms were very clean and comfortable. For the price I can't fault this place.

There is a loud bar under the hotel but on the second floor we had no issue with it. In fact it was a lot of fun and had some beers in there. I didn't hear anyone complain about it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were looking for a 'value' holiday to a good resort and staying at the Hotel Central offered us this. The hotel is clean and functional, offering a buffet breakfast (standard continental) - other meals are easy to find as the hotel is very central and not far from anything else in town.

3 of us (adult friends) stayed in a 3-4 person room which was fine, but I wouldn't have been happy if there were 4 of us (2 singles, 1 double sofa bed). The 'room' is divided into a 'bedroom' with the Austrian twin (2xsingles stuck together) with an ensuite bathroom and a second room with TV, sofa bed, balcony. Plenty of storage space too, so altogether I would recommend if you aren't looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms for 3-4 people are fine if you're good friends / family, but there is little privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Hotel Central is well-situated and close to all amenities. We had a pleasant stay - the rooms are spotlessly clean, as well as comfortable (great pillows!). However, the standard double rooms are very small. Be sure to reserve one of the larger rooms with a balcony and extra bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Found the rooms and location first class and the staff friendly. Breakfast was continental style but very nice. Rooms were modern and cleaned daily. Bar downstairs was open late and seemed to be an exclusive haunt of local Danish expats. You can hear the music late but it's not intrusive especially if you enjoy the skiing and après ski as much as we did.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Hotel Central in Saalbach was basic and clean and no problem at all. I'm a light sleeper and our room was directly above the UnderBar and even the smokers were beneath our windows but I still had no problem with noise disturbance, just background muffled sound. Staff polite, friendly and helpful and Bobby's Bar across the road was a hoot! The Hotel is close to all lifts and slopes. Saalbach itself was wonderful, it's lively, fun and we are thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Something for all ages.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Room was in good condition, rather small, and a little chilly.
Noise was not an issue, there was a little noise from the street occasionally but neither of us needed to use our earplugs.
Basic breakfast, filling and tasty, but a bit monotonous by day 6 :)
Ideally situated for the Saalbach lifts and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hotel has clean and tidy rooms. We looked in the under bar one night but did not bother. We slept wih ear plugs in due to the noise from the music every night..
We would have liked a change at breakfast eggs would have been good.
Close to the lifts.

The underbar smokers were stood outside the hotel when we returned in the evening. There is only one door in for the hotel and the bar.
It's not a hotel I would return to as in the village there are some lovely hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Unterdorf 215, Saalbach-Hinterglemm A-5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.