We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neuhaus Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neuhaus Superior to your Saves list
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberdorf 38, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my second visit to the Neuhaus (this time in a family party of 19 and previously in a small party of 4) and once again they came up with the goods. The reception staff were friendly, courteous and efficient and although we actually made 3 separate bookings they quickly realised that we were one party and, without us asking, made sure that our dinner tables were all placed together in the restaurant.

Our room was very nicely appointed and comfortable as were the others that I saw. The rest of the hotel is very clean, well laid out and tastefully decorated. There is a nice comfortable bar area leading into the large restaurant which is divided up into a number of different sized and styled rooms. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the five course evening meals, with usually 3 choices of main course, were excellent. If you weren’t up to 5 courses there was a light alternative which I didn’t discover until the second to last day!

My favourite part of the hotel however was the beautiful swimming pool which I visited every morning and was fortunate enough to be the only person there! The rest of the spar including the relaxation room and gym looked good too. There are robes, slippers and spar towels provided in the room.

I was glad to see that they had extended the wireless network to the whole of the hotel and did not charge for it.

The Neuhaus is very well placed in the main (pedestrian) street within easy strolling distance of the ski lifts, bars and other restaurants.

Our visit coincided with the last week of the winter season and so the hotel was pretty empty. However everything in the hotel was delivered with as much efficiency and good grace as when I visited it before in mid season.

Unfortunately I can’t say that about the rest of Saalbach which was virtually a ghost town, with only two après ski bars and one late night bar open in the whole of the resort! All of the lifts and runs were open but every one of the ‘on piste’ umbrella and après ski bars was well and truly closed.

So if you want a fun, lively time don’t go to Saalbach at the end of the season, however if you want empty pistes (albeit rather slushy on the lower slopes in the afternoon), no lift queues and are not worried about the après ski fun, then this is a good time to go.

Room Tip: When I visited in mid season the lower rooms at the front were rather noisy a) from the nightlife in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Mass.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of Saalbach village, only a few steps from one of the gondolas. It is in excellent condition with modern rooms that are clean and comfortable. The spa facilities are excellent after a day of skiing, whether you want to steam or sauna and the upstairs "quiet" rooms are fantastic. However, the hot tub could be hotter. The downstairs bar and restaurant are excellent as well. The breakfast buffet offers too many delicious choices and dinner every night was superb. Street noise can be an issue if you leave windows open, which was usually needed due to rooms being too warm. But on the whole it was a top notch experience.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the street if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel is in a good location right in the center of the village, near multiple lifts. The rooms are comfortable, although the maid service is just ok.Within walking distance to many bars and restaurants and near connections to bus routes. Nice spa and very good chef.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our party of 10, including sister and partner, son and fiancé,husband and 4 teenagers stayed here in February, on arrival the reception did not know anything of the larger room which my sister had paid extra for, they were just handing out any keys to any of our group, communications were difficult . As there was a family room booked for the teenagers it was important the right room were given to the right people. (also not all rooms have baths)

The hotel was very clean with maid service every day in the rooms which was excellent. The food was also very good, however in the morning between 0745 and 0820 the busiest time of the day only one lady was on omelette and fried egg cooking duty, hence you could wait 20 mins for the only hot breakfast offering and in doing so would therefore miss the first bus to the gondola.
The bar area is very nice with a duo singing every night.
The hotel is in a super location and on the bus route to the gondola,
The pool area is excellent, which our teenagers enjoyed immensely.
I would defiinitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't bother waiting for the omelettes in the morning, if you miss the first bus the que for gon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardufoss, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed with 2 families at this very nice, but pretty expensive, hotel in centre of Saalbach for 5 nights. The hotel is within walking distance of the 3 major lifts (gondols) in Saalbach. Excellent spa with a great silence-department (that nobody seemed to know about).
We enjoyed a half-board that was really great, nice selection at breakfast and 5-6 course dinner in the evening. The two 12 year olds cold even choose if they wanted the children's menu or go for the 5 course.
Some minor issues; even with a no-smoking room you feel the old smoke in the walls.... The waiter we had the first 3 days was really great, thereafter the standard of the service fell significantly. Also be aware of the noise from the neighboring pubs until 03-04:00 in the morning....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Awesome location, steps from most of the lifts. Great amenities - beautiful pool, sauna, hot tub, and relaxation areas. Great food and super friendly and helpful service. I would recommend getting a room on a high floor or towards the back of the hotel, as apparently it can be loud at night. We got a fantastic upgrade to a suite. Would happily come back here anytime. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend from the 31st Jan to the 4th Feb 2013. When we arrived we were greeted by two ladies who instantly made us feel so welcome and were expecting us so knew how long we were staying, which room we had etc which was lovely.

Check in was very easy, we were able to arrange lift passes at reception, car parking and even got a discount voucher for ski rental which was literally 3 buildings down. The ski store room was just off reception and had plenty of space for all the guests.

The room we had was right next to the spa and was very comfortable and spacious, plenty of storage space for 2 of us and a lovely bathroom. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels so couldn't have asked for more really.

We only visited the spa once as we were there to ski but it was very relaxing around the pool area although the pool was a bit too cold for me so didn't swim. Loved the sauna and steam room though!!

Onto the food... We had breakfast either in the restaurant or in our room and it was always very good. Fruits, cereals, pastries, cooked food, juices, coffee etc. Plenty of it and always very tasty. In the evening the food was brilliant, every night we had salad, small starter, soup, main and dessert. The group we were with all love food and every night were all very impressed with the quality.

The staff were always so helpful and friendly and given neither of us spoke any German it was not a problem at all as they all had brilliant English (it put us to shame that we didn't know any of their language!)

The hotel is very well kept with a lovely bar area and you can tell it is family run as it has a very nice feel and they really do care that you have a fantastic stay.

On the day we left, our car was covered in snow and there was no way we could get it out of the car park. We had a flight to catch so asked at reception if there was anyone to help. Within minutes a gentleman arrived and took us to the car park with shovels, brushes etc and helped us clear our car so we could get to the airport. The effort they went to to help us catch our flight was incredible.

Saalbach is very pretty and the skiing was brilliant. We would love to go back again next year to ski around the same time and would also like to visit again in the summer. I don't think we would even bother to look at any other hotels in the area as this one was just perfect!

Thank you to all the staff who looked after us :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#14 of 73 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#6 of 73 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eva Hotel Village
Eva Hotel Village
#11 of 73 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alpin Juwel
Alpin Juwel
#16 of 73 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#18 of 73 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#26 of 73 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neuhaus Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neuhaus Superior

Address: Oberdorf 38, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Neuhaus Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a mixture of timeless classic and design. With loving attention to detail we offer you a holiday-home with a maximum of geniality and a comfortable, distinctive atmosphere. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Saalbach, just a few steps away from the entrance to the Skicircus and is promising INFINITE HOLIDAY with 4****SUPERIOR LUXERY. You can taste quality- that is why freshness and working with prime products has top priority in our kitchen. Enjoy our "Cuisine de Pinzgau". Our new-built suites are offering the ultimate sleeping-comfort - a very superior hideaway furnished with JOKA Boxspringbeds and triple glazing windows to ensure a fit and active start in the day after a restful night. The exclusive spa and wellness area with over 1000m² is inviting you to relax in the warm Jacuzzi, extensive visit in the sauna or a spoiling beauty treatment. Feel the pure satisfaction and give body and soul a little time out. The family-owned 4 star superior hotel is standing for perfect service and the wish to make the most valuable days of the year unforgettable to the guests. One single thought will come in mind: "May this holiday last forever" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Neuhaus Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neuhaus Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.