We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in centre of Saalbach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neuhaus Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neuhaus Superior to your Saves list
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberdorf 38, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Bardufoss, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in centre of Saalbach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed with 2 families at this very nice, but pretty expensive, hotel in centre of Saalbach for 5 nights. The hotel is within walking distance of the 3 major lifts (gondols) in Saalbach. Excellent spa with a great silence-department (that nobody seemed to know about).
We enjoyed a half-board that was really great, nice selection at breakfast and 5-6 course dinner in the evening. The two 12 year olds cold even choose if they wanted the children's menu or go for the 5 course.
Some minor issues; even with a no-smoking room you feel the old smoke in the walls.... The waiter we had the first 3 days was really great, thereafter the standard of the service fell significantly. Also be aware of the noise from the neighboring pubs until 03-04:00 in the morning....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Awesome location, steps from most of the lifts. Great amenities - beautiful pool, sauna, hot tub, and relaxation areas. Great food and super friendly and helpful service. I would recommend getting a room on a high floor or towards the back of the hotel, as apparently it can be loud at night. We got a fantastic upgrade to a suite. Would happily come back here anytime. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend from the 31st Jan to the 4th Feb 2013. When we arrived we were greeted by two ladies who instantly made us feel so welcome and were expecting us so knew how long we were staying, which room we had etc which was lovely.

Check in was very easy, we were able to arrange lift passes at reception, car parking and even got a discount voucher for ski rental which was literally 3 buildings down. The ski store room was just off reception and had plenty of space for all the guests.

The room we had was right next to the spa and was very comfortable and spacious, plenty of storage space for 2 of us and a lovely bathroom. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels so couldn't have asked for more really.

We only visited the spa once as we were there to ski but it was very relaxing around the pool area although the pool was a bit too cold for me so didn't swim. Loved the sauna and steam room though!!

Onto the food... We had breakfast either in the restaurant or in our room and it was always very good. Fruits, cereals, pastries, cooked food, juices, coffee etc. Plenty of it and always very tasty. In the evening the food was brilliant, every night we had salad, small starter, soup, main and dessert. The group we were with all love food and every night were all very impressed with the quality.

The staff were always so helpful and friendly and given neither of us spoke any German it was not a problem at all as they all had brilliant English (it put us to shame that we didn't know any of their language!)

The hotel is very well kept with a lovely bar area and you can tell it is family run as it has a very nice feel and they really do care that you have a fantastic stay.

On the day we left, our car was covered in snow and there was no way we could get it out of the car park. We had a flight to catch so asked at reception if there was anyone to help. Within minutes a gentleman arrived and took us to the car park with shovels, brushes etc and helped us clear our car so we could get to the airport. The effort they went to to help us catch our flight was incredible.

Saalbach is very pretty and the skiing was brilliant. We would love to go back again next year to ski around the same time and would also like to visit again in the summer. I don't think we would even bother to look at any other hotels in the area as this one was just perfect!

Thank you to all the staff who looked after us :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Recently returned from Hotel Neuhaus in Saalbach, good points are its location, food and spa.
Its within walking distance of 5 ski lifts and is centrally located in Saalbach's main street, the ski school is next door and a really good 'après ski bar' opposite (Eva Alm).

The hotel is clean with some parts modern and others in a more traditional Austrian style, we were in a rear facing family suite on the 5th floor which was quiet, main beds were ok but pillows the usual euro feather sacks that don't work, the sofa bed was made of rock so my daughter asked for a mattress pad which arrived promptly, there is a safe, mini-bar and TV (limited English telly but not here for that).

Restaurant was good, staff nice, polite and helpful if a bit overworked, the adults food was very good however the children's meals were really geared for 5 year olds (we had a 10,12 and 13 year old with us), there simply isn't enough food for them (one night 3 chicken nuggets and mash !) after a full days skiing they're hungry !. The bar is nice for pre-dinner drinks, cards etc, although a little smokey (as they all are in Austria)

The spa is new and has a good size pool (if a little cold) a Jacuzzi that sits about 8 and an adults only steam/sauna area, it also has a full treatment/massage area, my wife had a massage and said it was v-good, there is also a good relaxation area upstairs with swinging chairs.

WARNING: if you are planning to go over Christmas and new year be prepared for a Russian/Ukraine onslaught, they take over the 4 and 5 star hotels in Saalbach/Hinterglemm, they have no regard for the adults/relaxation areas and simply ferry their kids into the steam/saunas/relaxation areas so limited room for anyone else, they will talk in any situation so no real 'relaxation' can be had anywhere in the spa area, I'm sure there are Russian words for 'please', 'thank you' and 'excuse me' however none were evident during our stay (here and elsewhere). We were told at reception that they ignore the staff when they are told to take their kids out, I'm sure there are pleasant well mannered Russians/Ukrainians and I'm well aware that the Brits can be a pain abroad, but not 'en-masse'.

The boot room is in need of a bit of updating, it's a fair size but has antiquated boot warmers that don't dry your boots, no secure lockers and the external door is open to anyone.

The male receptionist (Wears a suit) is pompous and a little dim, he tried to tell me that a 10 euro room service charge for a 9 euro spaghetti was a fair price as the spaghetti was 'cheap'.

Dont let my latter comments put you off, its a good hotel in a great location, we were just unfortunate to be there at such a busy time.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family 5th floor rear facing suites are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Neuhaus has been our home in Austria for every skiing holiday The past 12 years. Great situation right IN The center and next to lifts. Good kitchen and very personal and good service. Great wellness and bars.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were at the Hotel Neuhaus in September 2012 with my family. 2 adults 2 kids 12 and 10 years old. It was a gread vacation in Saalbach. The wellness area is very big and new with a Big pool, jacuzzi, sauna steam bath and a big relaxing area. The food is great with a big variaty.
The Kids enjoed the Hotel and the destiation also. They had their own program with a guid the whole Week, so my wife and I had also some time for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastav, Croatia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have been situated at Apartment house of the Neuhaus hotel Casa nuova.
It's situated near the hotel (cca 1 km). Definitely it's a new house with spacious apartments. Apartments are very well furnished and equipped. I can say one of the best I've seen.
Only problem is that in brochure they stated that you are „directly on the ski slopes“ but that's is not true. You have around 700m to reach the base station of the closes cable car. It's not too much when you walk in sneakers but with skis and ski boots...
Also if you are in the apartment you can't enjoy in the hotel facilities such as free WLAN, swimming pools.
At the end definitely I can recommend Casa nuova

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#13 of 72 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eva Hotel Village
Eva Hotel Village
#11 of 72 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#6 of 72 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#22 of 72 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpin Juwel
Alpin Juwel
#15 of 72 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#16 of 72 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neuhaus Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neuhaus Superior

Address: Oberdorf 38, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Neuhaus Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy Superior hotel in the heart of Saalbach with homelike atmosphere and descreet luxury style. Very good kitchen and service are a matter of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Neuhaus Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neuhaus Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.