We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sporthotel Strass to your Saves list
Sporthotel Strass
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Having visited the hotel for the last 22 years i can't see my family or myself going anywhere else! i
The Hotel Strass has everything you need for a wonderful holiday,helpful staff,clean rooms,and a great menu when it comes to meals.
They can cater with anything from a light snack to a five course meal.
Nothing is a problem for the staff who are always willing to help you with anything that you may need.
It really is a familly run Hotel which is why we alway's return every year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    92
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
123
128
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Fanastic hotel superb location, friendly helpful staff, clean well equipped rooms, great food, excellent facilities.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRURO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and i visited this hotel in may/june.We had the half board deal. The food was excellent,good service and well presented food.During our stay we had a good chioce on the menu and no meals were repeated during our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable.The staff were very helpful and cared for us very well.Many of the guests we met returned there yearly for their holidays.This proves yet again the standard of sevice the hotel gaves.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have stayed many times now at the Sporthotel Strass in Mayrhofen, and once again our week's holiday in June did not disappoint. The facilities are excellent, fitness room, indoor pool, wonderful jacuzzi, tennis, squash etc. There is also a fantastic Wellness area which offers a wide variety of therapies and massages. A must have is the Solebad, a saltwater spa which you can hire for 25 mins. The gardens are relaxing with spectacular view of the surrounding mountains.

The hotel is very well situated for the cable cars and buses. Even those with disabilities can appreciate the mountain views by getting the cable cars up to a viewpoint and have a welcome coffee and apple strudel at the mountain restaurants.

I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are courteous, and the cleanliness of the hotel is superb. The food is always varied and tasty.

We are already booked for 2 weeks September 2011

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heacham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Our experience of this hotel will be very different as we stayed there early May as part of our driving holiday around Germany, Austria and Switzerland - this was clearly just out of the ski season but not yet into the summer season (in fact many places were closed in Mayrhofen).

We had a no problems with any of the staff we encountered. The lady on reception was helpful and spoke English which to us was a bonus. The lady who showed us our choice of two rooms was also helpful and friendly.

Our room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom with bath and shower over; the toilet was a separate room.

We did use the spa though I must have asked the English lady on Reception (again very helpful) half a dozen times if it really was "naked only" - it is and to be honest it was no big deal anyway and the actual spa facilities were excellent. Yes we needed paperwork and yes we needed a Euro for the locker.

Breakfast was really good, we had a great choice.

All in all a very pleasant stay but as I mentioned - we went out of season - and I think that would make a huge difference given some of the reviews I have just read about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed in the Strass Hotel at the end of March. Our room was very spacious with lots of storage space, good bathroom, and as we were at the back of the hotel it was also very quite. Breakfast and dinner were excellent with plenty of choice. We didn't use the spa area so can't comment on it but it was nice to know it was there if we had wanted it. It's located right next to the Penken lift and only about a five minute walk to the Ahorn lift. The ski bus stops outside and if we got the timing wrong for the Penken and the queue had built up we just took the ski bus to one of the other access points.

We've been to Maryrhofen before and the skiing area is excellent - as we were so late in the season it was really spring conditions - icy early in the morning and heavy in the afternoon -the best skiing was in the middle of the day so we had a late breakfast, quick drink and snack at lunch time and finished early. The town itself is very lively with lots to do if you fancy an afternoon off the slopes. We're not into the late night apres ski scene that Mayrhofen is noted for but like most of the Austrian resorts the best apres ski is in the bars at the end of the afternoon before you return to your hotels for dinner.

I think the Strass is an ideal hotel for a ski hotel - comfortable rooms, not too formal atmosphere, and perfectly located for access to the lifts. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Mayrhofen.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Strass Hotel in Mayhofen is actually a complex of several hotels of various medium to high quality (and price ranges), all catering to the winter sky tourists; this report is about the Strass Hotel, where we stayed most of the time there.

The rooms in Strass are comfortable and fairly new, with shower and toilette, a very comfortable bed, plenty of cupboards and drawers, a small safe in one of the cupboards, everything being spotlessly clean. The rooms that we stayed had a nice balcony, looking over the cable car station and a beautiful view of the Alps on one side; on the other side there is the view of the entrance to the cable car - interesting during the first day and becoming a kind of nuisance from day two.

On same side of the hotel, at the ground floor, there is the local after-ski pub, part of the hotel. Between 16:00 and 21:00 hours, the pub puts on a good and unbelievably loud music. Our first room there was on the first floor, with the floor, the walls, and practically everything shaking at the rhythm of the music and making the stay in the room during these hours absolutely impossible. We implored to move and after several attempts, succeeded. The other room was on the same side, but on the last (fourth) floor and farer away from the pub; during the music time, the noise was somehow tolerable for music lovers like us, but for others it might definitely not be. Furthermore, during the evening, youngsters gather around the pub entrance, and so do several taxis and buses, but their noise is somehow more bearable.

The hotels share several dinner rooms and parking lots; the dinner room has a nice touch: each guest is assigned a table. Our deal included breakfast and half board, both very nice, even for connoisseurs like us. The only remark is about the local house wine (extra payment), which is of poor quality and quite expensive.

The hotel has also a SPA and a sauna, but we didn’t use them. The Internet access is available only in part of the lobby area and quite expensive (2 Euro per half hour). The rooms are also supposed to have Internet access (at same price), but all my attempts to operate it failed, so every time I wanted to check my mail, I had to put my clothes on, and to schlep myself and my laptop to the lobby to join the other Internet addicts; the management ought to do something about it. Another minor hitch has to do with the elevators: there is only one such elevator for each block of rooms, used also by the hotel staff, and sometimes the waiting is maddening, especially during the "rush hours".

Otherwise the hotel is nice and while the regular prices are quite stiff, our deal was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sporthotel Strass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.