We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sporthotel Strass to your Saves list
Sporthotel Strass
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Normally we visit Mayrhofen only for skiing, last winter we decided to plan a summer trip as well. Mayrhofen during summertime is great! We fully planned our 2 weeks with outdoor activities. 4 days of paragliding, how exciting! A few hike tours (Ahorn, Zillergrund, Ginzling), 1 day of rafting, 1 day of canyoning and 3 times we went to the golf course in Fügen. Seems a busy scheme, but we came back totally relaxed. Reset your mind in nature. During our stay we for sure enjoyed the common luxury of Hotel Strass: nice spacey rooms, good food, perfect wellness facilities, friendly staff. It felt like coming home. For the skiers: also visit Mayrhofen in summer, you will most definitely love it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    120
    46
    20
    11
See reviews for
150
147
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Sadly arrived home from a long awaited return to the Sporthotel Strass at the weekend. A family holiday 5 years in the planning, and everything that could be organised went fine – it was just the weather that let things down a bit, and that was only in the first week.

The hotel was fantastic – the revamp to the lobby and reception area was a welcome change. The friendly reception from every member of staff we met was fantastic; Jovo and Christian, (our waiter and the head waiter from our previous visit in 2009) remembered us, and Zoran and Viktoria, who looked after us in the dining room, were great all holiday.

The room (a Junior Suite) was on the 4th floor, and was perfect for the four of us (me, my wife, and kids aged 4 and 8). The only minor issue was a balcony that didn’t get the sun as it was north facing, but the view up the valley was fantastic, and I am sure that if I had requested a change of room there would not have been a problem as the hotel staff try to accommodate everything!

I have read a recent review that criticised the food – the only thing I could criticize was that it was so good, and plentiful, that I put on too much weight this holiday. The breakfast buffet is so varied, with choices of fruit salad, ham and cheese, bread (of many different kinds), yogurts, cereals, hot sausages, bacon, and scrambled or boiled eggs on offer – and the waiters will try and assist if what you want is not there, as I saw someone get a poached egg made to order!
Equally, the evening meal is a full five course menu. A very varied salad buffet, a starter, then a soup, then a choice of three different main courses, and a dessert! My 8 year old boy, who used to be a fussy eater, managed to have the full five courses most nights, unless there a starter or soup he didn’t fancy. He seems to have grown an inch taller (while I am a couple of inches wider!).

Add into this the free afternoon cake, which was usually fantastic, and you can see why the hotel rightly prides itself on the food that it offers.

The hotel is situated in an ideal position, right next to the Penkenbahn cable car station, and a short walk from the station for the Ahorn mountain. There is a Spar supermarket opposite the hotel, and a superb butchers just up the street, all very reasonable priced.

I would like to add that the hotel is really good for families with young children – the staff go out of their way to make the holiday special for them, there is plenty for them to do in the hotel (although the games room/children’s play room could do with an update, if I am being really picky) and around Mayrhofen with play areas galore!

I didn’t get to try out the spa area, but the two swimming pools were very pleasant, and didn’t get too crowded even during rainy days.

I honestly could not praise the hotel any higher. Even despite the weather, we had a brilliant stay, and did not want to come home. I would go back tomorrow if I could afford it, but sadly we will have to wait a few years until we return again.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have the sun, but all the rooms on the higher floors have good views. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have now been here with our family three times and it delivers every time. It is a great central base for all the summer activities in and around Mayrhofen, there is lots to do in the hotel itself, the gardens are a relaxing place to read a book on a summer's afternoon, and the food is always reliable and interesting.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just returned from our usual holiday to Mayrhofen, Austria,
We stayed in our usual Hotel Strass, and found nothing has changed much .
The rooms were spotless as usual (even with the amount of people using them)
The meals were superb and beautifully presented
The entertainment is not to be missed. The dancing stars evening involves a mixture of traditional Austrian and modern dance, you can even join in if you like (and many do)
There is also a talent night where various members of the staff entertain you with songs and again you are welcome to try your hand at this as well, you don't have to be a good singer just join in with the fun, Who knows you may even win!!
All the staff are very pleasant and helpful.
So with this in mind Nothing Has Changed it is still what I consider to be the best Hotel in the Tyrol and we will be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked this hotel as it was (at the time of booking, at least) rank #3 on TripAdvisor for Mayrhofen (#1 and #2 were fully-booked for our dates). I shudder to think how bad the other hotels must be.

It was not cheap: €184 a night for off-season (summer) so I expected something towards the upper end of four-star. My experience was more like one-star service, low-three star facilities (except the spa, which is low-four star) and a bad neck and back from one of the least comfortable mattresses ever.

Arrival and check-in: there was no-one available to help us bring our luggage out of the taxi, so we had to carry it in ourselves. There was only one person on the reception desk and all they said upon check-in was that we were expected hours before. No welcome, no did you have a good journey. No smiles (a theme to which I will return). We had to ask for a bellboy to come and take our luggage as it was not offered.

The room: Our room (Panorama suite on the 4th floor) was small and dark, but adequate for our purposes (a base for hiking). The decor (to the extent there was one!) was 'tired'. I've spent less on a smaller room in central Paris or London. When we arrived, there was dust on some of the shelves and the decor was tired. The area around the shower was dirty and my wife wanted to move, but I cleaned it myself as I did not want to have to go down to reception.

The bed was particularly uncomfortable, having a very thin foam mattress. We did not sleep well the entire week. There was also two singles joined together, with some kind of wood bar in the middle. Not exactly conducive for a romantic getaway...

The restaurant food was pretty revolting. We were on half board but after taking a look at the menu decided to eat out (not that food in Mayrhofen is one of the highlights). When we went down for breakfast our waiter admonished us for not turning up for dinner! When we asked for for that evening's menu, he informed us we had to make a choice of food the night before but that he would make an exception on this occasion. He gave us a menu in German as he said there were none available in English and then spent the next ten minutes making an utter hash of translating it. During that time my wife wandered off to an adjacent table and picked up an English menu, which was so unappetizing, we didn't bother going back again. Breakfast was very very basic. The eggs could have been launched from a cannon and there was little, if any, evidence of service.

The spa was a bit better, although they charged us for bringing in guests only for us to find out that the guests were unable to use the vast majority of the facilities. The grounds were 'functional' but certainly not what you'd expect from a proper four-star hotel.

We had a problem with the booking. The hotel thought we were moving out a day earlier than we did. It may have been a computer error (as my emails clearly stated the days I wanted) but irrespective of whose fault it was, the hotel staff were just plain nasty about the whole thing. Rather than offering us a room for an extra night (which we would have been happy to pay for), they were unhelpful, unfriendly, rigid and rude.

Overall, that summarises the entire hotel stay. I don't know if it's an Austrian thing or just the bad luck we had with our hotel, but we're never going back and recommend other TripAdvisor customers don't either.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariaantonette, Manager at Sporthotel Strass, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Many thanks for selecting FUN & SPA HOTEL STRASS and Mayrhofen as a summer holiday destination.
We are surprised and shocked at the description of our very sought after hotel to point beyond recognition. We do not accept stated issues as valid for the following reasons:-

We are proud and happy to be in receipt of ‘Awards of Excellence’ from International Tour Operators and other organisations to include Trip Adviser and Holiday Check. In receipt of many, many appreciation and gratitude letters from satisfied clients of all nationalities and generations.
The hotel is normally in full capacity from ever returning and new clients, enjoying all category spacious and comfortable rooms, varied and sumptuous Menus from highly qualified and professional Kitchen, Wellness and Beauty facilities/ treatments and therapists, fun and amusing entertainment program and not forgetting our ever attentive and friendly Personnel teams of all departments.

We have in our possession all direct correspondence regarding this reservation (brought to the guests attention and shown to him during his stay) clearly indicating his requested arrival and departure date, his requested room preference of Panorama suite – not at €184 but at a very competitive €92 Per person per night on Half-board basis to include an extensive warm buffet breakfast, afternoon homemade cake, a 4 course evening meal with choice of 3 main courses one of which always Vegetarian and an ever available salad Buffet. All requests were met, granted and allocated precisely according to the guests wishes as specified in his email instruction to our reservation department.

We do not accept the comparison of Mayrhofen with central London or Paris, although both wonderful cities, are busy stressful cosmopolitan cities from which a vast number of our guests escape for a beautiful and Harmonic Alpine, Tyrolean holiday here in Mayrhofen.

We do not accept the issue regarding Mattresses - as we offer 3 Mattress categories on request.

We do not accept the issue regarding restaurant food as he did not select/consume/sample a single meal on any evening in any of our dining rooms but chose insult with description of ‘Pretty revolting food’ most offensive to the point where we have sought legal advice and will act upon it.

We do not accept the issue regarding undermanned Reception - 4/ 6 professional, multilingual and highly qualified receptionists on duty daily.


We do not accept the issue regarding help with luggage – House Meister on duty - daily from 7am till midnight, available on request for all assistance, assisted with the clients luggage as requested on arrival.

Even when the hotel at full capacity, we however with much effort were happy to accommodate the client with his wished extra days.

We endeavour to understand how a client with so many alleged issues did not bring any of them to the attention of Hotel Manager, Receptionists, Headwaiter or any member of staff during his stay, still chose to extend the stay with us – a contradiction of all terms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathfriland, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Loved this hotel stayed here with my parents on half board. I had a single room with balcony which was very cosy and had a nice view of the penken cable car. The staff were very facilitating as my mum has to use a wheelchair or crutches. There was a handy spacious lift . The food was great and the swimming pool and saunas were lovely. Good location and really good food <3. Breakfast and Dinner. Good walking distance from many key points, the ahorn cable car, penken cable car , spar and church. Loved this hotel and its staff only downside was we arrived late because we booked with crystal and typically we were on a horrible air post flight. The flight wasn't delayed but because of crystal's crap flying times from northern Ireland we arrived at the hotel at 10:30 pm meaning we could only get a platter of mainly cold meats which did not suit me or my mum as she is a vegetarian. <3 overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street as my single room was close to the street and was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a great week at this hotel, excellent service, very clean nothing too much trouble. All eating catering for, plenty of choice every day. Situation is great, right next to the cable car and easy walking for all other activities. Only gripe, too hot in the bar area at night, air con would be great for the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
#4 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sporthotel Strass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.