We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home...with snow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sporthotel Strass to your Saves list
Sporthotel Strass
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home...with snow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked direct - last minute - for a pre christmas ski holiday with friends and their family ( 2 girls , 11 and 14). Very welcoming, all staff spoke English and receptionists very obliging (yet sincere).
Location was ideal for adults and kids alike ( tired 7 year olds don't want to walk any distance at the end of a days ski lessons!); only hazard between the lift station and our room was the Ice Bar...Eurovision Song Contest with mulled wine and jagermeister...needless to say, we fell at the 1st hurdle on more than one occasion. One night we were disturbed by noisy guests next door (apparantly some student group who were asked to leave early) - and the hotel dealt with it very swiftly. The rest of the guests were charming, especially the Belgian family we met each day n the pool and some very nice Austrian Doctors, who were celebrating the fact that one of them had just been awarded some sort of Doctorate for his research!

Rooms very spacious, though cosy and warm, cleaners embarrasing tho - folding up my discarded boxer shorts and picking up stray socks from around the room ...dedication over and above the call of duty!

Food was plentiful (the Duck and red cabbage was fantastic and the waitress even brought us more potato croquettes, a big shout to Christian and crew!

Only disappointment was that there was no sound on the Sky V, which meant watching football in silence in the lobby - but overall can't recommend the hotel Strass high enough and would deffo return there.

Room Tip: The lift does get busy at breakfast times so we were glad to have a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    92
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
123
128
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Back again in December for our yearly jaunt and its gets better year after year. As usual the hotel was superb, hotel staff super friendly, rooms were very clean and well kept. The hotel is in a fantastic location right next door to the main spa so if anyone wanted a more convenient location to ski look no further. Food was great over multiple restaurants so plenty of variety. Also, after a long days skiing there is a wonderful spa underneath the hotel with lots of different treatments all complimentary, perfect for a wind down ready for dinner.

Would highly recommend this hotel after several visits.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here in December 2013. The hotels location could not be any better. It is right in the centre of town and just next to the ski lift. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Mayrhofen!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 10 days pre Christmas. The location is the best in town with all the atmosphere from Ice Bar and the main Penken Lift straight up the mountain outside.
With the addition of the wonderful spa and the great food this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in and cant wait to go back.
Clean and comfortable with a fantastic service! If you go to Mayrhofen stay here!

Room Tip: Stay in either the hotel block or Sport block. They are the best two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel was lovely. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. Very clean, quaint rooms. The only problem was that we booked the hotel due to the amazing spa facilities it offered however were very disappointed that we had to be naked in them in order to use them. Being on a couples holiday this was not ideal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel In itself has a brilliant location and lovely rooms and views. However, this was ruined by extremely rude staff and terrible service. Our breakfasts consisted of what can only be described as leftover sweaty ham and cheese with staff being very demanding and patronising. On several occasions I witnessed the staff swearing at customers supposedly taking a bread roll to their rooms and demanding others sit elsewhere. Furthermore the hotel manager let himself into our room without knocking and did the same thing up the corridor. If it wasn't for the amazing location and ski facilities my experience would have been ruined.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariaantonette, Manager at Sporthotel Strass, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Many thanks for selecting Zillertal, Mayrhofen and Fun & Spa Hotel Strass as a winter holiday destination. Many thanks for the kind words praising our hotel with beautiful rooms and views.
However we do not recognise or accept the hotel description for the following reasons.
The hotel’s professional and multi lingual reception team and hotel manager are always at hand to offer advice, recommendations or assistance of all kind to ensure a pleasurable stay.
The hotel are proud and happy to share the following facts and figures:-
The hotel hosts and caters daily for over 600 resident and between 1000 – 2000 visiting international guests of all generations. Enjoying our reputed international hospitality in hotel guestrooms, dining rooms, Bars, après ski, and Wellness areas.
The hotel operates with annual 80 – 100% occupancy (a rare achievement by any standards) with permanent waiting lists from all international tour operators and private guests.
The Fun & Spa Hotel Strass is in annual receipt of “Award of Excellence” from Trip Advisor and Holiday Check. Also in receipt of ever returning guest letters - expressing full appreciation and praise.
Please be advised, our word for the mentioned facts and figures can be verified with any International tour operator or simply with Trip adviser or Holiday Check.
Luis Schachner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

grizome is Austrijos is MAYRHOFENO, Sporthotel Strass.
Trumpai apie viesbuti.
Viesbutis prie pat pagrindinio pakeltuvo - daug pliusu, taciau, kas gyvena Hotel Strass - apcioje yra baras APRES SKY- kuris dirba nuo 17iki23 val, tad vargsai zmones kurie gyvena tiesiai virs jo ir i gatves puse - triuksmas nuo girtu jaunuoliu iki gilios nakties.
Kas gyvena SPORTHOTEL STRASS - apatiniam aukste NIGH CLUB dirbantis nuo 22 iki 03 val. Tad bumcikai per visa viesbuti iki 03 val. O gatveje nuo pradzios iki kokios 05 ryto tiek SportHotel - Tiek GARNI vargsai gyventojai klausosi naktiniu girtu zmoniu lebavimu, vaizdu - "Myzimo" ant tvoru i r t.t. Mums teko visas naktis tai klausyti ir nemiegoti. Taip pat musu atvykimo savaite - viesbutis prieme 4 autobusus studentu - manau uz labai nupiginta kaina, tad 4 naktis kol nepakeliau triuksmo, is vis negalejome miegoti, nes studentai gere, baliavojo, laksto po koridorius, dauze iranga. Vienu zodziu ne tik mes buvome ziauriai nepatenkinti - bet ir viebutis musu akivaizdoje patyre daug nuostololiu. Tik po mano ziauriu grasinimu viesbucio vadovybiai, buvo imtasis priemoniu. Tad viesbutyje byvo tyla,, bet is gatves buvo ziauru.
Maistas viesbucio restorane - baisus, 50 proc.maisto is saldytu pusgaminiu, salotu baras skurdus ir vienas per tapati (pomidorai, agurkai, morkos, pupeles, kopustai ir viskas, nei surio, nei alyvuogiu nei salotoms deranciu priedu).
Vienu zodziu viesbutis tinkamas tik studentams uz maza kaina, zvaigzdutes - na net nezinau, VIESBUTI GELBEJA NUOSTABUS SPA CENTRAS. Daugiau viskas 85-uju metu stiliaus, tik kad pakeisti baldu gobelenai. Vaizdas klaikus, kambariu WC baisus ir smirda baisiau nei viesajame tualete. Lovos - ne su ciuziniais, o elementarios kietos staktos, be anciuziniu.Paskaudo kaulus. Gambario grintis isslave ir isplove - tik paprasius, bet tik takelius,po stalais ir lovomis baisios dulkes 5 metu senumo.

Esame viesbuciu ir restoranu vadovai - ir mums tai buvo baisiausios atostogos patirtos musu keliavimo metu.
Kada uzsakinejome pensiona ar nebrangu viesbuti - buni susitaikes su tuo, taciau kada uzsakai 4 zv.viesbuti ir gauni HOSTELI - baisu.

Nerekomenduoju nei vieno STRASS hotelio, o jei jau siulysit - tai tarkites, kad duotu kambari i priesinga nuo gatves puse, virsutiniame aukste, gal nesigirdes bumcikai ir lebavimai is gatves, bet vistiek uzuojauta viesbucio sveciams kurie atvyksta sportuoti dienomis ir ilsetis naktimis.

After returning from Austria is Mayrhofen Sporthotel Strass .
Briefly about the hotel.
Hotel near the main pakeltuvo - many pluses , but who lives in Hotel Strass - APCI bar apres - SKY who works from 17iki23 hours , so poor people who live directly above it and the street - the noise from drunken young man into the night .
Who lives SPORTHOTEL STRASS - lower floor NIGH CLUB working 22 to 03 hours . So bumciki through the entire hotel until 03 hours . And the street from the beginning till 05 in the morning and what Sporthotel - Both GARNI These poor residents listen to the night drunk people drinking spree , video - " slash " on the fence , etc. We had to listen to it all night and stay awake . Also the arrival of our week - Hotel 4 buses passed the student - I think thanks very cheapened price , so 4 nights while not on the way the noise , is still could not sleep because of the students drank , baliavojo , flit around the corridor , pounded equipment . Next day , we were not only ziauriai unhappy - but our hotel in the presence of many experienced nuostololiu . Only after my cruel threat to the hotel management , taken for the measures . So hotel byvo silence , but the streets were brutal.
Food in the hotel restaurant - the towering , 50 proc.maisto from frozen preparations, salad bar and a shabby over identical ( tomatoes , cucumbers , carrots , beans , cabbage and all or cheese, or olive or salad Matching accessories) .
Next day conveniently to students at a low price , the star - well do not even know the hotel rescued FABULOUS spa. More all 85 of the year in style, only to replace the furniture tapestries. Image eerie , toilet smells terrible and worse than in the public toilet . Bed - no mattress , and basic solid frame , without anciuziniu.Paskaudo bones. Gambari Grint isslave and washouts - only on request , but only tracks under tables and beds terrible dust 5 years ago.

We are a hotel and restaurant managers - and for us it was the worst vacation experience for our traveling time.
When you are booking a cheap hotel or boarding houses - Buni reconciled with that , but when solicited by 4 and get zv.viesbuti Hostel - scary.

Not recommend one over STRASS hotel, but if you already siulysit - Consult is to give a room to the opposite side of the street on the upper floor , and can be heard in bumciki debauch the streets , but still compassion for hotel guests who come to sports day and rest at night .

Room Tip: There no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariaantonette, Manager at Sporthotel Strass, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Many thanks for selecting Zillertal, Mayrhofen and Fun & Spa Hotel Strass as a holiday destination. Many thanks for praising the hotel’s Wellness area. However we do not recognise or accept the hotel and staff description for the following reasons.
The hotel’s professional and multi lingual reception staff, on listening to issues offered alternative accommodation and further to meet and speak to the hotel manager which was declined.
We at the hotel are proud and happy to share the following facts and figures:-
The hotel hosts and caters daily for over 600 resident and between 1000 – 2000 visiting international guests of all generations. Enjoying our reputed international hospitality in hotel guestrooms, dining rooms, Bars, après ski, and Wellness areas.
The hotel operates with annual 80 – 100% occupancy (a rare achievement by any standards) with permanent waiting lists from all international tour operators and private guests.
The Fun & Spa Hotel Strass is in annual receipt of “Award of Excellence” from Trip Advisor and Holiday Check. Also in receipt of ever returning guest letters - expressing full appreciation and praise.
Please be advised our word must not be taken for the mentioned facts and figures but can be verified with of any International tour operators or simply with Trip advisor or Holiday Check. Luis Schachner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sporthotel Strass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.