We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent - except for WIFI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Waldheim to your Saves list
Hotel Waldheim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fischerstrasse 509 | Österreich, Mayrhofen A- 6290, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent - except for WIFI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I loved this hotel! The food was excellent and varied; the rooms were cute, beautiful and exceptionally clean and cared for. It is family run and the entire family was friendly, helpful and professional.

I only wish they had dependable WIFI. I don't know if it is the location of the hotel or the service used, but it was frustratingly slow and/or not working. I hope this can be fixed for future guests. Other than the WIFI, this hotel is perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Waldheim in May/June 2013, on an organised walking holiday with HF. This is an excellent, family-run hotel, on an extremely quiet street just a couple of minutes’ walk from the principal cable-car and main street in Mayrhofen. The rooms are spacious, and I believe that all have French windows giving on to balconies with lovely views of the mountains. Ours was a corner room, so we had a wrap-around balcony. The bathroom was well-laid out, with a proper window and good shower. The spotlessly clean room had plenty of storage and sitting space, with comfortable beds and pillows, plus loads of decent hangers in the wardrobe. The food was excellent: we had a plentiful breakfast, and an overwhelmingly generous dinner for 14 nights. I am a vegetarian, and am used to restaurants running out of ideas after a few days, but I had a different – and delicious – main course for each night of my stay. Perhaps most exceptional was the warmth of the hospitality extended to us by the owner and her family and staff. They could not have been more welcoming or helpful, and thoroughly deserve the highest praise for making our visit as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Note that you can use the sauna, steam room and infra-red room: all are included in the price of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here on a walking holiday in the summer. Excellent position, great food and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are large and many have balconys with wonderful views of the mountains. We would love to return for a ski holiday here as the hotel is very close to the Penken lift.

Room Tip: we had a lovely corner room with large wrap around balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and 9 friends have just spent a fabulous few days at this lovely hotel. The location could not have possibly been any better, couple of minutes walk from the Penken lift but just off the main street so no noise. The owners and staff were very friendly, and the quality and cleanliness was excellent. Lovely hotel and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here on a walking holiday. This is a great base with lots of lifts to the top of the mountains. Every room is large, clean with good facilities and a balcony. Good sized bathroom. The staff are friendly. Food is plentiful and breakfast is a highlight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Excellent hotel! Very friendly staff, the hotel has a family atmosphere.
We used the hotel for a short ski break, the location was perfect - you can see the penken lift from outside the hotel which is great when you're walking in ski boots. We dropped our equipment back at the hotel every afternoon before heading back to the ice bar or hara-kiri bar for a couple of drinks - after the hotel's tea and cake of course!
The room was great - two separate sleeping areas which is great for two blokes sharing! We had a balcony, tv and plenty of storage. We were also lucky to get wi-fi in the room.
Best bit about the hotel was the food - five courses every night; well cooked and presented.
Lastly, the hotel were kind enough to let us use the spa area to shower and change before heading home.

Room Tip: Suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The service in this hotel was excellent. Staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful. The hotel was very clean and comfortable though I would have preferred to have a room with a balcony. We were on a walking holiday and appreciated the boot room for drying and storing coats and boots.

Mayrfhofen is a very convenient base to explore the many excellent walks in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waldheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldheim

Address: Fischerstrasse 509 | Österreich, Mayrhofen A- 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldheim 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Waldheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.