We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Einfahrt Mitte 431, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Mayrhofen
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

This hotel was lovely. Extremely clean and friendly. The beds were very comfortable and we each had our own duvet! (Hurrah!!). The breakfast was extensive with plenty of choice. You name it, it was there! I was impressed at actually how much was available.
The sisters who ran it could not be more attentive and helpful, always happy to answer any questions and give advice on local attractions. The recommendation of walks took us to the most breathtaking scenery we have ever witnessed; for that alone we will always be grateful!
The only one small down side was the view overlooking the large car park but with all the beautiful scenery short drives away, one doesn't need to spend any time in the rooms.
The hotel was set back slightly from the village but was only a very short walk in to for dinner; so no driving! And no noise!
Over all an extremely friendly, comfortable, pleasant hotel to stay in and one we would not hesitate to return to or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The women who run the place are super helpful and so friendly that I find it hard to complain, but I think the existing TA reviews are too high (and so misleading). I agree with one of the recent reviewers who expressed disappointment. First off, the hotel isn't in a great location--it's sort of on the outer fringe of town. My wife is not up to walking too far so we drove into town and then tried to park (not easy). But my main complaint is that the bed was absolutely horrible--like sleeping on a pile of rocks. Other problems: the wifi didn't work in the room; no elevator (good luck if you are on the 3rd floor); and they don't accept any credit cards. So, while this hotel has a lot to recommend it (friendly staff, low price, excellent breakfast, typically charming wood work throughout), if what you want is a good place to sleep, I'd recommend the grassy meadow just south of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of our Euro Trip. I wouldn't say it's the prettiest location but it's very convenient and the ladies who run it are very friendly & attentive. Breakfast is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We chose Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl because of its very favorable reviews on Trip Advisor-- but, really, it's not particularly special so we were disappointed. The hotel does not have a proper reception area that is staffed-- instead, you need to find one of the sisters who run the hotel to get checked in. When we arrived at about 3:00 p.m. no one was around and the one small public room in the hotel (a sitting area by the front door) was dark (we'd been traveling for almost 24 hours from the U.S. at that point so it was frustrating). Once we found one of the sisters she had some difficulty finding the right keys so it all just seemed somewhat unprofessional. We had booked two rooms-- a suite and a double. The suite was fine (but its bathroom was windowless and outdated) but the double was small, cramped and dark (also with an out-of-date windowless bathroom). The hotel is close to the center-- a short walk-- but its location is not particularly attractive (in one direction there is a large parking lot for buses, in another a gas station on the through road, and on the remaining two sides there are buildings close by that block any kind of view). The breakfast is good, however, with attentive service and all the usual offerings. There are hundreds, maybe thousands of rooms in Mayrhofen so I'd recommend looking around at all the top rated hotels before making a decision. I hope this review is helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

There were three of us staying here for 4 nights and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Great location - very close to the heart of town, the ski lifts, and numerous bars and restaurants. Great hospitality - the owner was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The rooms were gorgeous - modern and very comfortable with spacious balconies. We couldn't have asked for more :-)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Garni Glockenstuhl is perfect when looking for a competitively priced, traditional Austrian hotel to stay near the centre of Mayrhofen. The rooms are clean, breakfast excellent and the hosts always helpful and there when you need them. Located within easy walking distance of the chair lifts and town centre with its many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Garni Glockenstuhl, July 2014. Suite.
Large, clean rooms, friendly motivated staff, adequate breakfast.
Good location. Purpose: hiking.

Downside:
Construction work at nearby hotel (should be finished now) created some noise and blocked entrance to parking lot in daytime.
Expensive wi-fi which was not all that good anyway. Missed the aircondition some nights, but hey! Nice weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl

Address: Einfahrt Mitte 431, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.