We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kaprunerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaprunerhof to your Saves list
Kaprunerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schulstrasse 21, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Kaprunerhof In September this year and were sadly disappointed. We had expected a four star experience but the proud boasts of the hotel's website about the quality of the rooms and food did not meet our expectations.
We booked the grandly named Panoramic suite and we did have an excellent view of the Kitzsteinhorn but also the local sports field, supermarket and a neighbours back garden needless to say the hotel's location is nothing special just an average suburban backwater.
The suite itself was tired and in need of updating. The carpet and sofa were stained and the bedding was polycotton not what we expect in a 4 star hotel. The spar bath did not work!
However, we could have overlooked all of the above if the FOOD had been anywhere near 4 star quality. The restaurant is beautifully presented and staffed by friendly and attentive staff but the food although presented well was mostly remarkably poor in taste and quality.
Jus’ were simply made from a commercial stock concentrate and cream mousses were similarly made from commercial preparations. The food was presented in a series of courses; thankfully the portions were small so my plate was never returned too embarrassingly full. An Austrian Buffett was hosted on Saturday night and the main course was somewhat better but the meal was again let down by the poor dessert that was just a piece of cake from the local budget supermarket covered in custard made from a packet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This small Kaprun Hotel is very nicely located. From my suit room I had the view of the Kithsteinhorn Glazer, the river and beautiful green gardens. Silent to rest for pare ski. Renewed every year, nice and clean. Compered to its price it deserves mud better rating. Had a early 13/14 season 5 day ski trip and was very happy. All the employees are friendly and smiling. The food was excellent. Will come back soon.

Room Tip: Sky view suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very warm welcome to a very nice family run hotel. From the minute we arrived made to feel welcome, food great, could not fault the service. On the first night struggled to read the menu, the next day the menu had been translated to English for us. I would most defiantly use this hotel again should I return to Kaprun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel. Haifa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Family hotel. Modern, comfortable, very good cusine ( I do not recommend to order fish dishes in Austria, better take something they REALLY know to cook, like beef). Excellent service. In the room, bathroom and toilets everything not only new, but most important clean and shining. Good veiw from the balcony, what else do we need? Good SPA, I loved third sauna outside of SPA. Parking place, free Wi-Fi. Good place to spend ski vacation at Sell am zee - Kaprun. Don't forget to ask the owner to recommend good shnaps)))

Room Tip: HUNTING SUITE is best option quality/money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our second visit to the Kaprunerhof was even better than our first! Our room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and had lovely views of the Kitzsteinhorn; the food was even better than we remembered; and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful including dealing with my wife's special dietary requirements. Stefan's advice on walking options, particularly after the first snowfall of the year was much appreciated and we enjoyed a guided walk to the hydro scheme reservoirs. We greatly enjoyed the spa facilities!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as a base for a walking holiday.There were magnificent views of the Kitzteinhorn from our room which was clean and a decent size (deluxe romantic). The half-board option is very good value and the chef produced a consistently high standard every night. Service is very efficient. What was particularly useful was that the hotel participates in the Summer Card scheme which proved invaluable when using cable cars, buses, etc. We worked out that the savings on the card paid our bar bill at the end of the week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

the Kaprunerhof got off to a very good start by offering us two rooms as singles for the price of a double as they could not split the Austrian double beds. This meant we were in the basement in the Komfort style rooms - but it was great to be offered the option. These were not as up to date as the others on higher floors appeared to be - but they suited us very well.

the service in the hotel was excellent - despite catering for quite a large number of people, often in big groups. Breakfast was great and their gala dinner - offered on the Sunday - was really brilliant food.

we also got very good advice from Stefan on where to go walking on our last day. he warned us off one route which we thought we might do - but recommended another excellent one which was one of the highlights of our trip.

like other reviewers, we were put off the spa by the warning that this was a "nacktbereich"

Room Tip: rooms are priced for what you get - am sure the upper floor rooms are better - but ours were perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaprunerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaprunerhof

Address: Schulstrasse 21, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaprunerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, seekda GmbH and Despegar.com so you can book your Kaprunerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaprunerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.