We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle to your Saves list
Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nikolaus Gassner Strasse 66, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Derbys Dales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

The Gasthof Zur Muehle offers the authentic Austrian experience.
Super traditional hospitality. Small enough for the personal touches, big enough for good facilities.
The half board terms are good value.
The Buffet breakfast offers the usual fare- but with an exceptional selection of fresh breads (Walnut loaf, Multiseed, Pumpkin seed Etc).
The 4 course (plus salad buffet) dinner is typically Austrian (not haute cuisine but with a varied choice) -& large portions.
Friendly and helpful service throughout.
The location if you do not have your own transport is not ideal, although it is on the ski bus routes.
The hotel is situated on a narrow strip of land between two roads. The road at the front is a quiet residential road on which a number of other hotels are . The road at the back is the main bypass road up to the Kitzhorn Glacier. Road noise is not a problem at night, but the traffic starts early in the morning, which would be a problem for "night owls" wanting a lay in.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We have just come back from a weeks stay at the Zur Muhle.We were given a warm welcome from Monick, she offered us a choice of rooms, we asked for a quiet room and that is what we got.
The food is excellent ,breakfast is a buffet a very good choice of cereals eggs rolls etc.
The evening meal was six courses, the main meal we were give a good choice of four dishes, it was all freshly cooked and came out very hot.
The hotel is well placed for the slopes having the bus stops right ouside the door, the buses were every ten to fifteen mins.
The hotel has a really good hot room to keep boots and skis in so made it easy to get your boots on.
Kaprun is a charming village, with wine bars etc if you want it, this hotel is about a fifteen min walk in to the centre.
The hotel pool was nice as were the saunas and steam rooms, we just cannot fault it in any way
Skiing was great however if you are a black run skiier you may not have enough challenging runs.
We booked this holiday through Directski.com who were very good from booking right through to getting home, cannot fault them.
An all round great skiing holiday, and would go back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Booked this as part of a last-minute snow getaway, and we really lucked out here. It was tremendous. Everything you expect how a Mittel-Europa guesthouse should look like, and then some. Ornaments and trinkets everywhere, the barmen in lederhosen, the waitresses in Heidi costumes, and soooo warm and cosy. After a hard day's boarding (and it was tough..), it was the perfect place to come back to. Heated rooms for the equipment was great, and the evening meals, included with our package, were always fabulous. We were welcomed by the owner on arrival, and all the staff were friendly and helpful, people you could have a good laugh with, which made the atmosphere wonderful. It helped also that we arrived just after the biggest dump of snow, so on all counts we were laughing. The rooms were perfect too, nice and warm, decent shower. They also had an outdoor heated pool, but as we realised when we went in, it was not that heated...! That was an experience I can tell you. So, fantastic. Maybe someday we'll see it in the summer time.

  • Liked — Friendly and kitsch
  • Disliked — 2km from the chairlift, and the bars
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

Fantastic Hotel - we arrived late at night and were not sure what we would find, but can recommend it. It is stuffed with Austrian Charm, and the family that run the hotel were great - friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. - special mentio to Berni, the owners daughter!
The room was a good size overlooking the river, and a view of the Glacier.
The food was fantastic and the waiters were attentive. The home cooked food was a great welcome from a hard days snowboarding!
It is about a 15 minute walk to Kaprun Centre, which may be a draw back for some people wanting to be right in the centre of the Apres Ski, but the Bus stop is right outside which gives access to the Glacier, maybe 15 mins on the bus, and also to Kaprun Maiskogelbahn, and to Zell's Areitbahn - from which you can access all the Zell area.
The swimming pool was a little cold, but the steam room and sauna were clean and functional. All in all a pretty good place. I would imagine it is good for families, as it is a little out of the centre - and away from the hustle and bustle of apreas ski. If you are there to get the most out of boarding/skiing I would say it is pretty good.

  • Liked — Food!
  • Disliked — Tiny drawback being out of the centre
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We chose Kaprun because of the its location, close to the Kizsteinhorn Glacier and the promise of good late season skiing and did it deliver!

We booked through Crystal about 10 days before and choice of hotel was limited. The Zur Muhle had 1 good review and we decided to go for it. On arrival we were allocated a room in the eves. The room was dark and musty, with low roof and a general air of neglect. Monika (head of the Zur Muhle empire) apologised as there was no alternative room available but we were able to move to another room the next day. The second room was fabulous; light, airy and spacious and had a fantastic view from the balcony. The beds were comfortable and the room wasn't overley warm as some Austrian hotels can be.

We took breakfast and dinner in the same dining room for the first day but afterwards opted to have dinner in the 'stuberl'. There were lots of families with young children in the dining room and we wanted a peaceful and more 'romantic' setting for our evening meals! The food was perhaps a little disappointing overall, somewhat basic but with a choice of 4 main courses. In particular the entrees were lacking imagination, served direct from the fridge and lacking in taste. I had expected better from a 4 star.

We ate out twice in 'Palettis', a bar in Kaprun village which served wonderful Pizzas from a wood-fired oven. There wasn't a lot else going on in the village in the evenings but we were very happy to stay in the hotel bar in the evenings after a hard days skiing! The Zur Muhle bar was rustic and full of charm. We visited a number of hotels and bars in Kaprun but none matched this for character. The service provided by the family was excellent-faultless in fact. Christian in particular was friendly and made us feel welcome and at home.

We didn't use the hotel pool, because it was too cold for us (typical brits!) We didn't have a lot of time anyway, we spent our time on the glacier enjoying powder snow and wonderful views. I have NEVER seen snow like this! Access to the slopes was by bus which stopped directly outside the hotel , and cable car up the mountain (2500 -3000 metres). A journey of about 30 minutes in total. Its amazing how the weather can change so much; it was frequently raining in the village but snowing up on the mountain. We both had lessons through the Kaprun ski-school which we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in kaprun and would recommend it for serious skiers who enjoy traditional accomodation. The village scene was limited but we didn't mind. We will probably come back to Kaprun and stay at the Zur Muhle again.

  • Liked — Proximity to the best skiing ever!
  • Disliked — Lack of ambience in dining areas and unimaginative menu
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a ski trip to Kaprun staying at Gastof Zur Muehle. The hotel is excellent, family run and retaining a traditional style and welcoming atmosphere! Our double room was light and spacious with good facilities and was kept very clean throughout..
We were on a half board basis providing a hearty breakfast- essential to a vigorous day on the slopes and looked forward every evening to a delicious 6 course meal prepared by their award -winning chef and always served with a smile by the efficient waiters. We were even provided with a breakfast goodie bag for our early morning departure.
Nothing was too much trouble for the the staff who created a friendly, relaxed atmosphere throuhgout.
The aches and pains of a days skiing were melted away in the excellent sauna/steam rooms and a dip in the outdoor pool was invigorating!
The hotel is very well situated only 1km from the centre of town -a short walk or using the frequent bus service just outside also providing access to all ski areas.
We will most certainly book to stay again and hope to take our family next time! Well done to you all.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not long enough time there
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle

Address: Nikolaus Gassner Strasse 66, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Gasthof Zur Muehle Hotel Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.