We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL SONNBLICK IS WONDERFUL!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonnblick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonnblick to your Saves list
Hotel Sonnblick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schloss Strasse 14, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“HOTEL SONNBLICK IS WONDERFUL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was a guest at the Hotel Sonnblick and I wish to say that it was an amazing experience. Michaela and her staff made our experience absolutely perfect. From the initial champagne greeting to our wonderful room and the fantastic food and the amazing saunas, EVERYTHING was 1st class. I can not wait to return once again and I am proud to recommend this fine hotel to everyone.

Walter from New York

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    33
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
70
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Family- run hotel. It was clean, but the 5course menu was not nearly 4-star. The rucola and other leaf-salads were never washes, once i nearly broke a tooth on a bit of dirt that was on the salad. No indoor pool just a small jacuzzi always crowded. Spa area very poor with little to do except sauna , no massage facility, outdoor pool dirty and very small. Snacks fron 3:30 were always left- overs from previous-day dinner. Food was many times served on a stone-plaque which was horrible when trying to cut with a knife on it.
It is at most a 3-star.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed from 21st -28th Dec 2014. We arrived very late due to a nightmare journey and Manwel on reception said it wasn't a problem and we can go to the restaurant and have some dinner. We felt at home straight away.

We woke up the next day ready for a week of adventure as 3 of us were 1st time skiers. The food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

The spa is amazing and the outdoor pool really is warm. This was the reason we chose this hotel and it didn't disappoint .

We would highly recommend this hotel and have asked for a quote for next season.

Thank you for a lovely Christmas .

Room Tip: This hotel was a really nice family run hotel with a personal service. Not much for the children to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from the Hotel Sonnblick. We stayed for 7 nights as part of a Crystal package deal between 14th and 21st December 2013. We were absolutely delighted with this hotel, its facilities and the very friendly and excellent service provided by the owners and staff. Our bedroom was warm, clean and comfortable. We used the spa and swimming pool most evenings after skiing and it was fantastic. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a very high standard and the wine list extensive and reasonably priced. The hotel is conveniently situated within easy walking distance for the skiing in Kaprun and the bus stop for the glacier and Zell am See. We have stayed in Kaprun before but not at the Sonnblick. For future visits we will definitely consider the Sonnblick before any other hotels. Many thanks for your hospitality.

Simon and Gail

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel has a good location and at the first glance it looks modern and fresh. It has an indoor garage, which was one of the main reasons we chose it, as we were travelling by motorbike.
Minus: they messed up our reservation and we ended up not having enough rooms for all our friends. The good thing was that they managed to get a single room for our friend in the hotel on the other side of the street, so the night was saved. In order to apologise for the inconvenience the reservation manager gave us a free dinner at a nice restaurant near the hotel.
Plus: The staff was very friendly and helpful even before we arrived. we had some problems with the motorbike and they searched for a workshop and offered to cancel the reservation for free if we could not manage to reach the hotel due to our problems (according to the reservation policy we had to pay in case of no show).
Overall we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sonnblick Hotel in Kaprun from 28th August to 4th September. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Chris who made us feel very welcome. It was well past dinner-time so we were provided with a cold platter of breads, cheeses and meats as well as a complimentary welcome drink of our choice.

Our room was on the first floor and was on the pool side of the hotel and also faced the road. We had a lovely long balcony which got the sun in the afternoon and had a magnificent view of the Kitzsteinhorn Mountain. The room was very comfortable and clean. It was a reasonable size as was the bathroom though the shower might seem a little cramped to some. There was a hairdryer and shower gel and handwash but no showercap or other toiletries.
The beds were very comfortable with comfy duvets and pillows and I got an excellent night's sleep throughout the holiday. The road is not a problem as Kaprun is a small village and very little traffic goes through at night and very few people used the pool during our stay so there was no noise from that either

For those who enjoy TV there are very few English speaking channels and mainly they are news channels but there is so much to do in the area you'll hardly need to watch much TV!

We had the half-board option in the hotel and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet was superb and had a wonderful array of choices. It included something to suit every taste. There was fresh and dried fruit, yoghurts, salads, meats and cheeses, juices, cereals, a huge selection of rolls and breads as well as pastries and jams of every flavour. Eggs were also available and bacon, if requested, as well as a variety of teas and coffees. You certainly didn't set out on your day's travels feeling hungry! The dining-room was beautifully decorated and was divided into four sections each with its own ambience and character. The girls who were serving were always cheerful and attentive and looked after our needs very well. Each morning a newsletter was placed on the breakfast table with information about the weather for that day and suggestions of activities and places of interest to visit in the area. This was very helpful.

Dinner choices had to be selected at breakfast time and there was a five course menu and a three course one. There was usually one choice of starter, a meat choice, a fish choice and a vegetarian choice followed by a choice of five desserts one of which was a cheese-board. The meals were excellent and beautifully presented. It was delightful to be served by our lovely waitresses dressed in Austrian national costume. They always looked so pretty and fresh.

The pool is not large but is a reasonable size and of the same depth for the full length. There are plenty of sunloungers around the pool for those who just want to relax. The wellness area is beautifully fitted out with sauna, jacuzzi and steam rooms and is an oasis of relaxation.Towels are provided for the pool and wellness area.

Afternoon cake and savouries are provided at no extra charge for guests and it's a very welcome custom for those returning from a day out.

If you are trying to decide whether to choose between Kaprun and Zell am See it really depends on your own preference. Kaprun is a quiet village surrounded by mountains with a limited amount of shops and restaurants though there is a supermarket which can supply most of your needs. It was very quiet at night with very litlle in the way of entertainment. You can, however, take the bus into Zell am See for 1 euro with your Kaprun/Zell am See summer card. The last bus, however, comes back at 19:50 so you may need to get a taxi back and this costs 15-20 euros. Zell am See is much busier and more bustling with many shops, bars and restaurants. It would be noisier at night but there would be more to do in the evenings.
Kaprun, however, is well-placed for visiting the Kitzsteinhorn Glacier, Sigmund-Thun Gorge and the Alpine Reservoirs which are all well worth a visit and if you use your Kaprun/Zell am See summer card all travel on the cable cars, entrance to the gorge and the ascent and descent to the reservoirs is free! It is amazingly good value and saves you a lot of money.

Finally, the thing that really made the holiday for me was the friendliness of the staff at the Sonnblick Hotel. They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and do everything in their power to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble for them. So thank you very much to Yvonne, Chris, Michaela and all of the staff for their kind attention and care throughout our stay.

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: As Kaprun is a small village there is not a lot of noise at night so most rooms would be fine. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from our second visit and were not dissapointed. Food still great, staff still happy and helpfull, new wellness facility excellent and room comfortable. Showing typical attention to detail, the management spotted it was the wife's Birthday and produced a nice cake. The breakfast buffet is as good as you will find anywhere and the 5 course dinners excellent. The food is fresh, wholesome Austrian fare, no burgers or nuggets here - thankfully. I acknowledge the previous comment about the pool area looking a little tired, but i found it to be perfectly safe and sound. The only small dissapointment was when we chose to eat out one night. It would have been nice to have been offered a packed lunch instead of dinner.

Party animals should note that evenings in Kaprun are quiet in late summer. The Pavillion bar is the best evening venue for those below 50 in mind or body; otherwise, Zell-am-see may be a better option.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors to the rear are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonnblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnblick

Address: Schloss Strasse 14, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnblick 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonnblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnblick Hotel Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonnblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.