We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite ok.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonnblick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonnblick to your Saves list
Hotel Sonnblick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schloss Strasse 14, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
1 review
“Quite ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I expect something more from 4*, however it was ok.little bit smaller room. Good idea in afternoon snack for guests. There was a delay during dinner. The staff is not speaking good english despite it is not a problem to communicate. The price is moreless based because of Kaprun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    31
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
63
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The best service I've ever received at a hotel, small or large. A wonderfully cozy little family run hotel where customer certainly comes first. Our family room was very clean and in great condition. The view from both the balcony and the side window was outstanding. There's no doubt where we'll stay on our next Kaprun / Zell am See holiday. Sonnblick is simply great! Vielen Dank!

Room Tip: The "Maiskogel" family room with a wooden floor on the third floor was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friendly staff, traditional family run hotel with clean, tidy rooms. We had adjoining rooms which had been a suite which was perfect for the family. Food was very good, though I would suggest more buffet choice, especially for kids. Having to get a bus to Kitzsteinhorn glacier was a minor inconvenience (only 12mins though) as we had been used to on-doorstep skiing the previous year. Convenient for access to Maiskogel run (just 5mins walk) (which was great, but advise staying in upper slopes at this of year) and Zell Am See worth a visit (only 15mins bus ride).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff and the modern and clean rooms at the Sonnblick made our holiday. The rooms that we had were large enough and were spotlessly clean, the shower and toilet were separate and we had a balcony.

The food is exceptional, we booked with Crystal and had the 5 course menu, the breakfasts were excellent too. The ski and boot room was fabulous with boot warmers and plenty of space for skis and equipment. The hotel is about 1-2 mins walk to the bus stop for the Glacier or 5-7 mins walk from the Maiskogel ski area. The bus took 12 mins to get to the glacier lifts.

The spa and swimming pool was fabulous and used by all of our family, very clean and modern. There are naked people in the spa but this did not cause us a problem after we got used to it.

The only downside was that our room was next to the road which was a bit noisy as we had to open the windows as the room was so hot. We gave the full 5 spot rating as we did not mention this to the staff who I am sure would have been very keen to rectify the problem if we had asked. The restaurant was also a bit hot but they put the air con on on the last day. Although breakfast was not served until 7:30am which is too late if you want to be on the first bus/lifts the staff are flexible if you ask them to start a bit earlier.

Overall this was a fabulous hotel and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: I think you have to choose between the fabulous mountain views and have the road or go round the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My partner and I had an excellent week in the Hotel Sonnblick. The Manager and all her staff were so friendly and made a point of meeting us and always greeting us by name. The evening meal was excellent every day, and late afternoon there was always a complimentary soup, salad and cake. The wine list was good to and we mostly chose an Austrian wine each day. The breakfasts had an amazing choice and always such a pleasure. The heated outdoor pool was a wonderful experience. We really enjoyed the leisure facilities. Everywhere was incredibly clean. We stayed in a superior room which gave us a little more room and I even sat out reading on the balacony one afternoon.

Room Tip: Would recommend an upgrade to a superior room. The feedback from others was that the standard were q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

There is a real welcome when you arrive through the door. This is the case overtime you walk through the door. The staff cannot do more to help you. The hotel is well placed in Kaprun and is easy for town and the ski slopes. The hotel is typically Tyrolean and well maintained. I think we had an older room as the pictures on the website show some better rooms. However the room was warm, comfortable and had amazing views. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverfordwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

what a great hotel the sonnblick is. food was top class and the staff were wonderful. snow was best i have had in europe so skiing was top notch. well done to this family who built a great team of staff in their hotel.hope to see you again the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonnblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnblick

Address: Schloss Strasse 14, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnblick 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sonnblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnblick Hotel Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonnblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.