We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem - Lovely atmosphere, great value for money, excellent staff, stunning location, spotlessly clean, wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall to your Saves list
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlossstrasse 32, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“An absolute gem - Lovely atmosphere, great value for money, excellent staff, stunning location, spotlessly clean, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had our small family wedding arranged and carried out by the lovely staff at this hotel. It was absolutely wonderful - intimate, fun, unusual, relaxed and stress free. They exceeded all our expectations, and our guests had a great time. The food is a particular highlight, as is the friendly "family" atmosphere. Excellent value for money. Nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended. We only wish we lived a bit nearer so that we could visit in the Spring too! Bianca & David - Australia

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mallow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Sportkristall and my only regret is that we couldn't stay for 2.. This is our third time staying at this wonderful hotel and we hope to return again next year. Travelling as a family with 2 boys (11/9) and a baby daughter of 8 months, you would have to go a long way to find a hotel of similar excellance. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, the food was of high quality, but above all it's the service which stands out here, from the chambermaids to reception, to the bar, but above all the restaurant service was of the highest standard. This is a family run hotel and it shows. Good customer service costs nothing and the Sportkristall has it in abundance... Take a bow Famille Votters you deserve it...l

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I would fully recommend this hotel for a skiing or summer destination, The rooms where very spacious, clean and well equiped. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms but a kettle was supplied when requested for the duration of my stay. Plenty of hot water for a soak in the bath after a days skiing. The owners and staff where very friendly and always at hand to deal with any issues. We had a wonderful stay which included a traditional Austrian wedding, all had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Have been to Austria many times and stayed at lots of good hotels. This one stood out from the crowd! Firstly all of the staff were very friendly and helpful, even though we requested a change of room, to a high floor so we could appreciate the superb views. For the money, food was of good quality and also varied. We especially enjoyed the beef cooked with thyme-delicious! We were also highly impressed with the service in the dining room, which was courteous but not intrusive. We happily drank beer, house red and clean tasting bottled water and consider the prices very fair. A lift pass is nearly £200. Why do people get so upset about a few euros for non tap water? If you like the Hilton or Sofitel this is not the place for you as it has various cars dotted about, lots of non square rooms, quirky decoration and an eccentric owner. If you like a place with a sense of history, business like organisation, people smoking indoors (tut, tut..) and a whole car museum in the basement, like us you will love it and wish you were still here! Oh yes and the whole place was spotless-no fluff anywhere and the relaxation room and rock jacuzzi were sublime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned from Sportkristall and had a great weekend. The lodge is very cozy and the staff is exceptionally friendly. I am American and my girlfriend is German but regardless language was a non issue. Everything was provided in both English and German, even the two page update at breakfast in the morning, joke included.

Dinner was notably delicious. My girlfriend had the Salmon which was incredibly moist and well seasoned and I had the roasted duck served over caramelized onions with a gravy and seasoned potato dumplings on the side. It was amazing. Each table is marked with the name of the party and it is your table for the night whether you want to take 20 minutes or 3 hours to enjoy your meal. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious for either a German or American appetite. There were dishes from both a typical European breakfast or if you like your eggs and bacon.

There is also a great spa and a decent workout room. My girlfriend especially enjoyed the spa and may have spent the entire day there.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the Stay Okay option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have been regular travelers in Austria for the past 12 years, often visiting 3 times a year. We have stayed in many places, usually the quieter resorts but this was the first time we had stayed in Kaprun, although we have been to Zall am See a couple of times before.
We arrived at the hotel at 8.00 at night and had the most friendly greeting from the staff we have ever had. The room, we had a standard and didn't pay any supplement with Crystal, was a lovely size with Austrian beds, as usual, that were much bigger then most and a nice balcony with a great view. The food was wonderful, my Husband is vegetarian but dose eat fish, he can get the thin edge of the wedge in even 4 star hotels, but this time he was spoiled for choice as there was always a meat, fish and proper thought about vegetarian dish too. I ate more of the vegi food than meat as it was so good. The staff were so friendly you lost count of the times you said good morning or good evening as every one spoke to you. You could tell Mr Votter runs a very happy ship. The hotel is a good 10 min walk from the centre but that dose mean it was quiet and you could sleep with the windows open with out traffic noise, all you could hear was bird song and cow bells. The Hotels in the centre are all on a main road. All in all a great hotel to stay in, I would recommend it to anyone and I am sure this will not be our only visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very friendly staff nothing any bother from the minute we arrived until we left.
Hotel spotless dining areas lovely spa area all you could ask for as was outside sunbathing area.
Food was overall very good plenty to choose from friday buffet night a nice change.
Big bonus was the summer card issued on arrival no fares to pay on 660 to Zell free trips
on the ski lifts saved us a small fortune compared to previous years.
Friendly atmosphere in bar area enhanced by the roaring log fire.
Would definately recomend this hotel to others and will be back ourselves

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall

Address: Schlossstrasse 32, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#1 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Family Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall Hotel Kaprun
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.