We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family hotel, great food and stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbarahof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barbarahof to your Saves list
Barbarahof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 11, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Serbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly family hotel, great food and stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We went for a ski-package (4 nights + 3 days ski pass). We reserved double de Luxe room, but got a complementary upgrade to Junior suite. There is plenty of space in the rooms, and a big balcony.
The location is very good, its 10-15min by car to the glacier. It is in the centre of Kaprun, so you can walk to the caffes, supermarket, sport shops, etc.
The hotel offers free bike renting, which we used to discover surrounding countryside.
Stuff is extremely nice, helpful and polite, especially the 3 ladies serving during the dinner and the ones working on the reception, including Ms Barbara, so we felt very welcomed all the time.
Spa area with a pool is very nice, and as this was end of season, there were not many people using it which was also great.
Food is delicious - buffet breakfast with big food variety, dinner with 4 main meals to choose from, but the soups were really delicious (every evening there are 2 to choose from), only sweets could be better. We also appreciated cheese selection after the dinner.
Wine is a bit expensive, but they have a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

A most welcoming hotel from the moment we arrived when mine host cut off the dodgy pad lock on my suitcase. The views from my well appointed room were stunning with the Kitsteinhorn Summit covered with snow. The dining room was lovely and the food excellent. The lounges and sitting rooms were superbly decorated as was the 'Satellite Bar' The bar was very quiet in the evening possibly due to the expensive drinks (my only complaint). Very attentive and helpful staff kept the place spotless. If the weather should be inclement stay indoors and try out the stunning pool,sauna and solarium. Chilled from the moment we arrived.
William & Rita Byrne
Glasgow.

Billy & Rita Byrne
Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

The hotel is really nice, food is fantastic, good choice of food for breakfast - hot food as well as continental. Evening meals were really good (5 courses). You need to choose your evening meal at breakfast time. The salad buffet is fantastic.

Staff are very polite and friendly. A special mention and thanks to Stephanie on reception and Victor in the restaurant. The spa is an added bonus.

There is a short walk to the bus stop (and when carrying skis seems like hard work). There is a bus to the local ski area which is good for beginners and good to find your ski legs on day 1. We caught the bus to the glacier and Zell am Zee most days. Bus service is very good.

After dinner we only managed to get to the hotel bar which is a bit pricey compared to local bars. Night life seemed quiet compared to say Soll. Apres Ski recommended at the Pavillion - try Jagermeister and Schnaps but not too many as they are very potent and you might not remember getting back to the hotel!

Crystal reps do not visit hotels anymore, they visit the local ski shop regularly though and if you need the rep you have to call him on his mobile, which obviously costs you money. The reception staff are very informative if you need any information (far better than one of the reps). They speak excellent English.

This hotel has all the amenities of a large chain but is much more personal. It is definitely 4* superior (not 3* superior as mentioned in another review). I think it is the best 4* hotel in the centre of Kaprun.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tg-mures
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

The hotel is rated 4 stars superior, I would say is 3 stars superior. Excellent location, right in the centre of Kaprun. Food is ok, especially at breakfast. Dinner could be better, especially the soups. Furniture in the rooms looks like 80s. The staff is ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehedinti
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

is a hotel with an excellent kitchen, both qualitatively as well as cantitativ.service are very good, perhaps the spa would be a jacuzzi.Ne I felt great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

From the minute we opened the door the welcome we received from the staff, their friendliness and desire to please never wained. Not even at departure when we where wished well by all.
This lovely family hotel with excellent spa facilities and lovely food must not be missed by anyone travelling to Kaprun. We stayed here for Christmas 2009 and had a really good time. The christmas eve and christmas day gala dinners where beautifully presented and served with the food well worthy of its special restaurant awards. Our children aged 12 and 13 also enjoyed the culinary adventures and only on a couple of occassions participated in the childrens menus.
The rooms available are very spacious and well fitted out and in the new annexe there are some truly beautiful suites.
The location to the slopes was a selling point for us as the nursery slopes are located behind the hotel but just be careful as the snow in resort is not always reliable and a few days we travelled up to the glacier. This was not a major hardship as the bus stops outside the hotel but could be a little more challenging in peak season. We used the austrian ski school (ski and board Kaprun) next to the main supermarket in Kaprun (yellow jackets) and we could not faulty the instruction. Best ever and real focus on quality ski-ing.
The spa at the hotel is one of the best that I have ever experienced and the beauty of relaxing in the steam room and having a swim in the great pool area at the end of a days ski-ing should not be taken lightly.
Overall would truly recommend this hotel and resort and have to pass on thanks to all the staff for a truly memorable christmas.
The only thing we would say is a big hello to the Crystal rep if indeed we ever saw him. I think you can get the message there from my comment. Do it yourself in the internet would be my advice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My partner and I booked a late deal to stay in this hotel in July. We paid £340 half board which we thought was excellent value for money.
When we arrived (8.30pm) we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who showed us to our rooms and took our evening meal order as we arrived late.
We paid for a small room, which was adequate. Very clean and plenty of room for 2 people. I think the new part of the building has the big posh rooms as seen in the hotel pictures.

The food was very good. There was a wide buffet spread for breakfast; bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cooked - sausages, bacon and scrambled egg and variety of juice. You choose you're main evening meal at breakfast each day. Starters were a buffet of salad, then you choose between two soups and evening meal between 3 or 4 options (always 1 vegetarian option available). I found puddings weren’t quite as varied but always very nice and tasty. We also saw separate meals being bought out for children.
The staff were excellent and provided great customer service and were always friendly. The receptionist was particularly friendly with children. All the staff speak excellent English; we tried our best with the odd bit of German though!

The hotel offers free bike hire. We used them once to cycle down to lake Zell.

The hotel also has an indoor pool and sauna, gym etc. I only used the pool once, but all looked very nice and worth using in the winter after skiing.

We went to kaprun for the activities and booked through crystal. We arrived on the Saturday evening and meet our Rep on the Sunday morning. He was very good, showed us round part of the village and gave us all the information we needed. The crystal office was just down the road from the hotel and can't be missed (says crystal/thomson at top). I advise pre booking activities as they are more expensive in resort mainly due to the £ to euro conversion.
We did river rafting which was very good, a lot tamer than we imagined so it's great for older children/teenagers. We also did canyoning which was so much fun - climbing and jumping off high rocks into rock pools and sliding down waterfalls. Highest jump we did was 30ft!
We also did a 3 hour guided mountain bike tour, which I fell off coming downhill. And did skiing for a morning - you have to pay for full day but it gets very slushy by lunch time as it warms up in summer.

A fantastic holiday staying in an excellent hotel with good service from hotel staff and Crystal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barbarahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbarahof

Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 11, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#5 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barbarahof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Barbarahof Enjoy your days to the fullest. During the day, the attractions of the region Zell am See - Kaprun will attract you and in the evening you can enjoy peace and relaxation at the Wellness Hotel Barbarahof, your hotel in Kaprun. Stylishly furnished rooms, spacious suites and Austrian hospitality await you. The Barbarahof combines high standards and quality at reasonable prices. Whether a family holiday, hiking or golf package - choose from our wide range of summer offers or grab the early bird bonus. The current winter packages include the right activity for every ski and pleasure holidaymaker. Passionate Porsche and car fans are also well catered for. In the immediate vicinity of the Barbarahof are several scenic roads on which you can enjoy the unparalleled scenery on a leisurely ride around the hotel in Kaprun and the entire region. In winter, there are two training ski lifts directly behind the hotel in Kaprun and the Maiskogelbahn family paradise nearby. The summit world on the Kitzsteinhorn and the Schmittenhohe ski area are within a few minutes. You can enjoy numerous hiking and daytrip destinations in the summer for free with the Zell am See-Kaprun Card. At the two 18-hole golf courses just five minutes away, you tee off with up to a discount on green fees and views from the 3,000 m peaks of the Hohe Tauern. Picturesque landscapes and an impressive mountain panorama: Already on your arrival, there is a lot to discover. Just arrived at the Barbarahof, the hosts will guide you personally through their tastefully decorated 4-star superior hotel in Kaprun - valuable leisure tips included. TOP-CLASS ENJOYMENT AT YOUR HOTEL IN KAPRUN The superior standard is always perceptible and tangible: Unique bed quality Sensational kitchen Outstanding wine and bar offer Seminars of different sizes (your hotel in Kaprun can be booked completely and exclusively for groups) Family run and personally supervised by the owners No laundry for hire: Our guests feel particularly at ease with our select hotel laundry and high-quality terry products, which are carefully cleaned and pressed by our staff in house. Gourmets, take note: culinary delights are waiting for you. Local suppliers coupled with authentic creations - the family run Barbarahof in Zell am See - Kaprun offers sensational food and the best wines at the highest international level. Everything to make you feel completely comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Barbarahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarahof Hotel Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbarahof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.