We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fortress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burg Kaprun

Burg Kaprun
Schlossstrasse 55, Kaprun 5710 , Austria
+43 6547 7653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 attractions in Kaprun
Attraction Details
Kaprun
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old Fortress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Bilt in the middles ages the end 80's it was bought by a circle of citicens in Kaprun to rebuilt the ruine in lets say, 20 years it has became a beautifull place !!
Every monday afternoon 16.00 hrs. you can visit the place with a guide.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vatin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“worth visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The only thing, which is bad, it was possibly to go only mondy afternoon at four. Zou will get plenty of info about the castle and the old Kaprun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

As guests of the Hotel Orgler we got free use of the Tauren Spa and what a great addition to the holiday it was too - we made great use of it.

We were entitled to use the pools and sauna areas (the fitness suite was an additional cost). We just used the pools as there were plenty to choose from - our favourite was the outside salt water pool.

We spent a whole day there on the last day if our holiday as it was raining. That meant we had lunch there and it was remarkably reasonable.

Next time we stay in Kaprun we shall definitely be going back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Rarely open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's open once a week for a tour on Mondays at 4pm. When I went the English guide had got stuck, so we were allowed to wander at will for free which suited me perfectly! It seems to be used for "events" as there was a stage and bars (closed) and rooms that looked like they hosted banquets. Nice to see inside a building that dominates the skyline, but not a huge amount to see as it had been left to ruin for years, and no particularly interesting history attached.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burg Kaprun also viewed

 
Kaprun, Austrian Alps
Kaprun, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Burg Kaprun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burg Kaprun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burg Kaprun to your Saves list