We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Alpenhaus Kaprun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Das Alpenhaus Kaprun to your Saves list
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlossstrasse 2, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just had a fabulous week here. Incredible food and the very best waitresses. Only downside is the bus ride to the lifts every morning but this is the same for everyone staying in Kaprun. There is one run in the village but it doesn't link to the main area. Das Alpenhaus I salute you and your staff :) Would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
39
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Really impressive hotel with a great location in the centre of Kaprun.
High quality, contemporary decor in the public areas and the spa area was stunning..
Comfortable rooms with mountain outlook.
Hotel incredibly clean throughout.
Staff were helpful, if a little offish, although I'd just travelled from Australia to Austria so maybe it was me!
Food OK, but not much choice for vegetarians.
Only big criticism was that the beir wasn't particularly cold in the hotel bar!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I will start with the spa. The best hotel spa in Austria: 5 big sauna in the nude area and 2 at the pool. One pool indoor and one outdoor, one jacuzzi plus treatment area. It is extremely clean everywhere.
Restaurant: we got the halfboard menu for 8 days and it was very well varied compared with a lot of other austrian mountain hotels.The quality of the food is more above austrian. The service is austrian corect and prompt.
The room: is big and clean with nice view of the Alps
The location is central Kaprun.
Cons: you have to ask too many times for new wifi free acces code.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were there for four days.There are two possibilites for skiing, one in Kaprun's Kitzsteinhorn, the second in Zell am See, both 10 Minutes away from hotel with Taxi.
Rooms are comfortable but furniture is quite old and used an sholud be rennovated.
Breakfasts are good, with quality of dinners we weren't as satisfied as with breakfasts.
Staff is polite.You get your own ski depot.
If you prefer shopping some shops are reachable within walking distance from hotel.Otherwise, party is better in Zell am See.
We liked lobby bar with its Alp style.

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Recently re-opened after a significant overhaul. Decor and facilities outstanding.
We travelled as a group of 8 doctors on an annual ski eventand booked via booking.com on a half board basis after our original choice reneged on our agreement. We opted for double rooms on a single occupancy basis.
I had written to the hotel manager so that he was aware that 3 of the group did not eat meat.The meals were delicious and superbly presented

The care provided by all of the Alpenhaus team was exemplary

Room Tip: deluxe rooms at rear of property have a balcony, are very quiet and a view on to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Good food, pleasant interior design, convenient central location, small indoor pool is a plus. But room cleaning is awful. Room maid returned towels from the floor instead changing them. Just 1 shampoo and shower gel for 6 days. No tee or coffee in room. Our comfort room had no balcony. Not the best value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

As a family (10 persons) we decided that we wanted to go for a short skitrip during the New Year's break. Through internet we discovered das Alpenhaus, perfectly located in the centre of Kaprun. We booked half board and were not disapponted at all. The food and the service are good. Attached to the hotel is an Intersport shop, very useful for the 8 persons who wanted to ski. The Spa was absolutely great, unfortunately too busy and the end of the day. The hotel is recently renovated, stylisch interior with a lot of wood elements. Points of attention: team of cleaners and the rooms located at the side of party centre Kaprun (noisy), apparently dogs are allowed in the rooms, certain guests smoke cigars in the room, overall excellent location, very suitable for a family holiday during high season. The ambiance is still typical Austrian (friendly), albeit that the guests come from all parts of Europe ( west-and east)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Alpenhaus Kaprun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Alpenhaus Kaprun

Address: Schlossstrasse 2, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Alpenhaus Kaprun 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Das Alpenhaus Kaprun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.