We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! What a fantastic hotel :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tauernhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Tauernhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tauernhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nikolaus Gassner Strasse 276, Kaprun 5710, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Kaprun
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow!! What a fantastic hotel :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and I have to say I have been blown away. The familie and their staff cannot do enough for you. My German is very basic but it is safe to say that the staff made every effort with their English and at no point were we made to feel un-easy about not been fluent in German. We upgraded our room to a suite overlooking the ski school and mountains at the back. The room was spotlessly clean, traditional in style but perfect in every way. It had free wifi, a safe, fridge, use of an umbrella, a rug sac and of course a balcony to take in the stunning views. The restaurant was fantastic. Breakfast was very Austrian in its cuisine although they had so much choice it was a delight to eat there. On 2 occasions we needed to eat before the normal opening times and again we asked if this was possible and of course it wasn't a problem. Dinner was also fantastic - a 4 course meal at least and a gala dinner on one of the nights. ☕ Each night you can eat a traditional Austrian dish which I strongly recommend. Drinks were typical hotel prices - about £3.00 for a glass of wine etc etc but still reasonable. Each afternoon you can enjoy a coffee and cake which again was a wonderful extra little touch for us. ☕ The hotel spa is amazing - a pool, steam room, 2 saunas, an aromatherapy shower which was great apart from the ice machine at the end which the other half thought it was hilarious to throw ice at you, LOL!! Kaprun itself is stunning and was a great base to explore. We saved so much money with the Zell am See - Kaprun summer card - what a fantastic idea. I have to say if the UK hotel industry could just take a small peak into the Tauernhoff and see what an outstanding hotel this is it could only improve things for us here in UK hotels. As for bitofposh's review - take no notice of it as it is totally mis - representing this hotel. I can sum this hotel up in 5 words - "I cannot wait to return!" Hope to see you in 2014, thank you for been such a fantastic hotel - keep it up!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains and consider paying to upgrade - adds a little extra to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    39
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
55
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived home last week after a two week holiday at this hotel feeling totally relaxed. The location is beautiful, and this has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The food was fantastic, we never had the same meal twice, and most of the evening meal is served at the table, the only buffet being the salad, and cheese and biscuits. I am a vegetarian but with a dairy intolerance, and have to send special thanks to the kitchen for providing me with excellent food, always tasty and beautifully presented. The serving staff in the dining room were friendly, helpful and always smiling. There was definitely no German bias! We felt the prices charged for drinks were comparable to local cafes and bars. The room was comfortable and clean, and having the use of a rucksack and umbrella was a great idea - not that we needed the umbrella much fortunately!
The village was very pretty with dramatic mountains in the background. The Tauernhof took part in the Summer Card scheme, which meant we could use the cable cars free which considerably cut down the amount of uphill walking! The cards could also be used on the lake at Zell am Zee and for cheap local buses, ideal for sightseeing. A trip up the Kitzsteinhorn is a must, even though it takes three cable cars, as the views from the top are amazing. The high reservoirs are also well worth a trip.
After a day's walking it was lovely to come back to the hotel and spend time in the excellent sauna complex and then chill out in the panoramic rest room with views of the mountains.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We found Herr and Frau Geschwandtner friendly and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carms S.Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from our stay . Having organised group holidays for over thirty years we know by this time exactly what we are looking for in a hotel . Many of this group have travelled with us for several years and are very discerning when it comes to assessing a hotel . For the Tauernhof they had nothing but praise . The rooms we were allocated were excellent and were maintained to the highest standards . The cuisine was also exemplary . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the owner Inge was always ready to help in any way she could. The group was particularly pleased with the new Wellness area which is a major asset to the hotel. We had a first class stay at this hotel and would be extremely happy to recommend it. Well done to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We returned today after spending a week at the hotel Tauernhof in the resort of Kaprun. Kaprun is a very pleasant resort and ideally situated for wonderful walking and day trips, requiring only brief bus trips to the main walking areas.
The hotel is in a prime location close to all amenities including a 20 second walk to an excellent local tourist information office which had very knowledgeable staff as well as a huge number of brochures written in English which was appreciated as our German is pretty much non-existent.
The hotel was really nice - great staff who were unfailingly friendly and who always helped if we needed advice. The food was to a high standard as were the wines - we also felt that the wines were reasonably priced.
The rooms were good, well sized and very clean so no complaints. Great shower in the bathroom - very powerful.
The spa complex was huge, looked very new and was really first class - hard to think how any hotel could better this. Would use it more during the ski season but this week the temperatures were so high that we only really used the pool, although we did use the saunas at the start of the week before the temperatures soared.

As an aside to this review, our trip coincided with the reviewer 'bitofposh'. We were both astounded by her very negative review which primarily focussed on slandering the owner Frau Gschwandtner. Our experience couldn't have been more different - we found her to be like all the staff - genuinely friendly and always asking if you had had a good day etc. I can't for the life of me work out how she can deduce that Frau Gschwandtner had a 'ghastly attitude in the dining room' as we were there the same nights as 'bitofposh' and this 'ghastly attitude' simply did not occur. There was certainly no anti-British agenda from the Frau.
Regarding the tap water - you might have also have cared to add that they state why they charge for tap water on the menu. (They make a small charge to cover water rates, cleaning and breakages which is reasonable). In actual fact we were only charged for tap water the few nights we didn't order a bottle of wine.
We find reviewers like 'bitofposh' quite tiresome and not at all helpful as although they do make some positive comments the lack of overall constructive criticism makes reviews misleading and lacking any clarity or focus - a point echoed in the detailing of very good food, spa etc and then awarding one star based on the owners attitude.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would disregard the misleading, unfair and inappropriate rantings of 'bitofposh'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge G, Inhaber at Hotel Tauernhof, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear KCTC2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review on our hotel – we are delighted that you could spend lovely holidays at the Tauernhof in Kaprun. Your positive feedback has been forwarded to our whole staff and they were very happy about it.

This shows that our guests appreciate our service quality and hospitality, which makes our daily work even more fun.

You are right our spa area is quite new and we are pleased that were able to meet your taste.

It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you again at the Tauernhof and we wish you all the best,

The Gschwandtner family with the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If I had not had the misfortune of meeting the owner of this hotel I would have given it a very good rating, and not have mentioned the shabby corridors or plastic flowers. The attitude of the Frau of this hotel suggests she needs medication, a change of career, or both: she certainly seems to hate the British.
I was travelling on my own, and when I said that the single room I had been offered was not what I wanted (tiny, thin curtains - just awful!) instead of "I'm sorry, let's see what else I can show you" I was greeted with almost aggressive hostility. I eventually was shown a room that to me was of an adequate size and standard (although even then the bathroom was disappointing and the walls were paper thin). It cost me 400 euros upfront in cash - less than the 500 she'd initially demanded - and I was immediately pointed to the cash point. Unbelievable!
Now this was a shame because there were numerous plus points:
The sauna suite is state of the art - quite exceptional for a hotel (perhaps they overspent on that hence the shabby corridors certainly on floor 1) - as long as you can cope with nudity. The pool is small.
The waiter and waitresses were absolutely lovely! They were welcoming and pleasant and could not do enough for you (their employer should watch and learn). Unfortunately the Frau sometimes strayed in waitressing bringing her ghastly attitude with her, but not enough to spoil things for long.
The food was on the whole very good, and occasionally excellent.
(Extraordinary that they charge for tap water at dinner! The tap that is available at breakfast is covered up!)
Nice touch to have a rucksack and umbrella in the room.
So, I can only assume that the reviewers who only pointed out the positives were lucky enough to avoid this woman who,unfortunately, spoilt an otherwise nice place for me. I spoke to other guests who felt the same. One lovely family had given up saying hello when passing her in reception - she didn't look up. Unless you happened to be German. What a shame!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge G, Inhaber at Hotel Tauernhof, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mrs. Bitofposh,

thank you for your feedback on our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that you did not feel comfortable to a 100%. We want to take our chance on this platform to point out our side of the issues you’ve mentioned.
We strongly prescind from the fact that we do not like British guests in our hotel – we welcome any nationality and show our respect to any guests staying in the Tauernhof. Furthermore we cannot understand your feeling of being treated impolitely from the hosts as well as any staff member. Many guest feedbacks on several online platforms confirm our hospitality, of which we are very proud since we love our profession!
Concerning the Junior Suite, which we kindly offered to you for single use, we want to remind you that it was your idea to pay it in cash at once.

Again we are sorry that you could not enjoy your stay in our hotel and we wish you all the best,

The Gschwandtner Family with the whole Tauernhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for one week in July 2013 for a hiking holiday and found that the rooms, the staff, the meals and the location nothing short of perfect. They have a very high standard of quality and this is apparent; the staff are absolutely wonderful. Breakfast and dinner were superb and they offer light refreshments (divine homemade pastries) every afternoon. The hotel also has a lovely indoor pool and free PC in the game room. Most people seem to come to hike the mountains nearby and also to visit nearby Zell am See (much noisier, Kaprun is quieter); if you do not know what to choose among all the options, the Kaprun Info Center is steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: My room faced the back, which is preferable since the front of the hotel is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Marine, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I read with interest some of the "terrible review" of the Tauernhof hotel in Kaprun and it prompted me to write our review from our ski trip in February 2013. We had the most wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. It was our first trip to Kaprun and we left wishing to rebook for 2014. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was just wonderful with a lovely menu every evening. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tauernhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tauernhof

Address: Nikolaus Gassner Strasse 276, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tauernhof 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tauernhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauernhof Hotel Kaprun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tauernhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.