We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dorfstadl

Dorfstadl
Kellnerfeldstrasse 15 | Kaprun, Kaprun 5710, Austria
664 51 21 840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Austrian, Swiss
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Prague
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice and alwas we had feeling that the service should be better (although we speak German). Especially the waitress wasn´t nice and was a little bit stiff. Maybe she preferred local visitors but we made a high order.
The food was very good, nice atmosphere but due to the service we found other restaurants.
They charge for appetiser 1.5 Euro for portion so in case you a re more people, it´s not adequate.
Comparing to other restaurants in Kaprun we decided to visited other restaurants. In my opinion, Dorfstadl felt to be successful in the past but in the last years in Kaprun are so many new possibilites with nice people and atmosphere. That´s a pity but we will not go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So Traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Have visited this restaurant on many occasions. The staff are friendly and the food is great - you must try the traditional "cook your own" meat on a brick - the house speciality!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A cash cow in BCG terminology”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

In 2007-8 years the restaurant received michelene stars, which is noted on the window near the main entrance. Nowadays the atmosphere and food is good, but not excellent. Be careful - they charge for appetiser 1.5 euro for portion. I opened water which was on the table in a special restaurant bottle and made 2 glasses. Charged 3 euro, and I couldn't take the remaining water with me (because of the special bottle). Finally, we were waiting for a check for 5-7 minutes until it turned out that the waiter forgot about it. I felt slightly deceived, although I'm not greedy at all - just the attitude is like you are not a client or guest, but a buyer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Try the beef medallions in garlic butter!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Possibly my favorite appetizer...EVER!! In a warm and cozy log cabin, this restaurant is one of my favorites. I was stationed in Europe for 8 1/2 years and every time I went to ski in Kaprun/Zell am See, I made it a point, to eat dinner at the Dorfstadl. Steak on the rock/stone is fantastic as well, with a nice cold Austrian beer. The beef medallions are served in a dish (like deviled eggs) and they are soaking in garlic butter with parmesan cheese baked on top. SO GOOD!! Enjoy!!

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorfstadl also viewed

Kaprun, Salzburg Region
Kaprun, Salzburg Region
 
Kaprun, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Dorfstadl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorfstadl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.