We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haus Patricia Kaprun - the ideal choise for a skiing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Patricia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Haus Patricia to your Saves list
Haus Patricia
Kellnerfeldstrasse 1, Kaprun A-5710, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Kaprun B&B and Inns
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Haus Patricia Kaprun - the ideal choise for a skiing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Haus Patricia Kaprun for a week, at the beginning of February 2011.

Even though we didn’t reached Kaprun at the pre-established time, after a long journey of over 1200 km, Trish and Steve waited for us with dinner and their hospitality made us regain the holiday spirit very quickly. The days that followed were for us a real treat in terms of relaxation.

The hosts, Trish and Steve are absolutely wonderful people. They are native English speakers, which for a non native can generate many instances when one has to raise his eyebrows :). Trish is an excellent cook and Steve, among other things, set the music during meals and it was such a lovely, well selected mix.

The whole establishment is a happy mixture of Austrian style with an added British touch. Everything is clean and smells very good inside. The rooms aren’t very generous, but they are efficiently organized. And there is no waste of space here. Which, I must admit, is a big quality.

As a skiing resort, Kaprun is ideal for families with children, but not exclusively. The skiing school is only 250 meters walking distance from Haus Patricia, and for grownups or for older children there are 3 main skiing options: on the glacier, at Zell am See and closeby, though I didn’t catch the name. The slopes are of all sorts, from the extreme ones to the “strolling ones”, but what I liked best was the glacier, where the inclination of the slopes and their width guarantees maximum pleasure to those that choose them.

That is why I consider that Haus Patricia Kaprun is the ideal choice for the skiing holiday.

Room Tip: Everything is clean and smells very good inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband and I have looked into staying at Haus Patricia for the last couple of years and finally in March this year, we got to go. We were amazed by the top marks everyone has given this B&B and had to see for ourselves what everyone was raving about... we weren't disappointed!

We paid for the Crystal transfer bus at the airport as it got us into Kaprun a couple of hours earlier than the public Postbus. We weren't snowboarding on the first day, but we wanted to get there as early as possible to explore the town.

We were greeted by both Trish & Steve on our arrival at Haus Patricia, they made us feel very welcome and we felt at home straight away. Our room was lovely, very clean, lots of storage for all the ski gear and a lovely view of the Kitzsteinhorn Glacier. The beds had new memory foam mattresses and were extremely comfortable - just what you need after a day on the slopes and a little après-ski!

There were lots of breakfast options - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, breads, homemade jams, cheeses and ham. Trish gave us the option of an egg every morning, which she cooked however we liked. We really enjoyed eating out at the restaurants recommended by Trish and Steve and the one night we were too tired to venture out, Trish made us a fantastic chilli con carne. We also made use of the in-Haus bar!

The buses go regularly to the Kitzsteinhorn, Maiskogel and Zell am See. The bus stop is a 2/3 minute walk from Haus Patricia which is very handy, especially in ski gear. We really enjoyed the snowboarding, it was a little too warm for the lower areas (Maiskogel & Zell am See) but the conditions on the Kitzsteinhorn Glacier were very good. We are planning another trip to Kaprun next January when it's a little colder and hopefully there will be more snow lower down... and of course we'll be staying at Haus Patricia!

Thanks Trish and Steve! T & J x

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Our fourth visit to Trish and Steve at Haus Patricia and possibly the best holiday yet. The food was fantastic, the rooms spotless and comfortable, and as usual, their attention to detail was second to none. Everything taken care of, including booking lessons from the comfort of the lounge, and our 'appointment' at Mikey's ski hire shop so we didn't have to queue! On their night off, Trish and Steve not only arranged the trip out to the Austrian evening in a restaurant on the Maiskogel (can't remember the name, can't actually remember much about it at all...!), the fact that they came with us shows just how much they enjoy their role as 'hosts', making sure that all the guests had a great evening and all got involved. Kaprun itself is a great location, with easy access to skiing on the Kitsteinhorn and Zell if you were to tire of the Maiskogel. I couldn't recommend Haus Patricia more highly, and am already planning the next trip!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This was my third year skiing in Kaprun and staying with Trish and Steve. This time I had my four sons and four other friends with me. All our rooms were very comfortable, clean, warm and spacious. The whole house was beautifully decorated and kept in immaculate condition. The food was simply outstanding and even my teenagers loved it! Trish and Steve are very friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful. The house is close to the bus stops, shops and restaurants, and conveniently situated to other lovely resorts . The slopes on Kitzsteinhorn glacier are always covered with good snow so skiing is guaranteed! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble for hosts Trish and Steve ably assisted by Jack. Everything was done to make life easy, from organising our transfers to and from Salzburg airport, to introducing us to an Austrian entertainment evening and making arrangements for our large group to go the the local spa one evening. Add to that comfortable, clean bedrooms, super food and a lovely lounge to sit in before and after dinner and you get total relaxation. Trish and Steve also have so much useful information to give you during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Can't recommend Haus Patricia highly enough.
The accommodation is everything you could want for a ski trip.
We were there in a large group, but Steve and Trish couldn't do enough for us...organising nights out, ski hire, passes, lessons etc.
The hosts were great, the food was great, the accommodation was great, and all of us had a fantastic time.

If you are in Kaprun and looking for somewhere to stay, Haus Patricia definitely won't disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The reviews are right. Book it. Job done. The place is a delight. Trish and Steve are lovely folk, who will make you feel welcome within seconds of arriving. Free wifi, a bar, a friendly dog, comfortable rooms (even though I think we had the least 'special') and all the inside knowledge and recommendations you could hope for. On another note, don't book any hire equipment before you get there. They know a great guy called Mikey at Europa Sport who will match/beat any online price and treat you properly. I even broke my board and Mikey was a saint, pretty much allowing me to dictate a letter to my insurers that he stamped and signed! We will most definitely be back, and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus Patricia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Patricia

Address: Kellnerfeldstrasse 1, Kaprun A-5710, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haus Patricia, English owned and run B&B Guesthouse. Come and feel at home in the heart of Kaprun Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haus Patricia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Patricia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.