We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seewinkel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seewinkel to your Saves list
Hotel Seewinkel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 31, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everything was perfect from the warm welcome on arrival to the attention to detail from all the staff and the fond farewell on departure. We had stayed at the hotel before about 20 years ago and always intended to go back and we are so glad we did. It was a very nice hotel before but the improvements and attention to detail has made this hotel a little gem and highly recommended. Food,facilities (canoes, paddle boat, rowing boat,sauner, steam room, infra red cabin, bikes etc.) and staff can not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble. It is a great base for exploring the beautiful area, the scenery takes your breath away. We even had the bonus of a room upgrade. All rooms had great views, but this room overlooked the lake and had views of the mountains. We ended our holiday feeling totally relaxed and recharged, which is what holidays are all about. We shall definitely be coming back and will not leave it so long this time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seewinkel, Inhaber at Hotel Seewinkel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello,

thank you for writing this review.
We are glad that you found back your way to Fuschl after such a long time.
It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and that you could return totally relaxed to everyday life.

Hope we see you soon in the Hotel Seewinkel!

Best wishes
Family Ferstl & Seewinkel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in the self catering apartments next to the hotel. The superior apartment was fabulous with a great balcony overlooking the lake, nice spacious rooms, great bathroom, lovely warm apartment to return to after a day out at the Advent Markts.
It would be better if there was a double bed in the second bedroom as there is enough room and the kitchenette to be a little better equipped, i.e.no oven only two electric rings and a microwave.
We also had the studio next door but the interconnecting doors didn't work and the studio is more of a bedroom with a kitchenette no comfortable seating area only table and chairs.
Having said that these are improvements that could be made and we would return.

Room Tip: the superior apartment _ has an outside balcony and much more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, with a fantastic location on the edge of Lake Fuschl in a very characterful village, approx 25 miles from Salzburg, in the Salzkammergut region of beautiful Austria. We have visited this village several times in the past and stayed at other hotels, but are delighted to have discovered the best hotel in the Hotel Seewinkel. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - nothing is too much for them. The food was excellent and we were really pleased to be able to eat out on the terrace facing the lake - even though the staff were required to frequently climb up and down stairs from the upstairs kitchen and dining room. The hotel offer free canoes, a pedalo and a rowing boat, as well as motorized bikes for their guests. They also offer to pick up guests from Salzburg airport, if necessary. Wonderful - can't wait to return next year.
Dr and Mrs John Taylor

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are quite hot because the hotel does not have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seewinkel, Inhaber at Hotel Seewinkel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear family Taylor,

it was very nice for us reading this review. Thank you!
A big compliment for us is to hear that you found the best hotel in Fuschl - Hotel Seewinkel. We always try to fulfill all wishes and we are happy that we had success.
It is a special service of our house to pick up guest at the airport or train station.
Thank you for your appreciation!

See you hopefully next year.
Best regards

Johanna & Albert Ferstl + Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rum, Tirol, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We now came the 3rd time to Hotel Seewinkel for a relaxing stay and we can definitely say that we were hearty welcomed. The staff was really friendly and the food excellent.
The view from the rooms with balcony to the garden and the lake with swans and ducks is really fantastic. The hotel is located directly at the lakefront which permits free access for swimming, paddling, using the canoe or rowing boat.
There a many walks in the sourroundings and excursions to the other lakes of the Salzkammeergut are recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seewinkel, Inhaber at Hotel Seewinkel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Werner,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment.
You and your wife are really special guests for us and we are always delighted when you come to Hotel Seewinkel again!

Hope to see you next year.

We wish you all the best.

Family Ferstl & Seewinkel-Tam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Seewinkel in August 2012 the food was excellent the staff were very polite and helpful the rooms were clean with great views of the lake from are balcony room we would choose this hotel again, there are some nice walks in the area plus a good bus service to St Gilgen Bad Ischl and Salzburg a trip to the top of the Zwolfer Horn on the gondola is a must with great views from the top pick a clear day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seewinkel, Inhaber at Hotel Seewinkel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear cris,

thank you for this very postitve review.
It's nice to hear, that you had such a nice time in Fuschl. Our hotel is really a great starting point for various excursions to the surrounding. Not only to Salzburg, also to St. Gilgen, Bad Ischl,... The Zwölferhorn is truly a very special place in the Salzkammergut.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Johanna & Albert Ferstl with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there for a couple of nights on a recent trip through Austria and had a wonderful time. The staff was extremely friendly and the amentities were fantastic. The hotel is one of the few located directly on the lake (with free access to watersports, sauna and steam room). The atmosphere was extremely relaxing and the meals were first class!

We hope to return again next year and will certainly tell our friends about this hidden gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seewinkel, Inhaber at Hotel Seewinkel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Tim,

thank you for taking time to write this review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Seewinkel. The staff was glad to hear, that you appreciated their dealing with our guest, especially with you.

Hope we see you and your friends again next year.

Best regards

Family Ferstl and the Seewinkel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel, more specifically in one of the apartments in the newly built villa for four nights in August. The location is fantastic, as was the view from our bed/livingroom, and it is one of the few places directly at the lake. We loved the watersports gear provided by the hotel, which included a stand-up paddle board. We disliked a few minor things: the hooks for towels in our bathroom were self-adhesive plastic ones that you can get in every supermarket - both of them fell off the wall during our stay and were not replaced. When we asked for bathrobes (at the front desk), the manager told us to fetch them from the sauna (in the basement) ourselves, which we would have even done, had there been any. And one of waiters had never heard of the cake buffet that is advertised on the website. Nevertheless, we found our stay at the hotel very relaxing and would likely come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seewinkel, Inhaber at Hotel Seewinkel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Florian,
thank you very much for your review we are glad that you had a relaxing time in our hotel.

Thank you for the advice regarding the hooks for the towels. Those have been fixed by our predecessor, however we will change them and place some more.
We are sorry for the bathrobes, there had been a mix-up, you can find bath towels in our sauna, the bathrobes are available at the reception.
Our half bord includes also BBQ evenings, dessert buffets and ice cream buffets, unfortunately you hadn't the chance to see one. But we will try to arrange it, when you come back to the Seewinkel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Family Ferstl & the Seewinkel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seewinkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seewinkel

Address: Seestrasse 31, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuschl am See
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fuschl am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuschl am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
#3 Family Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seewinkel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management this hotel enjoys an enviable location directly beside the lake with lovely views over the water and the mountains beyond. Hotel Seewinkel features a private beach with a sun bathing area, sunbeds and sunshades. Free access to Wi-Fi is available in the lobby. unique position on the lake ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Seewinkel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seewinkel Hotel Fuschl Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seewinkel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.