We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Basilica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica St.Michael

Basilica St.Michael
Mondsee, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Mondsee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited St. Michael's Church twice - Once in January after a light snow had fallen, and again in July with temps in the 30s. Beautiful venue, and an easy drive from Salzburg (20mins by motorway or 30 mins on the scenic route). A must-see! We watched Sound of Music the night before our tour so we could easily recall the places from the film.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A gorgeous church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the movie church from The Sound of Music but even if you are not a fan it is too lovely to miss. Easy to get to by car...as we did. The plaza in front is beautiful. We were there in a cold,pouring rain so the konditerai on the corner serving hot offerings was a find!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited on a very wet day so couldn't really appreciate the town.
Inside the Basilica it was amazingly ornate and beautifully kept.
Very popular destination because of the connection with "The Sound of Music".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Very Pretty Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really wanted to see this cathedral because it was in the Sound of Music. Besides being in the movie, it is a absolutely beautiful church, not to be missed. It is in a wonderful little town that can be reached easily from Salzburg. Parking is available in the back, and not only is the interior very pretty, but the yellow and white exterior is also stunning. Places to eat right around there and check out the lake too. A nice explore!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“The picturesque wedding church in the "Sound of Music"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Basilika St. Michael is a must see in Mondsee. The interior is exactly the same as it was when the movie was filmed. It's even more impressive up close when looking at the ornate details. The pink color with the wooden framework makes it a warm and inviting atmosphere. The yellow exterior is bright and welcoming. I can definitely see why this church was selected for filming the wedding scene. It's very true to the character of Maria in the movie. The church would be the place she'd select to have her friends and family congregate for such a special occasion.

You can also get little bottles of holy water for a donation as well as buy gifts from their store. I bought a nice little ornament of the church within a star for my Christmas tree. It was the prefect keepsake.

Overall, Mondsee is just a beautiful little town full of scenic views of Moon Lake and the mountains. It's a nice place to soak in nature.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica St.Michael also viewed

Mondsee, Upper Austria
Mondsee, Upper Austria
 

Been to Basilica St.Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica St.Michael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.