We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great place to spend a night after driving the GrossGlocknerStrasse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Senger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Senger to your Saves list
Chalet Hotel Senger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hof 23, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great place to spend a night after driving the GrossGlocknerStrasse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Andreas is like others have said, a good guy to be running a hotel, he is helpful, cordial, and speaks excellent English.

I chose this place based on reviews here and booking.com, and was not disappointed. The room at the front of the hotel I had offered a lovely view of the mountains, and a lovely balcony. The public areas for relaxing and dining had a beautiful rustic ambience, and breakfasting was a real pleasure for both the quality of the food, and the vibe.

The only thing that didnt quite suit me was that being a fat, lazy, middle aged guy prematurely on the way to being an old guy, the walk to the town is not really an easy one, ie its downhill 400m, but then up hill coming back is the bit I wasnt prepared for. Luckily I had a car, so no problem. But if you are out of shape, like me, get a car, or a hotel right in town.

Room Tip: dont book the cheapest one available, like I did, because it is too pokey, even for one, and has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
75
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Even before we arrived, I had the best feeling about this place. The owner, Andreas, was so extremely helpful with all kinds of advise - per telephone and email - He sent us the vouchers for the Hochalpenstrasse and at our request he booked a private hiking guide for us. Karl turned out to be exactly what we had hoped for - very knowledgable, and a great personality with the best sense of humor. When we arrived, we were absolutely blown away with the Chalet Senger. Just two minutes from the center of Heiligenblut, it is situated so idyllic in the midst of natuire and surrounded by the most gorgeous and scenic mountain views, that you forget that there even is a little town nearby. The warm welcome, absolute impeccable service, the very authentic alpine decor - made us feel immediately that we wanted to stay there longer than we had planned. We also ate there both evenings and the food was excellent, the young girl that served us was an absolute delight. If our schedule had allowed us to stay longer, we would have, but we all decided that we would definitely come back to this wonderful little gem. Congratulations Andreas - you have done everything right!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildeer, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This small hotel is carefully managed by its owners, Andreas and Rosemarie. Andreas cordially greets each guest as they are having breakfasts, mingling and helping answer questions. Andreas and Rosemarie are "born to the trade" as their warmth and graciousness is completely natural. This was our second stay, and we will always look forward to another chance to return.

Each room is individually decorated, and furnished with many amenities, including fluffy robes. Breakfasts are of the quality you might express at this higher price point. Eggs may be ordered prepared to your taste and the buffet choices are varied and excellent. The servers at meals are very well trained, or service is done by Andreas and Rosemarie.

The views of the Grossglockner and the church in the village make this a lovely destination. We purchased the National Park pass which gives free access to the hiking bus. Andreas is able to offer excellent advice on hiking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We are so glad we went with this hotel choice. The owners Rosemarie and Andreas, were so nice, and their English is excellent. Congratulations to Rosemarie and Andreas on their staff, they are a reflection of their hosts... excellent! The food was mouth watering, we ate at the hotel all three nights. Had the great pleasure of enjoying Rosemarie's Wednesday night special 'Fondue' it was lovely, something new for my husband and I. The atmosphere is peaceful, quiet, and romantic. The "Room with A View" was breathtaking (all rooms have a balcony with a view). The Senger is a motorcycle-friendly hotel, they have garage parking for the bikes which is a big bonus for motorcyclists. One suggestion for the owners - this may not be a big item for some folks but I recommend expanding the WiFi capability so that it is accessible in the whole building - WiFi was advertised only in the lobby area but we were able to get a weak signal in our room (#19). Would we go back....in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in early June (the first weekend it opened for the summer season), loved this hotel and can't wait to return. If our schedule had allowed, we would have happily stayed longer. We arrived late afternoon after driving over the Grossglockner pass - which is so spectacular (if the weather is good) it is hard to accurately describe.

Andreas showed us to our large, clean room (#33) with a comfortable double bed and a nice little loft with a single bed (very cute, and it would be perfect for a child, or an adult if friends were traveling together). Our room, not surprisingly, had a ski resort "feel" to it. It faced the mountains, which are close and loom over the valley, and had a beautiful view down the mountain of the picturesque village of Heiligenblut (a 5 minute walk away) - all easy to see from the nice balcony with a small table and chairs. The view from the balcony was so nice it was hard to leave the room.

The owners, Andreas and Rosemarie, are locals, so they know the area very well, and they are very friendly. We were traveling with our 22 year old son, and Andreas graciously showed us 2 or 3 available rooms that would give our son a place to study and sleep . He chose a perfect small, quiet room (#28) with a single bed and bath in the back of the 3rd floor - just what he (and we) needed.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel both days. It was cool enough each evening that Andreas started a fire in the dining room each time - very romantic. The dining room on the main floor is quite nice, and we were "assigned" the same table for every meal. Breakfast is a healthy buffet. Dinner is more formal, but still very comfortable, with an impressive variety of main courses. There are a few other locations for meals in the village, but we had no interest in going anywhere else to eat breakfast or dinner.

Andreas suggested a hike to see a gorgeous waterfall just outside of the village, which took about 2 hours and was well worth it. Before the hike we had lunch outdoors at a small cafe in the center of the village, and were pleasantly surprised to see a wedding party celebrate by walking from the church into the town square, preceded by a full band and followed by about 50 guests!

If you plan to to to this area, stay at Chalet Senger. You will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Senger for just one night, and it couldn't have been a better stay! We arrived late after lingering on the Grossglockner for sunset, but the hosts were extremely accommodating and even gave us a complimentary room upgrade for not being able to serve us dinner (which was entirely our own fault!). The patio at night was quiet and peaceful with candlelit tables and crickets chirping. The room was spotless and very comfortable with excellent views over the valley, and the breakfast had a huge variety of things to choose from. I wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed again one week and we chosed the junior suite with our two childs. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a small kitchen and a living room. It is like a small apartment and makes the holiday with two kids very convenient. The welcoming atmosphere, the owners Bizi and Andreas and a lot of custom furnishings and decorations gives you a very personal feeling - like coming home! The nice breakfast and excellent 4 courses dinner with a very good selection of wine made our stay perfect. Even if we had special wishes the chef fulfilled all of them and exceeded our expectations always. One evening we had 'fondue' like 'hot pot' with different meat, vegetables, french fries and various kind of sauces - the highlight of the week!
The view from the balcony to the highest mountain in Austria the 'Grossglockner' was amazing!
Here we could really relax and escape from the busy daily work in Shanghai where we live.
We hope to stay longer next time. We can recommend this hotel in all respects.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Senger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Senger

Address: Hof 23, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Hotel Senger 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Chalet Hotel in the Nationalpark 'Hohe Tauern'right on the bottom of the highest mountain in Austria (Großglockner 3798 m). Best place for Austrian mountain holiday feeling. Stunning nature, hikes in the National Park, waterfalls - Großglockner Hochalpenstrasse - panoramic road. In winter skiing. Heaps of snow. Fireplaces and all around cozy atmosphere. Rooms, Suites and Appartemtnst with beautiful mountainview. Small restaurant with excellent Austrian food. Hideway to stay ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Hotel Senger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Senger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.