We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Glocknerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Glocknerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Glocknerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hof 6-7, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night here as we passed through this part of Austria. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very impressive and complete. But the best part of this hotel is the location. It is situated right next to the famous church.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Glocknerhof after a long drive. At the reception the welcome was very cold. The young lady just gave us the key to our room and that was that. No mentioning about at what time or where the evening dinner or breakfast was, she didn't even point us out where our room was! We needed to read our room number on the key and figure it out ourselves!! We gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt: maybe she had a bad day? But during the next days the unfriendliness/rudeness of certain staff members- especially- in the dining room and on the reception- kept on. What happened to Austrian Gemutlichkeit??The cleaning ladies and the hotel owners though where very friendly. So after a week we decided to leave the hotel 3 nights earlier than planned. Instead of being relaxed we were more stressed then when we arrived. What a shame

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Physically the hotel is nice and the area is spectacular. But the staff in the dining room were incredibly unfriendly and rude. No one greated us when we arrived for breakfast despite many staff being present and so we chose one of the 20-30 empty tables. Shortly therefater we were severally berated for not choosing the correct table. We had no idea how to determine that because our German is not good. We offered to move but the staff member continued to demean us in front of others and in a very aggressive and unprofessional manner. It upset us so much that we rushed upstairs and grabbed our suitcases and left the hotel within minutes of the incident. I would never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to any one. I have travelled many times in Europe and have spent 10 years off and on in Europe. I have never been treated so badly and for abosultely no reason. We were polite and so shocked that all we could think of doing is fleeing the hotel, the area and in fact the country. We drove to Prague that day and had a wonderful time and all the people were very friendly. Never ever again will I go near this area!!

Room Tip: Do not attempt to eat at this hotel and avoid the staff if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice hotel with everything well managed and controlled; we had a Junior suite and was delicious both in terms of comfort, cleaness and service.
The hall is not very big and you have very few things to do in hotel during the evening, at 9pm there is the shut down of all the activities and also the reception at 10 pm closes.
The swimming pool is small but nice, the SPA is well managed while the Solarium is pretty small .

A remarkable notice is the Kinderhaus where you can find Elizabeth that will take care of your kids while you will relax during the day.

The Restaurant gives you a starting buffet every evening and then you have the possibility to choose the main dish; to be noticed that they try to have a variaty of choices and foods every evening (you will not be bored after 2 days as happens in many hotel).

The position of the Hotel is in the center of the town, the center is amazing and it's 150mt long, in any case the Hotel's owners are a very gentle and well know Family and the hotel lives from early morning a daily tourism flow.

The only thinks I didn't appreciate are the fact that you have to pay for the natural water (1Euro) of the pitcher and the internet conection cost 1euro per hour.

For all the rest you can enjoy a wonderfull stay in a Romatic Atmosphere just below the GROSSGLOCHNER!

Room Tip: Ask for a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We arrived late at the hotel after a long day driving. The receptionist suggested we leave the car outside the hotel and eat before we needed to check in. We were expecting a sandwich so we were delighted to enjoy a very pleasant dinner.
Our room was pleasant and spotless as was the bathroom.
Breakfast was good and served in the dining room which has a wonderful view of the valley and mountains.
The next day we crossed over the high alpine road - a wonderful experience with great roadside botanizing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Overall everything was good. However, there were a couple of excellent thing I must tell you. First of all the food was excellent and extravaganzant. Dinner was most definitely mouth watering. The rooms were excellent too and very clean. I look forward to visiting Glocknerhof once again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Beautiful hotel in our favourite part of Austria. Room rate includes half board (breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner) and the hotel refunds/provide free passes to Glassglockner (if you're driving). Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Internet available at minimal charge. Would definitely come back here especially to Heiligenblut (can't say enough about the town - beautiful, quaint and the locals are extremely friendly especially at the pub across from the hotel). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Glocknerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glocknerhof

Address: Hof 6-7, Heiligenblut 9844, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Heiligenblut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glocknerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Glocknerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glocknerhof Hotel Heiligenblut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Glocknerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.