We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berggasthof Wallackhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Berggasthof Wallackhaus to your Saves list
Berggasthof Wallackhaus
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Untertauern 20, Heiligenblut 9844 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Heiligenblut B&B and Inns
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mountain jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent hotel or should I say more like a home away from home high (2304 m) in the Grossglockner surroundings. Room was big, especially the bathroom, nice view from its window at 2nd floor. The food was also great and the hospitality of the family owners exemplary. Stronly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a very nice stay here for one night. We reached very late at night and they offered to make Pizzas for us, as city is quite a drive from this place. The Hotel is right in the national park in the middle of nowhere. Beautiful location and scenery. Great find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My family has spent here more then 10 consecutive years/weeks of spring break skiing holiday. We have always been there as a group of at least 3 other families. Gerwald and his family are hard workers,honest people . Prices are fair, food is allriight. The feeling of being first on the "private" slope is awesome ! There is new lift !

I have always loved the part of our arrival when we had to load all our luggage and skis into cable cabbins and at the end, the owner , Gerwald would give us a ride , either by a snow-jet or private "snowtruck(used for track maintanance)" rebuilt for his own uses.

-no wifi
+ski room with heated holders for skiboots.
-Heiligenbluth skiing area is relatively small - only aroud 55km, and it might get crowded during lunchtime.

2000-2010

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Big Family holiday, stayed here in 3 rooms. Excellent place, beautiful location, excellent building and rooms done in the swedish wood/cedar style, probably the best breakfast we've had during our european holiday, a real tasty dinner too AND super value for money. Super staff, very friendly and helpful to us non-german speakers as well. Will definitely be back. My parents still say this was the "find" of the holiday this summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berggasthof Wallackhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggasthof Wallackhaus

Address: Untertauern 20, Heiligenblut 9844 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Heiligenblut
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Heiligenblut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berggasthof Wallackhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Berggasthof Wallackhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berggasthof Wallackhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.