We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Christmas with family and friends !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo to your Saves list
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katschberghohe 6, Rennweg 9863, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Christmas with family and friends !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our families first skiing holiday, and wow what a time we had!
The hotel is perfectly positioned ski in / ski out as we have two girls 7 and 9 who were both in ski school for the week.
Food was ample and the selection was always beautifully presented with knowledgeable food and wine staff.
The hotel was immaculate and so was our family suite looking out over the piste.
My only grumble would be that the wifi was slightly temperental.
The spa was marvellous along with the kids spa and pool great fun!
On Boxing Day we went through the forest to a log cabin on a horse drawn sleigh which was a wonderful experience the scenary was quite stunning!

The hotel made Christmas truly magical for us and the girls and we would love to return one day!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    76
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
153
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is located at about 1600m in short walking distance to several ski lifts. It caters to guest with children and to guest interested in spa treatments. It offers AI as well as gourmet style dishes - the meals were great. Rooms an common areas are very clean, stylish and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful but sometimes a bit scarce in the restaurant.
All in all a very nice hotel where I would consider staying again.
The reason why I am only giving three stars is the fact that they promote their children's program for up to 12 year olds but there were few activities that interested even 10 year old kids. This disappointed us quite a bit because the program for older children was the main reason why chose to stay there. Another drawback is that you are awakened in the morning by children running through the hallways since the flooring is apparently not well insulated (did not hear any noise from the other rooms though!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am generally well-disposed towards the Falkensteiner hotels. For a regional business trip, I always check if there’s a Falkensteiner around; they are invariably best located, with comfortable rooms, good food and attentive staff. You simply can’t go wrong. But the Cristallo! Oh, this hotel makes me very, very happy indeed. We keep getting back. Each time I’m planning a ski trip for my family I try to check out another hotel in the area to build up a body of recommendations, but it’s Cristallo again and again, and I never ever regretted it. Year after year it offers a great holiday experience to my family, however varied our tastes and proclivities may be – from an absolute ski-lover to an absolute spa-lover. The slopes are right in front, service runs on rails, the staff are fantastic, so helpful and friendly; the ladies behind the reception desk always prepared to check you in on the hoof, making a booking or arrangement you might need or a suggestion you didn’t know you needed. This might be unfair, but the Italian lady whose name I forgot, for which I honestly apologize, and Heidi couldn’t have been more lovely and more helpful. The spa is exquisite, pristine clean, spacious yet intimate, offering a long list of perfectly customized, unbelievably enjoyable massages for adults and children alike. The rooms are wonderful – the family room would always be my choice; having stayed in too many anonymous hotel boxes, I now fully appreciate the design that makes you feel at home, but with that sophisticated, modern sensibility that makes you feel special at the same time. This is exactly the feel all Cristallo rooms can offer – plus the generously sized wardrobe, the proper writing desk and the proper bathroom, with a walk-in shower and a bath tub conveniently low and easy to step in for a child. And plenty of soft, white towels that even some ridiculously priced five-star hotels can be stingy about. I’m not sure if all rooms have it, but we did enjoy the amazing view, too. Before I forget, there is a great ski school on the premises - the instructors are perfect, kind, patient and professional (but it was Miha who put our youngest on skis, for which I'll always be grateful to him. Now, about food. God, I love the food! It’s superb. Thank you Mr. Edwin, please be there next year! The restaurant and bar staff were amazing, so polite, kind and composed - don't forget, this is not the Beverly Wilshire but a family hotel. I love it, I really do, and it's always a pleasure to recommend it.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
182 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I hate to buck the trend but I guess one's view of a place is heavily influenced by one's own experience of it - and ours left quite a bit to be desired.

The village itself is purpose built for skiing although I understand there is a lot of walking in the summer. Unfortunately virtually none of those pathways are cleared in the winter, unlike many other Austrian resorts. There is a walk to a hutte that follows the road taken by the carriage rides, a short one in deep snow to a ski lift and the near vertical climb to the top of the toboggan run and that is your lot. I found that very disappointing, given the effort so many other resorts make, particularly as many partners/grandparents, etc don't ski. This resort simply makes no effort to cater for them.

There are several bars and pizzerias but these had virtually all shut down despite the fact that it was Easter and the lifts were open and the hotels were busy. On the plus side, the slopes are right in front of you and the ski school, the meeting point and the hire shop are on the premises. On the downside, the village is pretty ugly, not a typical Austrian hamlet/town with hardly any shops and a tiny supermarket with very limited stock. The bars that were open were really noisy and, although our room was very hot despite switching off the heating, you kept having to shut the windows to avoid the boom of the disco beat. One night, is was truly unbearable until 2am!!

The hotel itself is large, with a dining room with numerous areas and a large bar. The bar staff were fabulous, really hard working and pleasant, despite being way too stretched as the hotel was shutting down at the weekend and staff had apparently already left. There is a large indoor pool with an adjoining outside heated pool. When you read the hotel website, you could be forgiven for thinking that this area is for adults only but that isn't the case. Children are allowed in allegedly until 6pm although we saw many in there long after that watershed.

There is a children's pool as well but it is relatively small and was absolutely packed after ski school stopped for the day. There is a childrens club as well and our 4 year old often went after tea for an hour or so, giving the adults the chance to eat and have a glass of wine in peace.

We had paid an upgrade for Royal rooms which have supposedly been refurbished. If this is the case, I hate to think when. Although our room was reasonably spacious, the wardrobe actually had holes in it and wouldn't close properly. There were holes in the curtains and the keyboard on the safe was completely worn away so you had to guess which key related to which letter. The mattress was flat and uncomfortable and the pillows were truly awful. I had neck ache all week. The bathroom was the only area that appeared relatively new but even here, the shower fitting had to be pried into a frightful position to pevent water flooding out. The room was also at a junction of a corrider and bombarded with the noise from screaming, unsupervised children who made a dreadful noise until at least 10pm.

The food was also disappointing, virtually always a buffet with only the occasional meal served and even then, usually just one course. A far cry from the truly great food we've experienced in other Austrian hotels and very poor indeed for vegetarians. More a canteen than a restaurant!

This is really only a hotel to entertain if you have small children. Our little one loved the facilities and learning to ski (although not all the instructors had a good attitude with children - Maggy was, however, a true superstar)! However, even with a child, we were astonished at the behaviour of some of the other children and their parents and this has certainly put us off this hotel for the future.

My advice would be:

- request a room that doesn't face towards the town bars if you can't sleep through a disco
- ask for one tucked away around the end of a corridor to avoid screaming brat syndrome
- if you're there in a support role and not skiing, pack your swimsuit and lots of books
- drinks are pretty expensive but buy anything you want at the airport on the way out as there is little likelihood of getting it at the supermarket.

Room Tip: See the body of the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've now been to Hotel Cristallo three times and it has always been great. It has everything you need for a family skiing holiday, if your children are under 12. It is beautiful, very child friendly, the staff are always friendly and helpful - and this year we had great snow for skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very nice hotel in the Austrian mountains.
The ski slope for beginners are just ouside the front door, and there are other ski slopes for the more experienced. There is a lounge bar with stunning views.
The spa area is very large and there is a beautiful relaxation area with loungers.
Very useful also the area where children can spend their time. The rooms all soo charming wooden and cozy. Hotel much suggested.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am sad to say that possibly due to the number of positive reviews received since we first discovered the Cristallo some 12 years ago it now appears to be almost to popular and busy for the staff to cope with at times.
It always as been promoted as a family hotel, even to the extent of having it's own childrens sauna and pool area. but of late it appears that increasingly parents are allowing their children to join them in the adult only area's. During our last visit 2 weeks ago the staffing levels in the wellness area was also lacking so effectively the area was not policed or monitored. The net result being that I felt adults were now not being allowed to enjoy the wellness and relaxation areas to their full due to what appeared to be unsupervized children playing in the whole hotel. This even on occassions extend to the restruant area on occasions.
This is not actuallu the fault of the hotel, more the particular parents. Never the less the hotel have a responsibilty to look after all their guests, not just those who decide to take pushchairs baby buggies and all their worldly possesions into the eating areas.
We did complain to the management and were reseated into a less child over run area.
To echo another reviewer I also notice the tendency to start clearing the table before all the guests had finished a particular course, again I fear a sad reflection of the staffing quality.
Having said all that I still found the hotel one of the best in the area, I still look upon it as my second home and am always pleased to be welcomed by some many of the staff who have been there for years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rennweg
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
18.8 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#4 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ortners Eschenhof
Ortners Eschenhof
#9 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Katschberghof
#4 of 4 in Rennweg
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Hinteregger
#3 of 4 in Rennweg
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
19.1 mi away
Harmony's - Hotel Praegant
Harmony's - Hotel Praegant
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo

Address: Katschberghohe 6, Rennweg 9863, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Rennweg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel Rennweg
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo Austria/Rennweg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.