We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Familienhotel Post

Familienhotel Post
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Millstatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Familienhotel Post
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mirnockstrasse 38, Millstatt 9872, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Millstatt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

3 children enjoyed their stay with all the supporting facilities. Day to day organization was very helpful for the parents as well. Friendly and cosy atmosphere. Skiing at Goldeck is close enough, sledging is well organized.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cosy, safe and welcoming: this is how I would describe the hotel situated in the most beautifully located town I have ever been. I had been planning to spend a holiday in a Kinderhotel for ages and I was not disappointed. The location is excellent, on a very quiet street of an ancient town with breathtaking views of the lake and mountains. We went during the low season and it felt we were visiting friends, rather than staying in a hotel. The staff and guests are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a freshly renovated room “Sued”. It was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom had everything you would expect there to be. Inside the hotel is very warm. You need to have some light comfortable clothes and shoes. The children’s play centre was excellent, our boys loved being there and all the teachers were very caring and nice. The food was good, however being typically Austrian lots of dishes were with red meat and we wished for more fish and chicken. Children’s menu was excellent. Our children ate very well, which is always a bit of a worry when you are away from home. Swimming pool and children’s pool were warm and clean, we used it almost every day. My only advice you would get much more out of your holidays if you rent a car. The daily trip tips the hotel provides are for the guests with car and we were disappointed that many locations are not reachable by public transport.

Room Tip: Ask for room Sued and have an exciting view over lake and mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The three of us went to Familienhotel Post in Millstatt at Easter and had a great time. We have been to a couple of other Kinderhotels and this one is my personal favourite (my son's opinion is different because another hotel had a waterslide but he also really liked Familienhotel Post).

The service and friendliness were the strongest bits. Peter is the owner's son- and he is friendly and warm. When our arrival dates overlapped with a period the hotel was closed for renovation, he booked us into a nearby hotel for the first days of our holiday and arranged transport for us back and forth. He suggested loads of activities for us to try and personally leads mountain bike treks, fishing trips, etc. He also popped by to check in with us at least once a day- not in an obtrusive way, but in a friendly, personable way. He makes you feel more like a friend and house guest rather than a client. You can tell this approach is working as many of the guests have been coming every year for years and years.Tthere were a lot of families with teenagers who have been coming since the children were babies.

The building is nice- a classic hotel but updated with lots of amenities. The pool itself is really special, with huge windows and the pool itself is stainless steel- very striking and modern looking. There's lots of outdoor space too- there's a brook out back next to a sandpit which was great for building lakes and dams. There's also a pedal-cart track and a big lawn for playing. The building is very nice and although it's in the town it feels like it's an outdoor holiday when you're there.

The food was really nice too, not quite as 'gourmet' focused as some other kinder hotels but good quality and in generous amounts. The alcohol was good and reasonably priced too, There's even a cocktail bar with mocktails for the kids.

We had initially planned to ski while there but due to the warm spring we ended up having a spring holiday instead. There are lots of activities around- local tennis courts, the lake, horse riding, a nearby climbing wall. I can't vouch for the skiing (the one day on the slopes I had was decent as far as late season skiing goes) but I heard that the resort is being expanded and redeveloped this year.

The only less positive comments I would make are not really around the hotel itself and are more about us: we came with a 5-year old and the reality is that the space and activities are probably a bit more suitable for older children. The hotel itself is more 'adult' in decor than other kinderhotels as well- which we enjoyed but I could see this being a place we go back to once our son is a few years older. The other point is that the regulars at this hotel are primarily German speakers- so while they are all very friendly it might be a little tough for English-speaking children to make friends. Our son is pretty outgoing so didn't have a problem but this might be an issue for others.

Room Tip: There's some newly renovated rooms- we didn't stay in one but they looked really nice from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great style and comfort, excellent food and service and lots of amenities for families with kids. Great programs and very well run. Loved the location by the rushing stream I could hear all night if I wanted to . And the location in this charming village that offers a rich culture going back centuries and filled with great history as well as access to nature, the lake and great vistas. I highly recommend this place for a rich experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the lake , this on the west allow you to hear the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

i spent a week at this hotel. the room was great (bed, linen, shower). The staff was very friendly and always ready to halp. the city is small and beautiful and the ski station is near.
i`d love to go back again and stay at the same place.
very recomended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel has many many Good Things And a few Bad Things. So lets Start with the Good Things. The Hotel has many Great activities including Golf, Nordic walking, Yoga, And many more. It includes 4 Pools (Baby Pool, Kids Pool, another Baby Pool, And a small indoor Pool) it also has a go cart Track, Bungee Castle, Beach Volley Ball, football(Soccer), And a Basketball Field Out of Grass. One of the negative Points is The Food Because theres barely any Food Kids like( wich is quite dissapointing for a Family Hotel) so i recommend that you should go to peppinos Pizzeria (which is 5 Mins away from The Hotel.
I strongly recommend you to go to The Bonsai Museum nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Friendly staff with a solid, hospitable attitude. A good choice for families with small children as concept is based on familiy friendly facilities and activities. However, facilities are not necessarily 4 stars: Pool is fine but pool area packed during sunny days as the surrounding area is very small. Connected changing/shower facilities are very poor and urgently needs renovation. "Football playing field" is a small grass lane, not maintained. Gocart facilities OK.

Huge restaurant with nice outdoor terrace, good atmosphere. Food is plenty, solid and high quality - Austrian rural cuisine - with friendly and (with some variations) competent service. We stayed in a family room with town view. Size OK but a bit dull with thick carpet, could need some updating. In general there are thick carpets all over the hotel, leaving a somewhat dusty impression. Staying at the hotel gives access to sister hotel Postillon at the lake (10 min walk) with excellent swimming options. For daytrips try the nearby Lammersdorfer Hütte (mountain views and hiking routes) and the small artistic and medieval town of Gmünd.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Familienhotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familienhotel Post

Address: Mirnockstrasse 38, Millstatt 9872, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Millstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Millstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Familienhotel Post 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Familienhotel Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Familienhotel Post to your Saves list