We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant place for foodies and alpine explorers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am See - Die Forelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel am See - Die Forelle to your Saves list
Hotel am See - Die Forelle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fischergasse 65, Millstatt 9872, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Millstatt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“brilliant place for foodies and alpine explorers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a rather unassuming hotel with a brilliant beach location and true gourmet dining. We only find out at the very last day of our stay that they have their on trout fountain with live fish to serve for lunch.
Fantastic views of the lake, alfresco dining on the lake, excellent quality meals, generous breakfast options.
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have just returned from a holiday at the hotel Die Forelle at Millstatt and I cannot praise it enough. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the facilities were out of this world, and the location was perfect, right on the lake. The food needs a separate mention as it was out of this world. And if you didn't like anything on the menu, they would do something especially for you.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glosssop, Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Millstatt and we cannot praise the Hotel die Forelle highly enough. The staff are friendly & helpfull, the food is delicious, everywhere is spotlessly clean and the location is perfect.
Probably most suited to the more mature guest as there are few facilities for older children or teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I preferred to keep this place in secret since Aug.2006 when we came there for the first time, just because I'm very jealous about this place. I'd better leave it for my family only, but understand, that Family Aniwanter who owns and runs this wonderful place, must not only survived, but gets rewards for such a great work they do everyday from dawn till sunset. This is a very special place, very right place, if you need to escape for a couple of days from a creasy megapolis and give your soul and body a quick pause. This is a very peaceful place, so if you like a kind of Sandals resorts -don't go there. Leave it for me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

This hotel is really well worth a visit.

Although booked through Thomson Holidays (not very helpful), we would suggest you book it direct and save money!

The hotel is located next to the lovely Lake Millstatt . It is very well cared for and kept in pristine condition.

Our lake view bedroom and bathroom (extra cost) were both excellent and spotlessly clean!

The new (stainless steel) indoor swimming pool and leisure facilities are truely superb!

The food was varied, very tasty and extremley well presented.

The staff were very good and helpful. Each morning and evening the owner made a point of asking each guest whether they were happy with his hotel and the service received.

Most guests were either Austrians or Germans and all the staff spoke good English.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — The high standards
  • Disliked — Booking it through Thomson Holidays
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I've been in the hotel for 2 nights in july. From the hotel you have access to the lake, beautiful place. Saunas and pool are very small, but enough for a little staying. During the summer the place is full of people. We rent bikes and had a tour around the lake. Rooms are clean but a little bit old and not so nice. Hotel is great. Breakfast and dinner were superlative. It was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel am See - Die Forelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am See - Die Forelle

Address: Fischergasse 65, Millstatt 9872, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Millstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Millstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am See - Die Forelle 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel am See - Die Forelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am See - Die Forelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.