We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pedasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama (Formerly Villa Camilla Hotel & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Pedasi
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I booked at Villa Camilla due to what was shown at their web page for my wedding aniversary. What a mistake!. I consider their web page false advertsing. First of all the photos shown over Internet are photos of a property that is closed. Do not have swiming pool, although on their photos they show one. The hotel restaurant is not theirs, therefore you can not charge it to your room. You have to pay cash or pray that their connection to the bank is working. In our room was a water kettle, not coffee machine. Our room was equipped with a small electric stove but no cooking ware. When we asked about it we were told that years ago the hotel was a "time share" property and they had an accident therefore the stove was inop. The room curtains do not block the sun light, therefore as soon as the sun goes up so do you. The room air conditioner is too small for the room, and it is located in such a way that the cool air blows over your head without possibility to avoid it. There is not night tables so you have to leave your reading material on the floor. The light switches for your room are far from your bed therefore once you turn the rooms lights off you will walk in complete darkness to your bed. In the whole room there is just one very small waste basket, not big enough. Thankfully my wise is a very understanding person but I think she deserved a lot better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager V, Manager at Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Fabrega,

My team and I felt very sad to read your review, as by the time you left, we had no clue you had such an unpleasant stay.

Since Villa Camilla's main building closed its doors to the general public last March, we have done our best to inform guests of the change. However, the internet is a very powerful tool and the management of it goes beyond our hands. The most accurate way of getting to know us is by visiting our own website, on which there is even a link that sends you to the correct listing on Trip Advisor (Beach Suites by Villa Camilla). On top of this, we do our best to inform potential guests over the phone.

On the other hand, among the many changes the property has had, we have the restaurant. During a couple of months Amaretto only worked from 8:00a.m. to 4:00p.m. and it was not until about two months ago that the restaurant re-opened until night time, which we are very grateful for. Up to now, we have had very happy eaters and that's what matters the most. Regarding the POS system, due to the remote place where we are located, it is considered to be “normal” to have telecommunication problems sometimes; but we are just very happy to be able provide credit card service.

I hope that, even though the room was not up to your particular standards, your happy and lovely wife and yourself were able to enjoy the morning walks on the beach, the nights to the sound of the waves, the room services, and the tranquility and romanticism of Los Destiladeros beach.

With best regards,

Celia Cárdenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We rented Quintet Villa, supposed to be a five star hotel. No cell phone reception (that is ok), but there is no phone in the villa !!! Not even to call the reception to ask for more towels !!! Reception is 15 min walk from the villa, only to find it closed after 4 pm. We pais alot of money for a night to get this kind of service. Not going back EVER !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager V, Manager at Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at one of the private properties that Villa Camilla manages.

Taking into consideration that Movistar is the only cell-phone company that works in this area, we advise all of our customers to come, through their reservation confirmation of this fact; so they can bring a Movistar chip and stay in communication with the hotel staff, not only through internet, but by phone.

The villa, which sleeps a maximum of seven people, is daily given one body towel, one face towel, one hand towel, and one pool towel per person, in addition to one bathroom-rug towel. On top of this, in each closet there are extra towels for the maids to change them every day, and these are in reach of the guests in case they need them earlier. However, in case more towels are needed, my staff is always happy to provide more.

In order to stay communicated with our guests, we forward the main phone to one of our personal cell-phones after reception hours. Also, there is security staff, with whom we stay in touch 24hrs, that walk around the project all day and night long, to help all guests in case they need it.

I hope that even though there wasn’t phone signal and enough towels for your extra visitors, you were able to enjoy the house itself, roof bohio, the pool, the ocean view, and the town of Pedasi!

Best regards,

Celia Cárdenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Villa Camila a few times and are always so impressed with the unique style and beautiful tropicalized spanish-colonial / morrocan architecture of the place. Every time we go we stay in a different room, and every room is totally different and unique in design. The rooms are extremely comfortable, spacious, super high ceilings, indirect lighting, and everything is first class with an old world touch and feel that makes you feel like you are staying at a Morroccan Kings house during the 1800's. Dining is also a first class experience, the cuisine is absolutely delicious, gourmet 100%. The hotel has a fantastic pool, and a fabulous outdoor lounge area with library and places to hang out in hammocks and just relax in the quiet peaceful environment. The service staff is fabulous too. The hotel is set back from the beach around 500 meters, but it is a nice walk down to the beautiful beach where there is great surf spots that are totally uncrowded, although tricky to time with the right tides. It is a short 10 to 15 minute drive to the town of Pedasi, and around 25 minutes drive to Playa Venao. I highly recommend Villa Camila for anyone visiting Pedasi or the surrounding beaches.

Room Tip: All the rooms are absolutely amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My fiance had a speaking engagement in Panama City and we decided to take a few days and head off on our own for the weekend. We rented a car and headed to Villa Camilla. What a gem of a place. Pure tranquility and beauty. We travel a lot and stay mostly at luxury resorts (Relais Chateaux, Andrew Harper, SPG Platinum members etc) and this location definitely measured up.

We can't thank the staff enough for making us feel like this was our home away from home. We took a fantastic cooking class, enjoyed fantastic food and really just got to relax and enjoy the view. Oh and we went on one of their excursions to see the sea turtles - one of the most magical things I have ever seen. Extremely surreal and so worth the long haul to get there (van, boat, horse & buggy :)).

We loved this place so much we ever considered it as a destination for our wedding. Kudos to the Villa Camilla team - well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've been living on an off in Panama for 5 years and have traveled all over the country. Villa Camilla is truly the best place I've every stayed in Panama. The last reviewer is correct that the old hotel is being made into a large Villa rental, but following the hotel website link here still brings you to the write up about their ocean lofts, beach suites, and smaller villa. It is defintely worth a look at these places! They are all beautiful, well-designed, and super close to Los Destiladeros beach (which, I might add is one of the cleanest beaches I've ever seen in Panama). My parents, husband, and I rented the small villa and it was perfect for the 4 of us. It felt incredibly spacious and comfortable. We all agreed that we wished we were staying longer! The staff is also incredibly helpful, responsive, and nice. All-in-all, it's still a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belem 1028
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last week I tried to make reservations at Villa Camilla Boutique due to the excellent recomendations here on TA.
Alas, I found out that the boutique hotel is under renovations and when ready will be rented as a single vila.
They now offer rooms at the ocean lofts and beach suites and see that TA has a separate listing for these properties under Pedasi/other accomodations.
It would be convenient for other travelers if TA 'locked' the listing for Villa Camilla Boutique.
Below a copy o hotel email:
"I hope this message find you well, and yes Beach Suites and Beach studios are indeed the same thing. As for the main building Villa Camilla at the moment is under reparation and is not open to the public and we don’t exactly know when it will be open. When it does open it will not be rented per room but as an entire villa.

Sincerely,

Manuel Araba
Recepción


Villa Camilla Suites-Ocean Lofts & Beach Villas
Playa Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Los Santos, Panama"

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager V, Manager at Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Greetings from Villa Camilla.

Thank you for your post, and please excuse us, as it took very long for us to respond to this review.

Villa Camilla has been and is currently undergoing many changes. One of the biggest one is the building itself. Since last March Villa Camilla has been operating only with the Beach Suites, Ocean Lofts, and villas. The big red building continues to be closed, as well as its pool, restaurant, and gardens. We are doing our best to accommodate our precious guests at the remaining accommodations, depending on their needs.

Please visit www.villacamillapanama.com for actual pictures of the Beach Suites. We do not longer have a pool, but the suites are set right on the beach and all six rooms have excellent views of the sea. Also, we now have a restaurant that serves all three meals and all kind of drinks.

The one thing that has not changed and we fight everyday to keep it the same is our warm personalized service.

Please, allow yourself to experience our new concept.

With best regards,

Celia Cárdenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels. The staff did everything to make our stay great. Ask for Lori for tours and trips. She was the best. The bar in the afternoon is one of the best. We also did a couple spa and it was great
Marla

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs this is not for you. Great exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama (Formerly Villa Camilla Hotel & Resort)
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Suites by Villa Camilla are located 10 minutes away from the town of Pedasi, right on the Destiladeros Beach. The suites are situated right on the beach, offering amazing views of the sea and are set surrounded by beautiful garden landscaping. The Beach Suites are equipped with 32” TV, A/C, Mini Bar and WIFI. Please note that there is a kitchenette in each Beach Suite, however cooking is not permitted. The Beach Suites by Villa Camilla have a maximum occupancy of 2 guests. Also, there is a small Bar & Restaurant that serves all three meals. If you are looking for privacy, tranquility, and relaxation, then do not hesitate to visit us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Camilla Hotel Pedasi
Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel Panama/Pedasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.