We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pedasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel
Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama (Formerly Villa Camilla Hotel & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Pedasi
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My fiance had a speaking engagement in Panama City and we decided to take a few days and head off on our own for the weekend. We rented a car and headed to Villa Camilla. What a gem of a place. Pure tranquility and beauty. We travel a lot and stay mostly at luxury resorts (Relais Chateaux, Andrew Harper, SPG Platinum members etc) and this location definitely measured up.

We can't thank the staff enough for making us feel like this was our home away from home. We took a fantastic cooking class, enjoyed fantastic food and really just got to relax and enjoy the view. Oh and we went on one of their excursions to see the sea turtles - one of the most magical things I have ever seen. Extremely surreal and so worth the long haul to get there (van, boat, horse & buggy :)).

We loved this place so much we ever considered it as a destination for our wedding. Kudos to the Villa Camilla team - well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've been living on an off in Panama for 5 years and have traveled all over the country. Villa Camilla is truly the best place I've every stayed in Panama. The last reviewer is correct that the old hotel is being made into a large Villa rental, but following the hotel website link here still brings you to the write up about their ocean lofts, beach suites, and smaller villa. It is defintely worth a look at these places! They are all beautiful, well-designed, and super close to Los Destiladeros beach (which, I might add is one of the cleanest beaches I've ever seen in Panama). My parents, husband, and I rented the small villa and it was perfect for the 4 of us. It felt incredibly spacious and comfortable. We all agreed that we wished we were staying longer! The staff is also incredibly helpful, responsive, and nice. All-in-all, it's still a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belem 1028
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last week I tried to make reservations at Villa Camilla Boutique due to the excellent recomendations here on TA.
Alas, I found out that the boutique hotel is under renovations and when ready will be rented as a single vila.
They now offer rooms at the ocean lofts and beach suites and see that TA has a separate listing for these properties under Pedasi/other accomodations.
It would be convenient for other travelers if TA 'locked' the listing for Villa Camilla Boutique.
Below a copy o hotel email:
"I hope this message find you well, and yes Beach Suites and Beach studios are indeed the same thing. As for the main building Villa Camilla at the moment is under reparation and is not open to the public and we don’t exactly know when it will be open. When it does open it will not be rented per room but as an entire villa.

Sincerely,

Manuel Araba
Recepción


Villa Camilla Suites-Ocean Lofts & Beach Villas
Playa Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Los Santos, Panama"

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager V, Manager at Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Greetings from Villa Camilla.

Thank you for your post, and please excuse us, as it took very long for us to respond to this review.

Villa Camilla has been and is currently undergoing many changes. One of the biggest one is the building itself. Since last March Villa Camilla has been operating only with the Beach Suites, Ocean Lofts, and villas. The big red building continues to be closed, as well as its pool, restaurant, and gardens. We are doing our best to accommodate our precious guests at the remaining accommodations, depending on their needs.

Please visit www.villacamillapanama.com for actual pictures of the Beach Suites. We do not longer have a pool, but the suites are set right on the beach and all six rooms have excellent views of the sea. Also, we now have a restaurant that serves all three meals and all kind of drinks.

The one thing that has not changed and we fight everyday to keep it the same is our warm personalized service.

Please, allow yourself to experience our new concept.

With best regards,

Celia Cárdenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels. The staff did everything to make our stay great. Ask for Lori for tours and trips. She was the best. The bar in the afternoon is one of the best. We also did a couple spa and it was great
Marla

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs this is not for you. Great exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife Heather and I enjoyed a two night stay at Villa Camilla and were wonderfully pleased with our entire experience. Villa Camilla is a diamond is the the rough coastal region of Pedasi, Panama. The hotel itself is showing definite signs of wear and management needs to spend some time varnishing the wood work and repainting the exterior. The mature grounds are spectacular with many interesting plant species. The wait staff are courteous and helpful but speaking some Spanish goes a long way. The reception staff are very friendly, bilingual and always available to help translate. The most notable part of our stay was the fine dining in the evening. The menu is changed daily and gives a choice of three appetizers and three main course selection. Our meals were absolutely fantastic, probably some of the best food we have had in Panama, reasonably priced ($18-20) and the presentation was superb. Overall an excellent choice for a nice get away in a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Villa Camilla for three glorious nights over the Christmas holiday. My husband and I have stayed at top notch places around the world and this places ranks among the best hotels ever. The staff is amazing and so attentive. The grounds are impeccable. One of the best things about our stay was that the hotel was at 80% occupancy and yet we felt like we were the only guests there. During our stay, we went to Isla Iguana and surfing at Playa Venao. Our excursions were seamlessly coordinated by the hotel. Pedasi is a very quaint town. We had dinner in town each night and really enjoyed it. We can't wait to come back! If you want to feel like you are a million miles away from the rat race and have an authentic experience in a foreign country yet stay at a first class location, then this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale M, General Manager at Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings from Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel,

I would like to thank you very much for posting such wonderful feedback following your stay at our special property.

It is very satisfying to receive such positive thoughts, allowing me the great pleasure to share this with my dedicated team. The staff are extremely proud to represent Panama's Leading Boutique Hotel and really appreciate such valued recognition of their efforts.

I am truly delighted and honored to hear that you rank Villa Camilla among the best of the fine properties you have visited around the world. Our goal is to not only meet the expectations of our valued guests, but to continue aiming at exceeding them even further.

Thank you for choosing Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel and once again I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post this great review. I do look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to our haven of tranquility in the near future.

With warm regards!

Dale Moffitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Dining at Villa Camilla is in a dining oasis. We were surrounded by royal palm trees, a quiet garden, a view to the ocean, and a pool that soothes the soul. We were greeted by the managers Dale and Paulina, and they made our orders personal and special. Dinner was a quiet event, and with the garden lights illuminating the grounds, it truly is a special place to dine with your special person!! A most romantic place for dinner...If you are in this area of Panama, do not forget to make your reservations for dinner, you will not regret this choice. (I did not stay at Villa Camilla, dined there only)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale M, General Manager at Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Greetings from Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post these kind words following your recent dining experience at our property.

Receiving positive feedback is motivating and valuable to the staff, who diligently go about their duties each day with the aim of exceeding expectations of our valued guests. As such, it was a pleasure to share your comments with the members of our Food and Beverage team.

Thank you very much for your patronage and I do look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Camilla on your next visit the area.

With best wishes,

Dale Moffitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama (Formerly Villa Camilla Hotel & Resort)
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Suites by Villa Camilla are located 10 minutes away from the town of Pedasi, right on the Destiladeros Beach. The suites are situated right on the beach, offering amazing views of the sea and are set surrounded by beautiful garden landscaping. The Beach Suites are equipped with 32” TV, A/C, Mini Bar and WIFI. Please note that there is a kitchenette in each Beach Suite, however cooking is not permitted. The Beach Suites by Villa Camilla have a maximum occupancy of 2 guests. Also, there is a small Bar & Restaurant that serves all three meals. If you are looking for privacy, tranquility, and relaxation, then do not hesitate to visit us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Camilla Hotel Pedasi
Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel Panama/Pedasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Camilla Boutique Hotel to your Saves list