We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trip of a lifetime with more than we could have ever asked for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Romana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pedasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Romana
Save
You added Hotel Villa Romana to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino a Puerto Escondido | Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Pedasi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The trip of a lifetime with more than we could have ever asked for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I returned back to California yesterday from Panama, and I can't stop thinking about Hotel Villa Romana. One word: Perfection. We knew from the photos that it was a beautiful villa, but we had no idea it would be this good. We stayed at the Villa with a large group occupying many of Romana's rooms.

Each and every room was clean, beautifully designed, unique, and private-most with ocean views and hammocks. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the rooms smelled amazing, and every time we returned to the room, the gorgeous tile floors were shinny and clean (lovely to not walk in sand when you enter your room). Oh, and the bathrooms! Beautiful bathrooms, some with views and plenty of space. I suggest you stay in the upstairs Garden suite.

Every morning we strolled to the main building where breakfast was cooking and fruit, coffee and fresh bread awaited us In the dinning area overlooking the ocean and crashing waves. The kitchen staff (very friendly) took our orders and we enjoyed eggs and fresh tortillas... Drinks were made on request and I had a difficult time deciding between the variety of fresh fruit juices. Heaven! Did I mention the coffee?? Mmmmm

I felt like I was at home. Especially at the pool. But the highlight of Villa Romana, was actually the manager, Algis. He is the friendliest, funniest and hardest working man I've ever met while traveling. What an amazing person. From his stories, to his charm and helpfulness, Algis made sure our stay was comfortable, unique and memorable.

This Villa is located in a perfect, private and beautiful place. Large enough to meet every need, but intimate enough to enjoy privacy and quiet beauty. The price is more than reasonable, and I can not wait to go back.

Although I hope this gem stays somewhat a secret, I feel inclined to share out unforgettable experience and to support this beautiful destination.

Thank you for everything!
Sincerely,
Stephanie Armstrong in Santa Cruz, California USA

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    60
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
94
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provence
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting Pedasi having read so much hype about this area on what is now referred to as the Gold Coast of the Azuero Peninsular. Like much of Panama it will be great once the road, a 4-lane highway, is finished but at the moment it is one contra-flow after another.We were somewhat underwhelmed by Pedasi itself which is often referred to as the quaintest village in Panama.

All this was forgotten once we arrived at Villla Pedasi, which stands high up on a bluff with spectacular 180 degree sea views. Even when it is hot there is always a refreshing sea breeze and the situation of the restaurant and bar takes maximum advantage of this.

Unfortunately, the pool was out of service - they were trying hard to sort the problem out but the water kept going a browny-green. We have yet to swim in a pool in Panama - in all the hotels they seem to have problems keeping the water clear and sparkling.

We ate the first night in the restaurant and were recommended a very nice Chilean chardonnay called "120" which we have been buying subsequently in the wine stores.

We stayed 2 nights and spent one day touring the area - there are lots of uncompleted housing developments here but the boom seems to have stopped in its tracks for the time-being.

When we came to check out we were told that there would be no charge for the meal we had taken in compensation for the problems with the pool and were also told we could have a free night any time we care to come back. Considering we had not made any complaint at all this was totally unexpected and proof of the incredible hospitality you will find at this hotel.

Room Tip: Whilst the rooms nearest the sea have the best views and a nice breeze, the noise from the crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rented a Villa there first weekend of April, 2013, and we decided to stay one more night; glad they were able to arrange that for us. Went there with my best friend and this was such a wonderful experience. Nice place to relax, and disconnect for a while . We truly enjoy the sound of waves, the beautifl landscape and amazing beaches. Service was excellent, Lilian (the person in charge of the kitchen) even cooked for us, meal that were not on the menu, staff was more than willing to make us happy, very friendly people (Algil, Jaime, etc). I heard about the road conditions, before getting there; but even if we were prepare, bit hard to drive if you dont have a 4x4 :(, will be great if they can get it fixed, but it was worth it.. Owner-Manager Hans was very friendly and willing to mingle with guests. Thanks for the Wine :). Panama is beautiful, and we panamanias should be proud of it. If you are looking for a place to disconnect, relax, and enjoy the beach at the same time, i truly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean views room, to the right of the main house (restaurant /deck)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From 6 to 8 April 2013, I rented three villas (all of them direct ocean-front) to accommodate my family, especially our grandson. (We had attempted to book Villa Camilla, but understood that toddlers are not welcome). Having reviewed TripAdvisor beforehand, I knew I had to brace myself for the horrible road and leaves in the pool (none were found). The road from Panama to Las Tablas is a highway, in excellent condition, and so is the road that leads to Pedasí and beyond. However, about a mile from the hotel, you make a turn on an unpaved road. With an SUV, and a minimum sense of adventure, this is perfectly manageable and well worth the effort. If that road is good enough for the Prince of Liechtenstein who lives further down, it's good enough for me. Anyway, this lovely boutique hotel is well worth the small sacrifice. The service was very friendly and the food was good. Most notably the pasta, but it's a small wonder since Hans, the owner, is Italian. I had the good fortune to meet him and ask him about his name, which is not typically Italian (I invite you to ask him too, if you have the chance!). If you need more variety, Pedasí is about 20 minutes away. If you enjoy espresso, the bar is equipped with an Italian espresso machine, something I did not expect. The (surfing) waves were crashing right in front of our villas, all equipped with a porch and a hammock, and the view is as amazing as you would expect, framed by palm trees. To access the beach, you need to walk just a few hundred yards and there you have it: all to yourself. The rooms were very nice, fresh and clean. Satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. A small caveat: cell phone service is only available via Movistar, but if you carry a laptop or an iPad, you can obviously use Skype for example.

Room Tip: Get a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is awesome, the sound of the waves and the ocean views from the villages are incredible. There are walking distance beaches and beautiful landscapes around. The place is very original and fits well with the surroundings. The Staff is friendly and enough for a small place. This is not an ordinary resort, this a small private boutique hotel for people who love the ocean and has style. Looking foward to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozankoy, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We chose this hotel as we wanted to discover the Pedasi area. The views were breathtaking and the rooms were ok but with the road in the unmade state that it is we did not feel safe in venturing out at night. If we had a 4 x 4 maybe we would have chanced it. If the menu at the restaurant had been more varied it may have not been a problem.After nearly 5 hours travel from Farallon we decided to eat there on our first night. The second night after a day sightseeing the menu was exactly the same. So that meant we had our main meal out lunchtime and thanks to the lovely Bakery in Pedasi had nibbles in the evening.The pool was always full of leaves, which we usually cleared out.There was far too much chlorine in it and made swimming uncomfortable. Pool towels after the first 2 days had to be begged for. The fridge in the room never worked, which also restricted what we could bring back, even though we reported it twice and that ended up with a jiggle of the wires and working for 10 minutes.The only thing that helped was Jaime the night manager and Julie the new waitress. Both were excellent and a breath of fresh air. But 10 days was was too much. You can`t just rely on the view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I so wish I could give this place a good review. The setting is stunning and truly looks like a piece of paradise. First the good things, the views and setting, our room was spacious and had a hammock on the terrace, the beds are comfortable, the beaches are truly wonderful. However, the pool was always full of leaves which we cleared out ourselves every time we got in and it is over chlorinated. Pool towels were out and ready for the first few days but after that became non existent and had to almost be begged for. Dinner was the same every night and with such a limited menu was monotonous (fine if you're only there for 2 nights max), and on the last 2 nights there was no chef at all and we were the only guests in the whole hotel (should have known something was up as even the geckos moved out of our room by then). The fridge didn't work for the whole 10 days (and yes we did inform them). The road to the hotel is truly awful and we live in a country that does not have a good road system, it made it virtually impossible to go out at night as this had to be negotiated and we did not have a 4 x 4. Breakfast was erratic to say the least and on the penultimate morning (only us in the hotel), the staff ate most of the stuff, so one cereal, 1 piece of bread each, no jam or butter. On the last night in our room my partner went to the bar to get some drinks (nothing else to do), the young man on duty insisted on bringing them to our room and then apologised for all the problems we had had (even ended up with no hot water for shower the night before as gas ran out (he did change it as soon as told in the dark, but he was really the only member of staff who really seemed to care that we were paying (and paying a lot) for this hotel. He said he would talk to the owner and see if he could get the few meals we had eaten there taken off our bill in compensation, and said that when we left next morning the hotel was closing to finish the building works and sort out problems (too late for us). I would like to thank Jaime for his efforts over the 10 days, he is a credit to the place and also Julie who was a new young waitress for a week of our stay and had enthusiasm and infectious fun. These two young people made our stay bearable, without them we would have walked away. I really hope that when this place opens again it has sorted out all the problems and gets back on track, because this could actually be paradise if it does, I don't think I will be going back again anytime soon though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romana

Address: Camino a Puerto Escondido | Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romana is an oceanfront hotel in Puerto Escondido (Pedasi), Panama. It features 21 ocean view suites with air-conditioning, Satellite TV and minibar. The 180 degree ocean view from the main terrace is spectacular. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Romana Panama/Pedasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.