We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hills Mile Hi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Hills Mile Hi Motel
Save
You added Black Hills Mile Hi Motel to your Saves list
244 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Lubbock, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is not a 4 or a 5 star hotel but if you looking for a clean place to lay your head, you have found it. Family owned and these people are very friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong here!!!
Lots of interesting places to visit and Mile Hi Motel is very centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We normally avoid all lodging that isn't top of the line chains. We read the reviews and tried this place, especially since the chain motels raised their prices. We absolutely loved this place. The on-site owners are friendly and helpful. The bathroom is spotless and provides all amenities. Parking is almost at your door. The room is comfy and cozy. The bed comfortable and inviting. You can walk next door to the left to a laundry and to the right to a restaurant. Downtown is two blocks away and fun. We missed eating at the number 1 rated Sage Grill since they are only open at lunch. This is a convenient and affordable option to use as a base to see Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you are a "hotel snob" looking for luxury, this may not be for you. Definitely an older little motel, but super clean room, friendly staff, free wifi and right in the center of town. Bathroom appeared recently remodeled and was very nice. The beds were firm, which is what we appreciate. Don't let the outside appearance fool you, it may be older but is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texel, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This motel is a fantastic place to stay for visits to Crazy Horse, Mount Rushmore, Black Hills and Custer State park. Breakfast coupons available at reception for ajecent restaurant. Price quality breakfast great. Motel has great and clean rooms. Motel is along shopping street in Custer. Free wifi.

Marcel and Irene, Texel, NL

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

stayed at Mile High Motel 3 nights, great location in the center of town. Very clean, comfortable bed, fridge, coffee machine, lovely soaps and shampoo every day. Free WFi, laundromat right next door, very friendly staff. Close to everything you want to see in the Black Hills area.
Good value, quiet at night for sleeping, air conditioner or fan option. Great shower for hot , tired, sore back Harley riders......Lynns grocery store about 4 blocks to your right has everything you would ever need.
visiting from Vancouver Island Canada

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay. Beds were comfortable, staff very freindly and helpful. Rooms OK size to come back to after a long day at different attractions. Peaceful place to regain your energy. Dairy Queen right across the street!. Central location to many attractions in the area. Loved this place. Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I had a 4-night stay at this nice, clean motel. We chose Custer as our home-base while we toured other places nearby. The room was clean and cozy...had a refrigerator and a place to put our laptop. The shower was great, too. There were patio tables and chairs available outside to enjoy the summer nights (while we ate our DQ ice cream from across the street)! Nice and friendly owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hills Mile Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hills Mile Hi Motel

Address: 244 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel has 14 cozy, country-accented rooms. One and two bed units available, each equipped with queen and/or full sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerators, coffee makers, high speed internet access, color cable TV with remote control & HBO, and private bath with shower or tub/shower combination. All rooms are non-smoking, no pets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hills Mile Hi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.