We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been cleaner and breakfast was a joke...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   310 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730-1938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Could have been cleaner and breakfast was a joke...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First off, the staff were very nice here, but...

The room was kind of high in price, but we knew this whole area was expensive. I had done some price comparing and thought we were getting a fairly good price here. Had it been cleaner and breakfast included, it may have been worth that. However, that was not the case.

First impressions are important in the customer service industry. Walking up to our room on the second floor, I was surprised at the condition of the steps. The rugs were badly tore, which could definitely be a safety hazard and there was a like a huge step off at the top of the steps where it was easy to trip. My MIL stumbled over it a couple of times. Also, it was not clean looking at all. Very stained throughout, and the edges looked just filthy.

I was expecting the worst by the time we got to the room. Although the room is dated, worn, and also was not as clean as it should be (mostly dirty edges and a tub that could be a little cleaner), it was okay and not filthy like the steps. It was fine for two nights just as a place to crash. The two beds were fairly comfortable and the sheeting was clean. The pull-out sofa was not comfy at all, but I don't think too many of them are. It was for my 12-year-old son and he can sleep anywhere, so we were fine; however, if it was an adult, someone heavier, or just someone pickier, it probably would not have been too great. Our room cost just a bit more, so we had the microwave and mini-fridge, which was nice. The room was fairly spacious. I think if it were cleaned up to par and maybe freshened up just a bit, the room would probably be okay and what you would expect for the area.

The pool was nice. The kids enjoyed a swim on one night and we hopped into the hot tub. They both seemed clean and about the temperature you would expect. The pool was cool and refreshing. The hot tub was nicely warmed, but it was way too small. We had three of us in there and it felt crowded. There were plenty of worn but fresh towels available when we went.

The breakfast was supposed to be offered until 9, I think, but when we went down about 8 or a little after, there was never anything left and there was a terrible mess all throughout the lobby. Cereal was spilled for feet in front of the cereal dispenser and most everything else was gone, including milk. Messy tables. Spills everywhere. It just looked like one big, sticky, empty mess. We ate breakfast elsewhere both mornings, so what we thought we were saving on that cost was added back into our budget for our trip. (See our reviews for Baker's Bakery Cafe and Dakota Cowboy Inn Restaurant).

We would not stay here again or recommend this place to anyone staying in the area. There are lots of choices in the area, even in the lower end price range.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    68
    23
    8
See reviews for
77
77
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This room was too expensive for what we got. It's different if the room is larger, or clean, or the breakfast is something special. But this room was dirty. Toothpaste/spit drops from the previous guest were in a ring around the sink. Food and drink stains were on the nightstand. Mold was on the air conditioner. The lobby is shabby and needs updating. The hot breakfast food was cold - and when we got up and microwaved our own sausage patties in front of the two people who prepared the food, they sat and watched us without moving or saying anything. Overall not a great stay, and way too expensive for this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

When we arrived front desk told us one room was smoking other was non, and if we wanted 2 non smoking, then it would be another $40. This is a catch 22, when given it was end of season & hotel wasn't full, a money scam in our opinion. We told the less than helpful front dealer that we'd stay as we were and go out.

Upon return, different front desk person, young college guy who went out of his way to help us, and switched rooms with no charge. First person take note.

As regards rooms, they were fine and we had a good nights sleep. Hotel is easily found and well situated for Mount Rushmore, etc. Breakfast was fine, standard BW fare.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We like staying at the Best Westerns and the Buffalo Ridge is nice. We need a handicap accessible room and this one is very nice with microwave and refrig and TV. The room is away from the other rooms so it is very quiet. Only think we don't like is the FREE breakfast is from 6-9 am. We are not early morning people so we never get the FREE breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here one night as we explored the area. Hotel room was a suite with two comfortable queen beds and an adjorning room with a fridge, TV, and queen bed for our family of six. Room was clean, the bathtub however looked dirty. I made sure to give my 3 yr old twins a shower vs bath.

Breakfast was nice. Pool was decent size. Hot tub was VERY small - fits maybe four adults tops. Towels were empty, so we called the front desk and they immediately restocked them which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Arrived mid afternoon to be met by receptionsit, whose atitude was very poor. We booked 2 rooms through Priceline, and was told by Miss Happy (not), that we had 1 king smoking and 1 king non smoking. As a family who are non smokers, we asked if we could have two the same. She advised, only if we paid another $40+ taxes, even though the hotel is not full and could have made the switch easy.

I declined and went to put my luggage in the room. The smoking one stank. I asked her to spray it. You would have thought I'd asked her to decorate it! She said its a smoking room, it should smell that way! You can't make this up. I said we're going out and will be back at 8. On returning, the room and not been sprayed and Miss Happy (not) had moved on. Young college guy was great, helpful and qucikly switched the room, saying he couldn't understand why it hadn't been done sooner. First class customer service.

Next morning, I went into reception to get a few tourist detials, and young lady who does the night shift was very helpful, and a credit to the establishment.

As an aside, location is good, rooms and bedding for a 2*+ is fine, and free breakfast was adaquete.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room was fine. Beds average. Pool was nice, but too cold and the hot tub was too hot; I notified the staff and they said that they'd fix it. So maybe I'll have to come back to check it out. The staff were excellent and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn

Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.