We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED it here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roost Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roost Resort
Save
You added The Roost Resort to your Saves list
12462 U.S. Hwy 16 A, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Candia, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We LOVED it here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were so happy that the first place we looked at was closed. Roost Resort was the best place we stayed on our 2 week trip out west. The cabins are adorable, comfy and clean. You can sit out front and watch turkeys and deer while you cook a steak on the grill. The owners, Susan and Frank and their two sweet labs, Maggie and Molly made us feel right at home! The cabins are filled with eveything you need to cook. They also have camping sites for RV's or tents and a little Kamping Kabin. It's right outside of the park and not in the middle of town like some of the other cabin type lodging. I hope someday I get to stay here again! I would also recommend the Cattlemans Steak House in town if you want a great Buffalo Sirloin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What an awesome place! Perfect location - just outside of town and right off the highway, but incredibly quiet. We vacation in the Black Hills several times a year, and can't wait to stay here again. The cabins are just the right size, and had everything we needed. The prices are very reasonable and we love the central location to all of our favorite spots.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This resort is just off a busy road leading to Custer state park. It is in the center of every place we wanted to be. The cabin is small but comfortable for two people. The beds are soft and comfortable. It was very quiet and peaceful. There were a few other guest but you could not hear them. There is a refridgerator, 2 burner gas stove, microwave, & coffee pot. There are dishes to use and a sink. Full bathroom. Outside is a grill, wooden chairs and picnic tables. There is also a fire pit. Every morning and every night there is wildlife that visits the yard. The owners are very nice and attempt to answer your questions and give you information. The cost was only $69/night. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to stay in the Custer area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Roost. The cabins were clean and cozy. The beds were comfortable, with nice linens. The location inCuster is great as a base to make day trips into the Black Hills area. We enjoyed how the resort is set back off the road and the visits from a small deer herd in the common area. Frank and Susan are great hosts and the cabins are well priced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The is the perfect place to stay in the Black Hills. Custer is beautiful and so much to do. Frank and Susan have a great place. We have stayed in many of the cabins and just love this place. We have had many friends stay and they all love it. I highly recommend this place to anyone. Good price, location and great owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swift current
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a fantastic time, frank and Susan who run the place are awesome people they were more than happy to answer any questions we had about the area!
The cabin it self was great the perfect size for me my husband and our two children, it had everything we needed. The boys loved climbing on the rocks just behind the cabin and playing on the swings.
If we ever return to South Dakota for a holiday we would stay here again, it's the perfect location it was central to pretty much everything we did. We would highly recommend a stay here!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in cabin #5 for two nights while visiting the Black Hills. The cabin is reasonably spacious for two, and was very well equipped with fridge, microwave, stoves, and a shower (plenty of hot water and good water pressure). The location is pretty much ideal: it is only 5' away from 'downtown' Custer, 20' away from Mt Rushmore, ~10' away from Crazy Horse Memorial, and 20' or so from Needles Highway/Wildlife Loop/Wind Cave NP. In other words, you're in the middle of everything.
The owners are lovely, and do take very good care of their property. Everything was spotless - they're also very knowledgeable. The first night we were there, they told us about the blasts at the Crazy Horse memorial. We would have completely missed otherwise!
Every evening, we were welcome by a few deer, happily hanging out outside our cabin... other customers were very respectful, and the overall noise was very low.
Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roost Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Resort

Address: 12462 U.S. Hwy 16 A, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roost Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.