We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rocket Motel to your Saves list
Rocket Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   211 Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here this past august when a group of us rode our bikes out to sturgis. WHAT A GREAT PLACE! My husband had been out there previously for bike week and the guys ALL wanted to go back to this little place. I was a little skeptical as i am used to staying at chains, but it was amazing! It is owned and run by Don and Brenda (husband and wife) and they go WAY out of their way to welcome their guests and make them comfortable/happy. It is such a cute retro type place..there are even real metal KEYS to open the doors with! the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Being as we were there with a group of bikes, they provided us with towels/water hose to wash the bikes with, and when HAIL was eminent, They provided us with old bedspreads TO COVER OUR BABIES (bikes) with!! WOW! They even had a cookout one night for us! GREAT place, The best people in the business, there are some discounts at local places and we ate at a restaurant across the street nearly every day. I only regret that I did not know they had sweatshirts or i would have bought one! I can not say enough to communicate how wonderful these folks are! Hope to see you again don and Brenda!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    90
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
96
118
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We are avid road trippers... and we have stayed at hundred of motels and hotels... this motel by far is the best.... we left 3 hours later than anticipated to Mount Rushmore. We had reservations at a major hotel chain about 40 miles or so up the road, but by 2am i needed some much needed rest. I was hesitant about pulling in because of previous experiences. However, from the moment I woke up the owners to the check out the next morning It was an amazing experience. They greeted me like i was welcomed there and treated us like we were part of the family... in a good way.... I still feel bad about waking them up... but glad I did. They had soap and shampoo there as well as a microwave and mini fridge at no extra cost. The entire facility was very well kept. The room smelled clean and was in fact spotless! the beds and pillows were so plush and soft... and OMG the towels!!!!! the were fluffy and soft... YUP!!!! definitely staying here again... Heck the kids are already asking to go back to Mount Rushmore just so we can stay here again!!!

Room Tip: number 25 has private parking, very spacious and 3 beds!!!!! 2 queen and 1 twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice place. It's simple, reasonably priced, clean and the owners are very nice people. It's kind of a retro motor court style, nothing fancy. Very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. I also appreciate that they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You have to stay here. We ended up here on accident and I'm so glad we did. We ended up staying for 5 days. Very clean, beds are so comfortable, cute 50's style but very up to date. Great water pressure, microwave, mini frig. Close to Custer state park and crazy horse. Owners are so kind and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We so loved this motel, one of our favorites from our 19 day road trip! The owners are great, beds are comfortable, atmosphere is so fun, bathrooms are large and I don't think we found a better deal anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

They had extra pillows and an extra blanket in the room, which I appreciate. There was a fridge and microwave, which is unusual for such a low price. The Queen bed room was newly remodeled and very nice. The owners were great. They offer discounts at a couple local dining places. All in all, not bad for less than $60! I agree with bikegem that there was a weird smell to the room but it was not too bad and we got used to it.

Room Tip: The queen bed rooms are remodeled and more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Super clean, very affordable, very impressed with this place. For the traveler who is on a budget, this place is a great find without compromising the joys of more expensive places. Privately owned, with personal attention you won't see at one of the chain hotels. Location is right in the middle of Custer, making all the downtown restaurants and shops easily accessed by walking. I will stay at The Rocket every time I come back to Custer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. AAA. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocket Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.