We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Immaculate and Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocket Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocket Motel
211 Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Custer
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Immaculate and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose The Rocket based of the glowing reviews we read on Trip Advisor and the retro look of the motel. We were so excited to stay here! I was anxious to see if the rooms really were what we saw online and they are! SO clean and comfortable! The bathroom was immaculate--not even a speck of dirt in the corner behind the door. The towels even smelled fresh and were soft. Our entire family enjoyed our stay at the Rocket. We tell everyone about the Rocket....you just don't find well maintained, well cleaned motels anymore. Custer itself is a great town and whenever we are blessed to make it back, we will certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    76
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
84
101
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having never been to South Dakota, I had no idea where to stay. I did a little research and settled on Custer -- and then commenced to try to find an affordable hotel for my family for 2 nights. After researching on Trip Advisor, I decided we could not go wrong with the Rocket Motel. If I were to say anything negative...It would be that the room we were in was small, but it IS a motel and we adapted. The owners are incredibly nice and very focused to make your stay as nice as possible. The rooms are immaculately clean -- and I have to say that I LOVE the motel concept, with our car being steps away and not having to lug luggage up and down stairs :) We absolutely loved our time in Custer -- and it was mainly because of the intense focus on customer service that everyone in that community seems to have. Cannot wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The motel was spotlessly clean! The owner was very personable and works to guarantee your stay is perfect. Since I was traveling with 2 friends, the room with 3 beds was very comfortable. Freshly brewed coffee was waiting for us every morning, along with some good conversation. The owner is very knowledgeable of the area and can make great suggestions of sites to see, along with a little history of the area. Located in the heart of Custer, the motel is close to restaurant and shopping. I would definitely return to this motel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After traveling across the US from the East, we had spent over a week staying in several large chain motels. After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we decided to try something different in Custer. A small, locally owned motel with good reviews seemed like an interesting change. WOW!!! What a great choice! We were welcomed by the friendly and informative owners. They were forthcoming with local tips, and gave us practical advice about everything we needed locally. When we stepped into our room, we were delighted to see that they were adorable!!! The theme was 50's retro, from the checked tile to the lamps and bedding. It was like being a character on Happy Days! But more importantly, everything were immaculate. Honestly, I do not think an operating room could have been cleaner. During the previous week we had stayed at a Hyatt Regency, a Radisson, and a Crown Plaza........none of these touched this sweet little local treasure. If you travel to Custer and you miss it, you have made a mistake.

Room Tip: Make use of the owners. They know the area and are willing to help. We spent the next morning expl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely spotless. I grew up in the 50's and 60's. Rocket Motel took me back in the best way possible. Lovely experience. Our pet-friendly room was fresh and and cleaner than all others. We had a great time. and get this; little chairs in front of each room so you can watch the sunrise or visit with your neighbors.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our stay for 2 nights was very nice! We have 2 teenagers, so the 1 room with 3 beds in it was very comfortable. We arrived very late, and when I phoned, the owner was super helpful and kind, and just left the key for us!
This motel is a gem! We would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Rocket Motel is awesome. We loved everything about it from the retro bathrooms to the modern amenities (microwave, bar fridge). The beds are comfortable, which is important for a hotel. Also, it is clean, really clean.
There is no reason for you to look at any other hotel in town, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: They are very similar. They all face the center court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned motel. AAA. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Refrigerators, Microwaves, and Pillowtop beds. King and 2 bedroom family units available. One story, at-door parking. Restaurants & shops within walking distance. Mickelson Trail across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocket Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rocket Motel to your Saves list