We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rocket Motel to your Saves list
Rocket Motel
211 Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Custer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Neat place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Good place for a family. Our room had three comfy beds and was very clean. Location was great. You can walk anywhere in Custer. Staff was great. We stayed two nights and they checked on us to see if we needed any extra towels, ect. It's the novelty factor that sets this place apart but with no breakfast or pool I can't give it all 5's. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    89
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
97
115
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed one night in June on our way to Yellowstone. We paid $94 for a family room that had three beds in two seperate bedrooms, a mini frig, and two tv's including one flatscreen. This was ideal as our two teenagers are too big to share a bed and like thier own space. The rooms were clean and everything worked. We agreed that the beds were the most comfortable beds that we have every slept on while traveling. The motel does not have breakfast but we paid $30 for the four of us at a place directly across the street. There are cheaper places down the block. The room would be a little small for extended stays but for one or two days its perfect for families with teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Fantastic motel, great service. Enjoyed the king suite, newly renovated in very cool 50's style. I felt like I was staying in well appointed studio apartment rather than a motel. Microwave and fridge in room. Counter area with coffee pot and ice bucket. One level motel, assigned parking in front of each room. Discount coupon for breakfast provided for a great restaurant in town - definitely go for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We loved staying at the Rocket Motel! We got the family suite with the 2 double beds and 1 queen bed, worked perfectly for the 3 Adults and 2 kids traveling in our group! The rates are very reasonable and the rooms are SUPER clean as well as the linens.The beds are super comfortable!! The owners are very friendly and helpful! I highly recommend everyone stay at the Rocket Motel!! If we ever get back to the area I hope to stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a classic 60's style motel and delivers on all counts except one: It has free wifi which wasn't part of a 1960's experience!

Clean motel, drive up to your room and simple basic amenities in the room. Owners are great and fun to talk to should you hang in the 'lobby'.

This place beats the chain hotels if you want to try something that is local and screams of the past.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Don't let the "Motel" part scare you! This was a super clean, super affordable, super nice stay for my husband, our son, and our black lab and I. We stayed in one of the "family room" which was actually 2 rooms and 3 beds (1 queen & 2 double), very, very comfortable beds!!! Brenda & Don were very nice and we will for sure stay here again. Custer for us was the best choice of towns in the Black Hills to stay in because it is right in the middle of everything we love to do in SD, Crazy Horse, Iron Mt & Custer wildlife loop, Mt. Rushmore, Needles Hwy, Keystone.... Deadwood isn't far and of course Bear Country drive thru wildlife park~ LOL Only draw back was the size of the shower, but my "KING SIZE" husband even said that wouldn't stop him from staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Rocket motel for 3 nights. We booked our room on-line a month or so prior after reading other reviews, so glad we did. They were at capacity at least one night we stayed. Great central location to Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, Rushmore, plus many more sites we didn't tour. We traveled with a 2 & 4 year old and owners were great at recommending sites and eateries for our family. Only downside as mentioned in other reviews, there was only a shower in room 3, and our kids had never taken showers before (except at pool to rinse off). It was hard to get the 2 year old clean. I must say it was one the cleanest motels i have stayed at. Very reasonable price for 2 room accomodations allowing us a little quiet time afterthe kids went to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. AAA. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillowtop beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavillion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all thier meals while at the Rocket.Shops and downtown just a skip away. Mickelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enoroumous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocket Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.