We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape from Bike Week!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Crest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Crest Lodge
Save
You added Rock Crest Lodge to your Saves list
15 West Mt. Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farwell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great escape from Bike Week!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I came here to escape from Sturgis for a few nights during the rally and it was well worth it. The staff is very nice and accomodating. The cabin we stayed in was clean and very roomy. It is very peaceful and relaxing here. I would recommend this place to everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
So glad we could provide you with a break from the rumble, rumble; although, I would guess it was still a bit noisier than any other time of the season! Thanks for staying with us. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family of seven spent four nights in cabin 215. It was very clean and accomodations were quite comfortable. The pool was small but clean and served it's purpose. It is right on the highway but yet it is still quiet and lot's of wild life. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for visiting us! At the west end of Custer City, I agree that our location is our best asset, nearby everything, but still quiet. You actually saw wildlife? That is so cool! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just checked into our cabin. We thought it would be a cabin such as the one in the 'professional photos'. I was prepared for a single cabin nestled into the pines with a nice chair on the balcony where I could sit while drinking coffee and enjoy the trees. Instead we have a 'cabin' which is nothing more than a room in a row of rooms and it is directly facing the road which is very busy where I can sit on a small plastic chair and watch the traffic! Our room has no table and chairs, only a bed, one night stand, a bathroom and a loud air conditioner, ugh. What a disappointment. The professional photos are very misleading.

Room Tip: Would try somewhere else first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I apologize for your disappointment in the room you had. Were you in a lodge room? It doesn't sound like you were in a cabin. The lodge rooms are on street level and "in a row"; whereas, the cabins are up in the trees. I'd like to invite you back again some day. I would recommend one of the large cabins with the loft. They are my favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four stayed at a Rock Crest cabin for four nights. The cabin was very clean and is in a great location. Price was reasonable for the area. Pool was pretty modest but we didn't spend much time swimming. Cabins appear to be fairly new. A/C worked well. Staff was very helpful. We would stay there again. We had a great time in the Black Hills. There are so many great things to do!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the French Creek cabin. It was very nice. Two bedrooms with queens beds. Each bed room had a shower. Master bedroom had a bath tub. Living room had pull out couch. Also a loft for two small children. Nice kitchen. Everything was clean with plenty of towels. The only problem we had was the hot tub at the cabin. Placed a call to office and problem was fixed next day. We ran out of propane on second night for bbq. It was replaced by morning for us. All sites are within 20 min of cabin. Pool onsite was very clean. I have no complaints. I would recommend rock crest.

Thankyou,

Jason

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you staying with us! I would live year round in the French Creek cabin if they would let me! I love it! Sounds like we did our job resolving your issues quickly, thank you for letting us serve you. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in the lodge, our room was HUGE; two queen beds, a coach, table, full size chair, refrigerator and microwave! Great loation within Custer and easy walking distance to the Purple Pie Palace (recommend!)
The pool was nice, the hot tub is terribly small --but who cares when it is 90 degrees out?
Staff was kind, breakfast was nice, fully stocked and well --FREE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks for visiting with us! The best thing about walking to the Purple Pie Place is you feel less guilty eating such a huge piece of pie, with ice cream! So glad you had great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in Custer earlier in our trip but returned to see the Night Blast at Crazy Horse. The hotel we stayed in previously was a bit pricey ($172) so we tried the Rock Crest Lodge. The Staff was very friendly. The room included a fridge and microwave. There is also an outdoor pool which was clean. The room was clean as well. The breakfast was a bit limited with limited seating. The staff was very nice about letting me print boarding passes. The wi-fi did not work consistently, but the staff was willing to reset it for us. The cost was $40 less than we paid at the other hotel. I would recommend staying here. The one thing I did not like is that their advertisements say queen and king beds but our room had doubles. I read once that two people sleeping in a double bed gives each person the equivalent of a baby's mattress!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Wasn't that night blast incredible? So glad you came back for it. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, too. I agree that a double bed is a bit small for two people. You must have had someone else (kids) in the other one, because your room should have had two double beds. Next time get one of our rooms with the queens and you will be much more comfortable! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Crest Lodge

Address: 15 West Mt. Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Rock Crest Hotel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Crest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.